We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historical building with spectaculator views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Ranked #357 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical building with spectaculator views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

The building is a traditional luxury construction but the decor cheap imitations. The breakfast was of poor quality, and the service disaffected. You have to find the waiter to get a second cup of watery coffee. The slighty remote location is great for relaxation but would have been aided by a better atmosphere in the lounge area as the social spaces are not inviting. The quality of the bathroom, furniture and breakfast was disappointing and did no credit to the beautiful architecture and location. For the price that we paid, I expected something much better. Poor value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for Bosphorus views. The mosque next door is undergoing reconstruction and our room faced the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank William_Jeremy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    42
    12
    12
    2
See reviews for
35
81
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Located directly on the Boshprus, the hotel offers wonderful views of both bridges and the European Side of Istanbul. You are able to walk to many of the restaurants along the water. The staff is very helpful and gracious. We enjoyed our breakfast buffet offering traditional Turkish foods. The tables are placed over partial glass tiles where the water appears to lap under ones chair! The decor overall is elegant!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Pros:
- Nice building
- Luckily, we got the room shown in the photographs and it was pleasant enough
- The lady receptionist during the day was helpful and spoke decent English
- Good selection of toileteries in the bathroom, but the cream wasn't great

Cons:
- The "Managing Director (on his business card) / Nightime receptionist" tried hard, but given his very limited English, wasn't really helpful
- The place was overheated non stop
- The Breakfast was too basic and not very fresh
- Don't order their scrambled eggs! We don't know what they were, but definitely not scrambled!
- The Breakfast area wasn't very pleasant, otherwise nice view
- The toilet flushing is an art to be mastered!
- The shower was like a fire hydrant and the paint was peeling off the bathtub
- They should mention on their website how far the place is from the Old city and any other tourist attractions. It is miles away from the major sites and it's at least a 30 minute taxi ride to get to where you want to go. This said, we found that taking a short taxi to Urskubah, then a ferry and then a tram was about the same amount of time but far more fun (and cheaper).
- The place was like a morgue. It had no feeling and so one wouldn't meet at the Bar and chat with other guests
- If you are faint of heart and are given to reacting badly to being awoken at 0500 by the local Imam shouting for all people within a 30 mile radius to come to prayer, then you might want to think again about your choice of hotel
- we gave up trying to watch any TV as having to scan through hundreds of channels just to find the one English channel available, was too time consuming. We asked for a list of channels but the Managing Director shook his head in bewilderment, which we took to mean that they didn't have one.
- after breakfast on our first day, looking forward to our lengthy trek into town, we asked the Managing Director for a map. After much hand conversation, shuffling of papers, reviewing of numerous irrelevant brochures we gave up and decided to wing it ourselves.

If the price had been 50% of what we paid it would have been the correct value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Perlita82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I read all TripAdvisor reviews before booking. I was ready for the best and worst ... And I fell in love with this hotel from the entrance, reception, my room , which ticks all the boxes. My room was # 27, overlooking the courtyard. Breakfast is ok, but they will happily make you eggs without any extra charge. Their generosity and hospitality is unmatched, more than once , whenever we got guests , they served us all Complimentary Turkish coffee & tea in lobby ! Outside everything is few steps away. i highly recommend the restaurants in the neighbourhood, especially Tikke. Just outside the hotel , buy an Istanbul card & use the public transport. It was my first time ever to use Turkish public transport, although i spoke no Turkish, we managed very well. avoiding all traffic by going on boat to the western side. it costs a tiny fraction of 7 liras for all round trip including metro ( underground train ) buses, etc vs 50 in a taxi each direction .( A word of warning, never give taxi big money note. i gave one 100 liras, and he pretended he got only 20 , and took off. !! ) generally taxis with company names are ok. dont take ones with no name even if its yellow.
It takes 3 minutes to cross from east to west by the under ground. or beautiful scenic trip by boat 15 minutes.
We spent Seven days at Bosphorus Palace hotel , accompanied by my parents in next room, we felt very special as if we were the only guests in the hotel although it was full. Sadek , took care of all our needs, he even tried fixing my phone charger to get a bit of charge. Pelin even translated a Turkish food recipe for me. The noon call for prayer is hardly heard, we were amused about the reviewer who "flipped" when he heard it ...! The morning one is the only one that woke me up the first day, but went to sleep in a minute. I highly recommend this place, pay the extra bit and get sea view, it's worth it. And you will discover a new home in Turkey full of family and friends .

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank WithAida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Rooms are nicely decorated. Feels like the rooms of 100 years ago.

What they are lacking is a good service.
Breakfast quality is very poor. To my view not anywhere close to what is expected from such a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAksoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Bosphorus Palace Hotel... It was a very nice place to stay with scenery of beautiful bosphorus. I had arranged this hotel to ask my girlfriend if she will marry me, and result was positive. You can watch bosphorus till morning instead of sleeping. From service and cleanliness point of view, it is extremely satisfied for us. As a result of these conditions, i would like to recommend you to stay at this hotel. You will like it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank korhangirbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Sure, the location is marvelous, no doubt! But if you would like to sleep overnight think twice because a mosque is right the next building and you will be astonished how modern technologies have improved the level of sound at every sunset, sunrise and couple of other times during a day. My room was at the roof with a small balcon to the mosque. I dropped a soap when imam started to pray so loud and sudden it was. At the reception I was told that this level of sound is everywhere in the building.
Furthermore there was some movie shooting till 2 am, so I was really unlucky that night.
On the positive side - nice and tasty breakfast, good comfort in the rooms and quick trip to the city.

Room Tip: Come over for a dinner, stay overnight somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Konstantin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Ajia Hotel
#487 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#228 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Uskudar
The Bosphorus House
The Bosphorus House
#699 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#492 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosphorus Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosphorus Palace Hotel

Property: Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Address: YalIboyu Caddesi No 64, Istanbul 34676, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#206 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#240 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosphorus Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 14 rooms that can be host VIP guests foreign and local. We can host up to 250 people in our banqueting facilities, up to 60 people for meeting events. Also, our have main a la carte restaurant serves international cuisine. We are an historic place about 200 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bosphorus Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosphorus Palace Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing