We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Ranked #375 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very good hotel. Great lobby area, views. Excellent restaurants close at hand. Quiet even with a wedding party on premises. Helpful staff. Breakfast a bit ordinary. The room was excellent for comfort and cleanliness. We were a family vacationing with a four-year old. Pleasant walking right from the hotel. Left becomes pleasant after a little hike. But both are easy.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    42
    12
    12
    2
See reviews for
35
81
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

If you look at the lovely pic of the front of the hotel you can't fail to be impressed by the entrance, wide marble courtyard and sweeping steps up to the front door. The promise of excellent service and sumptuous rooms filled with antique furniture. This was going to be a wonderful start to our 25th anniversary trip.
WRONG! When we arrived the entire front courtyard was taken over by a wedding ceremony, there was no room service and we were asked to advise the front desk if we wanted to leave as the front entrance was out of bounds and we would have to be escorted out via the service door.
The room itself was quite large, but the bathroom was desperately in need of a refit with mouldy sealant around the bath, the whirl pool sockets were broken and didn't work and the toothbrush holder had been broken and badly glued. The sink hadn't been cleaned and still had toothpaste spits in it. The soap tray was caked in the previous persons soap.
The "antiques" were cheap reproductions, and the room was too dark as it only had 2 small lamps and no ceiling light. There were hardly any sockets, and only 2 clothes hangers in the closet. I called down for more and was told I'd have to wait until some guests checked out the following morning and they could be taken from other rooms.
There were 3 rooms overlooking the Bosphorus on our level and ours was on the right hand side, I noticed that it was possible to look directly into the room next door (the middle room) from our room, I realised this because I caught the person in that room staring into mine - he was a friendly chap as he even waved at me! Goodness knows how long he'd been there before I spotted him.
The first night we had to suffer constant noise from wedding guests running up and down the hall, but thought "oh well, we've still got another night"
Hmmmmm, guess what, there was a wedding the second night too! Unbelievable. Again we were unable to exit via the front and had to literally pick our way through the guests in the middle of the wedding ceremony. It was grossly unfair on everyone, us, the bride and groom and of course their guests who regarded us with open hostility. Again no room service. There was no drink making facility, or mini bar.
Breakfast was served on the lower level, it was a small room with low, oppressive ceilings. We were served by a waiter who didn't speak either English, French or German. So in the end we just used gestures. There was no choice, just a small plate with some bland cheese, a few slices of meat with curly edges and some olives. The second morning we asked for breakfast in our room but were told they were too busy clearing up after the wedding.
We were supposed to stay and third night but found that, yes you guessed it, there was due to be another private party that night! Enough was enough, we were paying 390eu/ night for a very stress filled stay so we voted with our feet and moved to the Four Seasons - absolutely luxury in comparison and for slightly less per night.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had our wedding party in this hotel. Our guests % 50 were from Europe and % 50 were from Turkey. We booked their all rooms also for the party night. All our guest loved to stay there and they said it was very special experience to sleep with such a beatiful view...I wanted to make our party in this hotel because they have a fantastic private garden, and it was like we had a party in our house at the Bosphorus...The hotel has very ottaman style, and the rooms are decorated beatiful...You can excatly feel like you are in the palace... Their staff very friendly and helpful...Especially I like to thank you Ms. Basak, she was so good to control everthing before and during our party...I can only give one suggestion for their future guest; they should check whether the hotel has any event or party during their stay or not! Of course we danced untill midnight, and booked the hotel only for our guest... but if there will be a party , you can not escape from the noise, because it is a botique hotel... so if you have a very silent romantic night, better to check it before...I would like to thank you to all of them that they made a unforgettable night for me...

Room Tip: If you decided to stay in this hotel, you should choose definetly bosphorus view room from second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erdogan293974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Güzelbahçe, Izmir, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Everything is just fine except the breakfast service. You go down there to the restaurant in the basement, but no open buffet and no one around to serve you. You need to look around to find someone to serve you. Nevertheless this didn't stop me from enjoying my every stay there so far.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozgur_Bakkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Balayi gecemizi gecirdigimiz, olaganustu otel. Ustelik mukemmelligine gore cok uygun fiyata sahip. Bogaz'in isiklarini izlerken ve dalga seslerini dinlerken uyumak bile gelmiyor insanin icinden, sabah odaya gelen kahvalti da oldukca mukellef, temiz bogaz havasi da cabasi.

Best place to stay in Istanbul to experience Bosphorus, with the lights and sound of the waves during the night and fresh air in the morning. It has a very nice staff, amazing breakfast, and very reasonable price if you consider that you are staying in a mansion NEXT to the Bosphorus. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We arrived to the tunes of Bill Haleys "rock around the clock" hardly an auspicious start, to find a wedding party in full swing, we had to gingerly pick our way through their reception with our suitcases like a thief in the night, nearly bumping into the wedding cake in the process (well we did have 3 suitcases) and were greeted by a less than sympathetic audience despite the fact that the wedding party took up the whole space leading up to reception. They had closed the restaurant early as they had this party to cater for thos large group so not even room service was available. No worries we found an eatery close by. Upon returning to our room to unpack there were only 4 hangers in the closet, when we asked for more the receptionist couldn't understand why we could possibly have reason to quibble. Maybe it was because they hardly spoke any English, yes i know, English speakers abroad and all that but i had called them in advance of booking as i speak no turkish and was assured it wouldnt be a problem. We were booked into room 26, supposedly a "deluxe room" overlooking the Bosphorus which indeed it did, however it was directly overlooked by rooms on both sides. If you sat at the table overlooking the bosphorus you could clearly see the people in the room adjacent and obviously vice versa. This might tickle some people's fancy but not not a "must see" for me.
I had expected something special, but was very disappointed, an average hotel, average room, average service. Won't recommend or return

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okeydokey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Everything about this hotel was spectacular! The unique rooms furnished in antiques, the reading room overlooking the water with the windows open to the breeze, the wonderful people who were so helpful with sight-seeing plans - it is now on my "must stay" list when in Istanbul!

Room Tip: No such thing as a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#494 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#222 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Uskudar
The Bosphorus House
The Bosphorus House
#692 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#466 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosphorus Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosphorus Palace Hotel

Property: Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Address: YalIboyu Caddesi No 64, Istanbul 34676, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#206 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#252 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosphorus Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 rooms that can be host VIP guests foreign and local. We can host up to 250 people in our banqueting facilities, up to 60 people for meeting events. Also, our have main a la carte restaurant serves international cuisine. We are an historic place about 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bosphorus Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosphorus Palace Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing