We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the boutique hotel in Istanbul I was looking for!”
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #157 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My husband and I were extremely satisfied with the 5 nights we spent at the Sari Konak hotel in Istanbul (Sultanahmet area). And I'm pretty sure the hotel is consistently awesome--we stayed here twice (3 nights at the beginning of our trip, 2 nights at the end, with a friend's wedding in between).

Location and pictures of the hotel's rooftop terrace on the website sold us on the place--and both turned out to be better than we imagined! The terrace had stunning views of the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and the Asian side across the Marmara Sea.

Another treat was the wonderful bartender on the terrace, Hasan. We spent a couple lovely evenings chatting with him, learning about life in Istanbul and drinking Turkish wine. That really made our trip!

The staff (that accommodated our many requests for help making restaurant reservations, etc), comfortable room, decor and hit-the-spot breakfast spread (again on the terrace) were all icing on the cake!

The only tip I'd give (other than to stay here!) is that airport transport might be cheaper if you book it on your own. We used Backpackers service, which was 50 TL, and the transport the hotel arranges is normally 60 TL (but when we told them, they gave us the lower price for their service.)

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard and deluxe double rooms (during 2 stopovers, days apart), and both were gr...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sari Konak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

This was our first trip to Turkey and we loved our stay at the Sari Konak. We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our 4 week holiday in Turkey and Greece. The staff were nice and there if you needed advice or help in any way. We arrived early in the morning from a long haul flight. We had organised a transfer with the hotel and someone was there waiting for us. When we arrived at the hotel we were offered a free breakast while we were waiting for our room to be ready which was really appreciated after our long flight. One of the reasons I chose this hotel was because of the view of the Blue Mosque from their roof terrace and it didn't disappoint. Its absolutely amazing up there. The breakfast is a typical Turkish breakfast and gives you a good start to the day. Our room was spacious and larger than we had booked. Our adult daughter joined us so they gave us a room with 2 seperate bedrooms, kitchen/dining area and lovely bathroom with hamen bath. The room was partly below ground which didn't detract any light from the rooms. It was not overly quiet but I am sure there are other rooms which would offer a quiet sleep. We didn't mind as the space suited our needs this time. There is a computor for guest use which we found very handy. The location is fantastic, better than I imagined. It is extremely close to all the major sights and right next to lovely restaurants. We really enjoyed our first stay in Istanbul and the Sari Konak played a big part in this. We could not fault this hotel and highly recomend it.

Room Tip: I would ask in advance for a quiet room if you require one
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Oct 2010. The location was very convenient, Aya Sofya and other attractions were a 5-10 minute walk. The first night we were booked in a suite which was on the left hand side soon as you entered the lobby. I do not remember the number of that suite. There was a sitting area with TV; it was very crammed. There were two small bedrooms, one with two single beds and another with a double bed and there was one bathroom. But I have to add that it was spotless clean, bathrooms were very clean as well.
Later we shifted to another room that was courtyard facing, there was one queen bed and two single beds. I loved this room and was definitely better than the previous option even though it was a shared space. Felt like there was more room to move around. The interiors were bright and cheerful.
The breakfast was served on the terrace which had beautiful view of the Bosphorous and Aya Sofya. There were different breads, jams, fresh fruits, juices, cold cuts, cheeses etc. But they charged extra for omelettes.
They were very helpful when we requested for an early breakfast due to an early morning flight. A tray of sliced cucumbers and tomatoes, bread and cheeses were brought to our room the night before as we had a very early morning flight the next day.
Overall it was nice quiet place to stay in the heart of Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tellatraveltale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Me and my family stayed at Hotel Sari Konak for two nights on our first family European trip. Upon our arrival we were immediately whisked away to the culture the city has to offer. Located in the heart of historic Istanbul the hotel is perfect for people who had a tight itinerary. Travel time was virtually non existent... only a 5 minute walk to the famous Blue Mosque, the Archaeology Museum and the Hagia Sophia. The hotel is very small and it is rare to see another guest until breakfast but due to the fact that Istanbul is home to 3029 mosques and the hotel has thin walls it is nearly impossible to not wake up to the Muslim call to prayer broadcasted by the nearest mosque ( In our case the enormous Blue Mosque, and ALL of the speakers it has on its structure!!!). The hotel has no organized activities which is fine for couples and business travellers, but when travelling with children who have been pampered with Club Med their whole lives it can be a challenge to keep them entertained with no place to go in the hotel. The rooms are average, small but well kept. The only concern with the washroom was that there was only a bath and no shower. Only an adjustable nozzle which ended up leaving water all over the washroom courtesy of our teenage daughter. The best part of the hotel was the rooftop that opened up to all of Istanbul, giving a breathtaking view of new, old and Asian Istanbul. The roof supervisor is friendly and can provide drinks for a small extra charge ( my daughter was happy, it seemed to be the only place that served the tea she likes) plus it was close to the ocean and after a hot day of sight seeing it was nice to lie back and have a glass of wine with the cool ocean breeze. The hotel seemed to be a grounds place for English speaking travellers and the staff seemed to speak English well considering nobody in my family spoke a word of Turkish. That being said during our stay we say only the two same employees ( front desk and rooftop). Where was the rest?

We would recommend this place to our friends with families, but if your looking for a posh hotel with amenities we advise the Four Seasons located only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COOPER152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

After a long trip we found our room to be very restful. The staff was attentive, helpful and very friendly. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful to look at and delicous as were the breathtaking views. I will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kekaha8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here for the first eight nights of a two week trip to Turkey. This is a very good location for the tourist sights of Sultanahmet. We had a superior room on the second floor and it was very confortable. This is a small hotel and there was no noise to disturb our rest. We too loved the roof terrace. Breakfast each morning on the terrace was wonderful and we finished each night with a romantic drink on the terrace looking at the lighted Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia and the ship traffic on the Bosphorus. The front desk staff was very helpful with local information.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivertrader46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Sari Konak is a pleasant, comfortable well-designed hotel close to the Blue Mosque and the Arast Bazaar. Staff are helpful and kind. Roof terrace, where breakfast is served, is particularly pleasant and has a spectacular view in all directions. Standard rooms are a little small, but there are larger rooms and suites. A good place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#64 of 1,159 in Istanbul
735 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,159 in Istanbul
608 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#8 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Empress Zoe
Hotel Empress Zoe
#33 of 1,159 in Istanbul
777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#132 of 1,159 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#82 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad No 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing