We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff,could do with a bit of improvement”
Review of Sunlight Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunlight Hotel
Ranked #763 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff,could do with a bit of improvement”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is an ideally located hotel,situated in a relatively quiet street, just far enough away from the tourist hoards round the Blue Mosque and Santa Sophia area but within easy walking distance. The rooms are small but adequate and the bathroom modern, but the rooms at the back have no view...whereas the front rooms have a great view over the Bosporus. There are cheap and good value restaurants within a stones throw ( the Why Not directly across the street does a great fish casserole...don't be put off by its run down appearance). The staff are helpful and friendly. However, as others have pointed out the breakfast is very plain, boring and not particularly appetising, ditto the fruit juice (awful) and the coffee (weak). Really needs to improve on this aspect.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a great view, those to the rear do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaj0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    42
    15
    15
See reviews for
15
30
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benghazi, Libya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Location to main sights excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms very clean and comfortable, reception area staffed by very professional management & staff. Walking distance to almost everything you could want to see in istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abdo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet ı, Manager at Sunlight Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found my staff amazing. I do have a great team who are all very passionate about delivering only the very best service at all times to ensure all guests feel special and at home, so I am very pleased to hear they made your stay incredible memorable and enjoyable. Rest assured, I will pass your wonderful comments on to my entire team who will all be thrilled to hear your kind words.



Once again, thank you for leaving such wonderful review about your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sunlight Hotel in the hopefully near future.

Best wishes
Mehmet IRMAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oostende Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good location most of the attractions are on walking distance, but smaller rooms without WiFi signals, you have to go to lobby for internet browsing, breakfast buffet is ok to fill your stomach and go out, Orange juice was very sour seems musty...better not to drink...Shower drain was blocked and shower curtain was just a curtain...all the water spills out of it. Air conditioning was very good, room gets quick cool and we mostly had to stop it in midnight.

However, for short stay it's ok!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Muhammad Abrar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Location was perfect,frendly staffs,a few minutes to Grand Bazaar,Santa sophia,Blue Mosgue, tram stop etc.by walking.The room was new especialy bathroom,When ı asked they said hotel has been renovated. Breakfast was a bit poor If they change it will be great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehmet ı, Manager at Sunlight Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found my staff amazing. I do have a great team who are all very passionate about delivering only the very best service at all times to ensure all guests feel special and at home, so I am very pleased to hear they made your stay incredible memorable and enjoyable. Rest assured, I will pass your wonderful comments on to my entire team who will all be thrilled to hear your kind words.



Once again, thank you for leaving such wonderful review about your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Sunlight Hotel in the hopefully near future.

Best wishes
Mehmet IRMAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Most rooms are not yet refurbished and still are rather old fashioned and somber. Room 505 on the contrary (the one I had) is completely renovated. Only the finishing touches are missing. The view on Marmara sea is incredibly nice. Hotel staff could more more pleasant and helpful but since their level of English is low it makes it difficult to communicate properly. Breakfast is nothing special so do not expect English or Scandinavian breakfasts! Wifi is available but unfortunately only in the lobby.
Location is very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjnvakantiecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

It was almost 10 years ago, so maybe today it's completely different, but back in 2003 this hotel was a dump. Rooms were not so clean and walls were black, like they burnt or something. There was no balcony and the only window was directly on the street level, so anyone could enter my room if they wanted to. Also, we have heard that the area had a bad reputation for criminal, theft, kidnapping etc. On the plus side, the hotel was very cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanja_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The breakfast was very basic consisting of plain yoghurt, olives, hard boiled eggs, cheese, bread and jam, tea (awful) and coffee. There was no restaurant and the bedroom was very noisy as not insulated and guests slammed doors at all hours. In addition there was damp around the window and ceiling. Although we had a double bed the sheets and blanket were for a single bed. The sheets were not changed although we stayed five nights and one of the blankets looked dirty. We were on the 5th floor and there was no stay on the window so it would be very easy for anyone to open the window and fall out. This is supposed to be a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbattisbydutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#335 of 1,149 in Istanbul
227 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#192 of 1,149 in Istanbul
326 reviews
Beyoglu
BEST WESTERN Eresin Taxim
BEST WESTERN Eresin Taxim
#504 of 1,149 in Istanbul
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tango Arjaan by Rotana
#182 of 1,149 in Istanbul
119 reviews
Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
Eresin Crown Hotel Sultanahmet
#231 of 1,149 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Kadıköy
Hotel Suadiye
Hotel Suadiye
#405 of 1,149 in Istanbul
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunlight Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunlight Hotel

Property: Sunlight Hotel
Address: Piyerloti Cad. No: 28 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #763 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunlight Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sunlight Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing