We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHABBY SMALL AND NOISY ROOM”
Review of Sunlight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunlight Hotel
Ranked #799 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The breakfast was very basic consisting of plain yoghurt, olives, hard boiled eggs, cheese, bread and jam, tea (awful) and coffee. There was no restaurant and the bedroom was very noisy as not insulated and guests slammed doors at all hours. In addition there was damp around the window and ceiling. Although we had a double bed the sheets and blanket were for a single bed. The sheets were not changed although we stayed five nights and one of the blankets looked dirty. We were on the 5th floor and there was no stay on the window so it would be very easy for anyone to open the window and fall out. This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbattisbydutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

U do not pay headprice so do not complain bout the room it is clean and cleaned every day not uge but I had enough space around the bed nd breakfast was very good fresh boiled eggs every day nd enough off every thing. Staff exept for one person was very friendly and helpful :-) Oh and there s really no problem and it is not scary to walk there when the sun s gone down really

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lieke268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The location is perfectly near all attractions.Reception personnel speak moderate English. Other personnel, didn't see anyone expect 1 time during breakfast. First time in Turkey I didn't give any tips.

Big column in the middle of the room. Last morning I saw a cockroach, creepy.
Bathroom not clean, lamp above sink had dust from about over a year thick.
After a two minute shower drain will overflow. Second day no hot water. Only showered once.

Travel was with Corendon. They tell you what hotel you will be in during busstransfer. Now I know why.

I'm learning Turkish, liked Istanbul very much. Hospitality of the Turks is great, but this hotel should be stripped and build up again.

Kahvaltı (breakfast) was not good. Not much, bread (sliced at 7.00 if you're there after 9.00 its gets very tough. Oherwise cucumber, tomatoes, olives, white cheese. Cups (margarine, cheryjam, honey. Black tea. Mock orange juice (taste like diluted kidsdrink). Cold water tasted like the plastic can it was in.
In summary location is perfect. Like Sultanahmet neighbourhood, but the hotel was bad.

I itend to visit Istanbul again, but not with Corendon anymore.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Marjolein P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

If to talk about Sublight hotel, where I have stayed in August 2010, I can say that this hotel is right what's required if you plan to Stay in Istanbul for a business trip or as a toursit. It is situtedin Sultanahmet, the area with all the main symbols of the city - Topkapi palace, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and so on, but at the same time it is on a quite street, so the noise of nightlife won't interfere in your sleeping.

The room I lived in (Don't know about the other ones) is rather small, and had no balcony, Just bed, TV, writting table with chair and mirror. There has also been a shower with toilet, again small. Although you really do feel at ease in this size of room, and it is not a problem, if you spend most of time in the city.

And now about the food. The Hotel is BB, so there is the only breakfast you get. There is no great variety of food, but nevertheless, yu can find what you want and there is always a free table.

So, to sum it all up, if you are not planning to stay in the hotel all the day round, Sunlight is a pace for you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anton_Spitsyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I went to Sunlight hotel as a family trip. The whole staff was very friendly except for the receptionists. There are only two receptionists men, who don't talk well English and are very rude! They don't help you at all.
The hotel wasn't clean and not appropriate for children or a family trip, or any other trip. There are so many better hotels around this, Sunlight definitely was the worst I've seen in whole Istanbul especially because of the small rooms and bad hygiene. I'm never going back to this hotel and can not recommend it to anyone!
I travel every single year with my family, this is my worst experience so far.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SandraBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Hotel seemed nice at first, until we entered our hotel room. They hadn't vacuum cleaned underneath the beds for probably more than a year. The luggage carriers were very friendly but the people behind the desk were extremely rude and hardly spoke any English which is a requirement when working in the tourism industry. Contrary to the pictures the roof terrace only offers a view from above and has no caffe or restaurant. The air conditioning also did not work properly. The only good thing about the Hotel is it's location, although it's situated in a somewhat neglected neighborhood it's a 10 min walk from the shore and a 5 min walk to the main shopping street of that district. Overall the Sunlight Hotel is not worth the money and I'm sure there are plenty of other Hotels that offer much better service for the same price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Hotel is well located for Istanbul's main tourist attractions; with the exception of the Metro from the airport we walked everywhere. Local streets up to Grand Bazaar and other attractions are quite steep with uneven pave. A hiccup over our room choice the first night was rectified the following day and, we enjoyed a stay of 7 nights in clean and well serviced accomodation. The mattress is very firm and takes getting used to. The breakfast was substantial with a choice from yoghurt, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, boiled egg, frankfurter, bread, jam and honey plus coffee or tea. The choice never varied. The staff were professional and all very friendly - much more so than most hotels in our experience - and ever willing to help and correct our attempt to speak Turkish

Room Tip: Views from the hotel will vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Multiculti45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#436 of 1,159 in Istanbul
423 reviews
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#776 of 1,159 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Grand Istanbul Airport Hotel
#648 of 1,159 in Istanbul
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Istanbul Central Hotel
Istanbul Central Hotel
#393 of 1,159 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#518 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#591 of 1,159 in Istanbul
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Hotel

Address: Piyerloti Cad. No: 28 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £19 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunlight Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing