We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place from which to tackle Istanbul”
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #168 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Arrived after dark and immediately visited terrace where we treated to great views of Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. We were there in early April so no treat of breakfast up there but we took our tea and baklavas there in later afternoon and watching the shipping (pretty impressive volumes) on the Bosphorus. We breakfasted downstair in a courtyard room - a reasonable continental- style breakfast. Downside of proximity to mosques are the calls to prayers but then there is double-glazing and you soon learn to sleep thru it! Rooms spotless and comfortable. Fridge had some snacks and bottled water which is useful if you arrive empty-handed as there is a clear sign in bathroom that tap water is not suitable for drinking. Good place to stay, lovely staff, well-positioned for seeing all the sights. Would stay there again although would reconfirm several times about the taxi picking you up at airport as ours didn't show. They apologised profusely and booked us a 1/2 price taxi for the way back so I forgive them.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room which just about the right size. We had a pseudo balcony so you see up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clickawick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great location for sightseeing. The rooms were very cozy and decent size for the area. We preferred our stay here over one of the modern high rise hotels in Beygolu we also stayed at. Suit at the front desk and the staff were so helpful with all our questions and we had a lot. They helped us arrange for some of our daily activities. They even translated and helped us get in touch with a contact in the Grand Bazaar to arrange meeting up. Without their help, this wouldn't have been possible. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and the hotel is very comfortable and conveniently located in the old town. All of the major sights are within walking distance or a short tram ride away.
The room we stayed in is ideal for families - two separate bedrooms connected by a private hallway with a large well fitted bathroom.
The staff are all friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is included in the price. There is no restaurant but there is a wide choice of good reasonably priced restaurants within a short walking distance.
There is a large roof terrace with views of the Blue Mosque and Bosphorous.
We really enjoyed our time here and would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Comfortable small hotel with pleasant staff and very comfortable bedroom. Breakfast very acceptable and all in all a great place to stay in spitting distance of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The wif if is free and pretty good and works everywhere even on the lovely roof terrace

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ebase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This small hotel is located perfectly to catch all the local sights!!. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast is especially nice. We were here in the spring so we couldn't enjoy the outdoor options as much but they certainly look like great places to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieOs-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was my second time staying at Sari Konak. The hotel is closely situated to the major city sites of Sultanahmet, within easy walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace. There are many restaurants in close proximity and staff are very helpful with suggestions (including the organisation of guided tours and airport transfers).

The family run business is friendly, professional and reasonable priced. My email enquiries have always been answered promptly. The rooms are fantastic, spacious and clean (especially the front rooms with bay windows overlooking the street and the hustle-bustle of life in Istanbul). The breakfast has a large selection of hot and cold foods. Traveling by myself, I have always felt well looked after at Sari Konak. I can't wait to visit and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed there for 8 days the end of February. The hotel located just a few yards from Blue Mosque (good sound proof that we can't hear pray song well) and a few yards to Hagia Sopia, Topkai Palace, Hipodrome, Basilica Cistern. Also walk to Grand Bazar, Spice Bazar to Eminuno (less than 20 min-normal pace). The room has seating area, king size bed, mini bar, electric kettle (great for cup of tea later), nice size bathroom, and little balcony over looking Sulthanahmet charming street. The room was immaculately clean and breakfast was just right. We missed our flight connection (Munich) so we called and sent an email let them know about our new flight arriving time and the hotel driver was waiting for us @ the airport (one way airport-complementary). The hotel staffs are extremely nice and knowledgable. Also there are so many restaurants, charming shops around the hotel. The hotel provides 20 Euro to airport so that's good (don't have to deal with taxi). Definitely we will back to the charming boutique hotel.

Room Tip: 301 has a small balcony, watching the charming street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsnsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#154 of 1,178 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#64 of 1,178 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#161 of 1,178 in Istanbul
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#293 of 1,178 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,022 reviews
Sultanahmet
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
#109 of 1,178 in Istanbul
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad No 26 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing