We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sultan's Inn
Ranked #21 of 1,010 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I always stay here when I visit Istanbul. Beautiful roof top water view breakfast area. Sensational. Walking distance to Blue Mosque and Sophia church. Quaint. Clean. Extremely helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Here are lots of stairs so not great for those who struggle to walk. Great walk/jog along the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Responsable relations clients at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear customer,

First, we would like to thank you for your loyalty. We are happy that you liked our hotel and the services.
We will be very glad to host you again for your next stay in Istanbul.

Sincerely,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    229
    46
    24
    11
See reviews for
85
193
58
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Good quality for the price. Small tidy and clean rooms, good enough breakfast and additional tea and cake service at 4pm. Good internet connection, nice staff, good location and amazing view from rooftop terrasse. Highly recommended for small budgets.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BalkanBeats O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Responsable relations clients at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment. We are happy to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel.
We are looking forward to see soon in Sultan's Inn.

Best regards,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is more "Pension" than hotel, but nice and very clean. But...dont take a standard room, pay less more and get a nice room with view to the cosy street. Big turkish breakfast - everybody will find something. I will come back!

Room Tip: Dont take the standard room - pay less more for a room to the quiet street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GabrielaVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear customers,

We are very happy to hear from you. Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We are looking forward to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Sultan's Inn is perched in a prime location in the historic district. The staff is friendly, helpful, and more than willing to provide local guidance or set up tours. For a fee, the staff will pick you up at the airport and bring you to the Inn, saving you the hassle of negotiating transportation and traffic near the airport. This convenience cannot be overemphasized if it is your first trip to Istanbul.

Perhaps the most pleasing aspect of the Sultan's Inn is the surprising view. The Inn has a rooftop dining area and lounge that boasts a spectacular view of the Blue Mosque. It is a great spot to wind down.

Finally, if you're traveling on shoestring, Sultan's Inn is a great choice. The complimentary Turkish breakfast/brunch allows you to save some money on a meal, or possibly two if you carry a croissant with you and eat light. For the cost, Sultan's Inn gives you everything you need to explore Istanbul and not break the bank.

Pros:

(1) Location and View
(2) Complimentary breakfast/brunch
(3) Friendly staff
(4) Cost

Cons:

(1) Smaller rooms (but clean!)
(2) Can be a bit loud at night

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear customers,

We want to thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy that you liked our hotel, and we hope your stay was memorable.
We would be very glad to host you for your next stay in İstanbul.

Best regards,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Only three streets away from the most surprising view of the SultanAhmet or Blue Mosque as you turn the corner, this hotel ia at the corner of a street and offers excellent value. My room with a tiny balcony gave a nice view of the Mamara Sea and from the breakfast room terrace there was another excellent view over rooftops of the Blue Mosque. Breakfast was basic and always the same - sliced tomatoes, cucumbers, sliced feta and cheddar, olives, bread rolls, jams and sausage with scalloped potatoes.
The reception staff - Murad, Hassan and Kerem who spoke good German - were most helpful, attentive and concerned about giving good information and addressing any needs. The new Guest Relations Manager, Justine, a pretty young French woman with green eyes who recently graduated from Hotel Management college - took a survey of guests and
was cocerned of their needs. The only hitch was a problem with bad internet signal for four days. The family owned company also owns two other hotels within two streets.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your kind reviews with us. We are always trying to improve our service quality and your reviews and opinions are guiding to us in order to reach our goal.
As far as the breakfast is concerned, we are planning to add some changes soon. Also, we are very sorry about the internet problems, this was due to work construction on the road, now our internet network is working very well as before.

We are looking forward you to accommodate you for your next stay in İstanbul.

Justine Duchanoy, guest relation department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

(1) The place was fantastic, located right near the core historical district. (2) The room was very clean and quiet. I stayed on a room at the top (5th) floor and could enjoy the wonderful sea view and the magnificence of the back of Sultan Ahmet Mosque. (3) The price was reasonable and worth it. (4) Two sorry things were elevator and breakfast. There was no elevator. But it was rather good for health to walk some stairs. Free continental style breakfast was good and healthy. Though It might have been better if the menus were changed slightly everyday.... Overall, I was much satisfied this hotel.

Room Tip: There is only one room on the top floor, which is the most recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jssance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinions with us and with our guests. Your reviews are very helpful for improving our quaility and service.
As far as the elevator is concerned, unfortunately we can not install one because of the limited space and the structure of the hotel.
We would be happy to host you for your next stay in İstanbul.

Justine Duchanoy, guest relation department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Didn't pay much money at all for a clean private room in a beautiful and safe neighborhood close to all the attractions I wanted to see. The staff was helpful and spoke excellent English.

My stay was brief, but this was the perfect home base.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DashSpeakwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sultans_Inn, Responsable relations clients at Sultan's Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for your nice compliments.
We hope we will host you the next time in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Justine Duchanoy, Guest Relation Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,010 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Sultanahmet
Marmara Guesthouse
Marmara Guesthouse
#4 of 1,010 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#16 of 1,010 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#7 of 1,010 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
Hotel Buhara Family Inn
#32 of 1,010 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Ottoman's Pearl Hotel
#161 of 1,010 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan's Inn

Property: Sultan's Inn
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No 40, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 1,010 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sultan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan's Inn is situated in the heart of the Old Walled City and it is only walking distance to the most important Byzantine and Ottoman monuments of Istanbul, such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome,Basilica Cistern and not more than 15 minutes to Grand Bazaar. Moreover, there are many bars & restaurants serving traditional foods, shops of authentic goods and places of entertainment in the hotel district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sultan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan`s Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing