We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good”
Review of Sunlight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunlight Hotel
Ranked #800 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Location to main sights excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean and comfortable, reception area staffed by very professional management & staff. Walking distance to almost everything you could want to see in istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abdo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet ı, Manager at Sunlight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found my staff amazing. I do have a great team who are all very passionate about delivering only the very best service at all times to ensure all guests feel special and at home, so I am very pleased to hear they made your stay incredible memorable and enjoyable. Rest assured, I will pass your wonderful comments on to my entire team who will all be thrilled to hear your kind words.



Once again, thank you for leaving such wonderful review about your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sunlight Hotel in the hopefully near future.

Best wishes
Mehmet IRMAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good location most of the attractions are on walking distance, but smaller rooms without WiFi signals, you have to go to lobby for internet browsing, breakfast buffet is ok to fill your stomach and go out, Orange juice was very sour seems musty...better not to drink...Shower drain was blocked and shower curtain was just a curtain...all the water spills out of it. Air conditioning was very good, room gets quick cool and we mostly had to stop it in midnight.

However, for short stay it's ok!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muhammad Abrar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Location was perfect,frendly staffs,a few minutes to Grand Bazaar,Santa sophia,Blue Mosgue, tram stop etc.by walking.The room was new especialy bathroom,When ı asked they said hotel has been renovated. Breakfast was a bit poor If they change it will be great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet ı, Manager at Sunlight Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found my staff amazing. I do have a great team who are all very passionate about delivering only the very best service at all times to ensure all guests feel special and at home, so I am very pleased to hear they made your stay incredible memorable and enjoyable. Rest assured, I will pass your wonderful comments on to my entire team who will all be thrilled to hear your kind words.



Once again, thank you for leaving such wonderful review about your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sunlight Hotel in the hopefully near future.

Best wishes
Mehmet IRMAK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Most rooms are not yet refurbished and still are rather old fashioned and somber. Room 505 on the contrary (the one I had) is completely renovated. Only the finishing touches are missing. The view on Marmara sea is incredibly nice. Hotel staff could more more pleasant and helpful but since their level of English is low it makes it difficult to communicate properly. Breakfast is nothing special so do not expect English or Scandinavian breakfasts! Wifi is available but unfortunately only in the lobby.
Location is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mjnvakantiecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It was almost 10 years ago, so maybe today it's completely different, but back in 2003 this hotel was a dump. Rooms were not so clean and walls were black, like they burnt or something. There was no balcony and the only window was directly on the street level, so anyone could enter my room if they wanted to. Also, we have heard that the area had a bad reputation for criminal, theft, kidnapping etc. On the plus side, the hotel was very cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanja_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The breakfast was very basic consisting of plain yoghurt, olives, hard boiled eggs, cheese, bread and jam, tea (awful) and coffee. There was no restaurant and the bedroom was very noisy as not insulated and guests slammed doors at all hours. In addition there was damp around the window and ceiling. Although we had a double bed the sheets and blanket were for a single bed. The sheets were not changed although we stayed five nights and one of the blankets looked dirty. We were on the 5th floor and there was no stay on the window so it would be very easy for anyone to open the window and fall out. This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbattisbydutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

U do not pay headprice so do not complain bout the room it is clean and cleaned every day not uge but I had enough space around the bed nd breakfast was very good fresh boiled eggs every day nd enough off every thing. Staff exept for one person was very friendly and helpful :-) Oh and there s really no problem and it is not scary to walk there when the sun s gone down really

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lieke268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#438 of 1,160 in Istanbul
424 reviews
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#776 of 1,160 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Grand Istanbul Airport Hotel
#646 of 1,160 in Istanbul
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Istanbul Central Hotel
Istanbul Central Hotel
#399 of 1,160 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#519 of 1,160 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#573 of 1,160 in Istanbul
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Hotel

Address: Piyerloti Cad. No: 28 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #800 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunlight Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunlight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing