We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crampt...”
Review of Mavi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavi Guesthouse
Ranked #128 of 1,048 Istanbul B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crampt...”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The 24 bed dorm is an actual joke. They beds are largely pushed together, there is absolutely no room for your bags, no plugs and no hot water.
if you are a bit podgy you will struggle to fit down the side of the beds to get into yours.
communal area is so tiny only about 10 people are able to fit in it.
the good things is the location is awesome, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma_a277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    47
    16
    17
    16
See reviews for
3
36
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed in the Mavi for 4 nights with my daughter. We both felt immediately at home with the manager (Ali) and his staff. The first night there, it was my daughter's birthday and the staff arranged for her to have a birthday cake. The Mavi may be a little outdated and in need of some minor cosmetics, but it was clean, safe and comfortable and the staff were absolutely amazing. It was our overall experience at the Mavi that brought the ratings up to 4 stars. If you have no idea where to go or what to do in Turkey, then Ali is the man to go to. He and his staff (Karoilina, Yusuf, etc) planned our entire itinerary and arranged for bus tickets. We simply told him our timelines and budget and SNAP! It was all taken care of. We saw the best sights in Kappadokia and stayed at the most beautiful hotel and enjoyed the best tours ever! When we decided to change our itinerary halfway through, we simply called Ali and he made all the changes for us! He is what makes the Mavi so great. We didn't mind spending time in the one common area because that's where all the travellers gathered and got to know each other. We drank, we played games, we laughed, we shared trip tips. The staff would also eat with us and would offer us to share in their homemade meals. It didn't matter that the wifi only worked in the common room because it forced everyone to socialize! The Mavi is in a great location within walking distance to most major sites. It is well priced. They offer a low cost shuttle to and from the airport. It is very homey and the staff are the most gracious and helpful people you'll ever meet. I plan on returning to the Mavi again in the future. My daughter and I agreed that this was the best trip we had ever been on and part of the reason behind that was the MAVI! We met so many fabulous travellers from different parts of the world. There were couples, backpackers, families with young children. We were quite a diverse and interesting mix. Awesome people. If you want luxury and state of the art TVs in your room, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel at home away from home, then come to the Mavi.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms, on the second floor. All were adequate and comfortable. Clean sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpressCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Well, it might be the same thing for every guesthouse/hostel/hotel in the world that they intend to make money, but I've never stayed in a place where it was more obvious before.

By the time I went there, they had a promotion price on HostelBookers which was without breakfast, but every single time I saw people stepping in from the street, they didn't tell them that they had a promotion on the website, and charged them the normal room rate INCLUDING breakfast - and didn't even tell them about the two different options.

The only common area at the hostel is a 10m2 room with one table and the only place where the wifi works - so you can imagine how crowded and stuffy it gets during the evening. They sell 1 type of beer and some sodas, but don't allow you to bring anything from outside.
At midnight they decide to close this area which means everyone gets forced to go to bed or pay for the provided pub-crawl. IT'S THE FIRST PLACE I'VE EVER STAYED DURING MY 14 MONTHS OF BACKPACKING THAT DOESN'T HAVE A 24 HOUR COMMON AREA. The staff even sleeps next to the common area, so what is the problem people sit and relax during the night time? Are you afraid they will steal from the fridge?

To be fair, the roof top is nice when the weather is good, and it seems to be the only place where you're able to stay 24 hours - unfortunately without wifi coverage. The hostel has an amazing location which makes me pass an extra star than originally intended.
It is a good room rate which was the only reason I stayed for as long as I did, but they tend to insist on selling you accommodation including breakfast unless you tell them that you have seen the price cheaper on hostelbookers - so remember to check.

MAVI GUESTHOUSE: If you fix the wifi throughout the whole property and keep the common area open 24 hours, you might raise an extra star.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

the advantage of the guest house was the fact that it was reasonably cheap for its location.The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a nice place to meet fellow back packers. However, the room wasn't great and it had bright light coming through the window all night. The shower and the toilet weren't cleaned in the 3 days I stayed and one of them had a dripping tap which made the whole place flood. The bunk beds in the dorm had really squeaky mattress, which kept me and others in the room up all night. the breakfast was ok, not fantastic, but thats the standard in the bed and breakfast type places in Turkey.

Room Tip: ask the fellow travellers about tips for travelling in turkey. most have been around and can give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Mavi Guesthouse has the best location, right near Topkapi Palace, 5-10 min walking to the Hagia Sophia & Blue Mosque, and less than 10 min walking to the Sultanahmet tram stop, convenient for the 3 weeks we spent in Istanbul. Maybe it's because we're a quiet sort of couple (not into the night scene or too much socializing) but the owner seemed a bit distant while we were there, and didn't prove very helpful when we were having trouble with our bus booking except to tell us we should've booked through them instead (uh, well, it was too late...). The rest of the staff was wonderful, very friendly and welcoming. Carolina taught me how to play backgammon. When the lock on our private room broke, they responded quickly by having the lock replaced by the next day. When our heater wasn't working, they brought in a portable one within 10 min. But, as you can see, the guesthouse strikes me as an older house, prone to things breaking (the bathroom lock & toilet broke at different times). If you're short, taking a shower is kind of difficult since the hooks to hang clothes on were WAY out of my reach (and I don't fancy walking around wrapped only in a towel). The room we had was a bit small & the wifi was intermittent, but we don't need much & the common area had fast-enough wifi. The breakfast was the same each day but very good and you can have as much as you want so it's good to fill up for a long day of sight-seeing. It's a good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: If you want good wifi, choose the room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crsgrl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Mavi is the only place I will ever stay when visiting Istabul, located literally steps from the entrance of the palace in the Old City, there is nothing that compares to it for value for money !
Mavi is the most welcoming host and we made so many good friends during our short stay.. it really does feel like home in an incredible city !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Mavi Guesthouse made my trip to Istanbul. Everyone who worked there was incredibly sweet and accommodating, even when I had a mix up with my flight. The beds were clean, my stuff felt secure and lockers were available if necessary. Breakfast was simple but delicious each morning and was definitely filling. I can't thank Mavi Guesthouse enough for everything they did for me during my short stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWheeler748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#460 of 1,140 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#347 of 1,140 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Galata
Golden Galata
#112 of 1,048 in Istanbul
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Erenler
Hotel Erenler
#122 of 1,048 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old Mile Suites
Old Mile Suites
#40 of 1,048 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique House
Antique House
#74 of 1,048 in Istanbul
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavi Guesthouse

Property: Mavi Guesthouse
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,048 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mavi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavi Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing