We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sari Konak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sari Konak
Ranked #110 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Great location in Sultanhamed, the heart of Istanbul - 5 min from the tram way - tastefully furnished rooms, gorgeous breakfast, staff very kind, free wifi and comfortable bathroom - in the same street nice restaurants for dinner and the Blue Mosque bazar - I do recommend it for a romantic holiday, especially the wonderful terrace

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    226
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
165
388
35
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed five nights at the Sari Konak and could not have been more pleased. The location is great for access to the main monuments and such conveniences as the Big Bus. There are also many restaurants nearby that offer very good and reasonably priced food. The hotel itself was wonderful--smallish rooms, but very clean, an excellent and courteous staff that went out of their way to be helpful, and a fabulous rooftop terrace with a breathtaking view of the Blue Mosque where a great breakfast was served. This is a great hotel choice for a first time visit to Istanbul. Arrange for the airport transfers and you are all set to go.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, which was very nice and made the rooftop terrace easily accessible. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely little hotel. The location was excellent - a walk up the hill to The Hagie Sophia, the Palace, and the Blue Mosque. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and quite helpful. They recommended a couple of outstanding restaurants in the area. Yes, you will hear call-to-prayer from your room, but ear plugs will help. We enjoyed breakfast on the roof. It is the main reason we would recommend this hotel--the view from the roof restaurant is fantastic. Sit out there on a nice night with a glass of wine and you will see the lights of the Blue Mosque and lights from the other side of the Bosphorus Strait. Can't go wrong choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. Some of their rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOisM84840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

excellent location - a few minutes walk to Aya Sophia, Topkapi and the Blue Mosque. Very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable rooms.

Be sure to close your windows at night - the call to pray from the Blue Mosque at 5AM will wake anyone; the double glazing is very effective

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A lovely boutique hotel close to the Blue Mosque and numerous restaurants.
Our deluxe room had a comfortable bed. Room was at the front of the hotel and was a wee bit noisy at night. But this is Istanbul and it is not a quiet city.
The hotel staff were very good and friendly. We had a small problem with the safe in our room which was quickly resolved.
Mustapha, at the front desk, was very helpful. He even found out where the nearest pharmacy was open on a Sunday, when my wife was sick.
The breakfast selection was good (loved the hard boiled eggs and the cheese) and the breakfast area was nice.
Used tripadvisor to to review the best restaurants in the area. Ate at five restaurants and very happy with the results.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuelphJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed here upon the recommendation of a native of Istanbul who has frequented the Sari Konak since 1999. Refined art and crafts subtly displayed throughout the hotel. Hospitality in an environment of understated elegance. Lovely and of course comfortable bedrooms. Inviting terrace (inside and out). Breakfast sumptuous. Staff accommodating; reception staff frank in their recommendations, unfailingly first-rate, and as helpful as one could wish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulhumale Maldives
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was in a great location however nothing great at all. Firstly the room we booked was to have a balcony and fridge but not available when we checked in so they put us in the smallest pigeon hole room ever! There was barely room to walk around the bed without bumping into the wall. We complained to the office in the morning and they did move us across the hall to a larger room. Now this room was was better but the towels in the room were rags with holes in them, the shampoo , conditioner and lotion provided were left over from a previous guest as they were half full. The loofa sponge was also a used one! Now makes me wonder if the sheets were changed or just smoothed out! The only person at the front desk that was of help was the morning staff, the afternoon and evening were not very accommodating or pleasant. The food in the morning breakfast was so so. The scrambled eggs were ice cold and the wieners were dried out. They did not inform us when the service was ending and when we went for some fruit everything was put away, a polite word of this would have been appreciated. In summary, this is a very overpriced poor hotel and wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here,

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarlingK767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byzas, Owner at Hotel Sari Konak, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

It’s very disappointing for me to receive a comment like this. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service and our guests are always happy with the hotel stuff and the friendly service we offer.
I investigated the concerns you have raised and found out that you reserved a standard room but did not ask a room with balcony. After you asked to change your room, we upgraded you to a superior room free of charge. It is true that our standard rooms are not very spacious,and only some of them have small balconies.We sincerely apologize if you did not know this in advance.
Even though there are pictures of the standard rooms on our website, per your comments, I will put more pictures and videos of different room types as soon as I can.

After I read your review , I made a meeting with housekeepers and checked all the towels of the hotel one by one . I would like to inform you that we buy new towels every 2 years and currently they are very good in shape.
It is our policy to change all the toiletries after the guest leaves no matter how little they are used.
Cleanliness is one of our top priorities.

I was once again sorry to hear that on this occasion we didn’t meet your expectations. I do hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you would like to contact me directly then please call +90-212-638 62 58 and ask for Umit Okan or email at sarikonak@superonline.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#45 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#135 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,120 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#79 of 1,120 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sari Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sari Konak

Property: Hotel Sari Konak
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:26 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 1,120 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sari Konak 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sari Konak, set in the historic district of Sultanahmet, is a small family owned hotel, taking pride in offering its guests a charming "home away from home" in Istanbul, with many guests returning on a regular basis. The traveller who feels lost in a big hotel can experience the comfort and pleasure of home in such a small scale hotel where guests can establish friendships outside the boundaries of the classic customer relationship. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sari Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing