We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on the Asian side of the Bosphorus”
Review of Harem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harem Hotel
Ranked #675 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Having stayed in Istanbul before we decided to try the Asian side. Hotel is very close to the car ferry to the European side - 5 minute walk but up a short steep hill. Would recommend a Corner Suite (402 or 502) for best views of the shipping in the Bosphorus - yes, there is noise from the port but this is to be expected - the double glazing did a good job in keeping it reasonable.

Reception staff were excellent - very friendly & helpful - English spoken. One small gripe - we hired a car and the write-ups say car parking can be arranged with the hotel. This turned out not to be the case - the only parking is on the public roads outside - but in fairness we were met by someone from reception who took the keys and moved the car around as necessary so it was not a problem, By the way, car hire not recommended - they drive like lunatics and getting around is easy by the numerous ferries.

Room was kept very clean with regular changes of bedding etc. Bed VERY comfortable with good quality mattress. Wi-Fi excellent in the room. Breakfast very good but always the same choices, hard boiled eggs, cheeses etc & the usual fruit selection the continentals like. Scrambled eggs would have been nice from time to time.

Pool area was kept clean & tidy and was very pleasant to sit there at the end of a day sightseeing.

Overall a very nice hotel in an excellent location. We will be back!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must, those to the sides either have balconies with restricted views or no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davemedgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Clean and quiet - stayed a week beginning of August, then went to Izmir, Dalyan and Kas for another week and back to hotel before departure. Fresh air from the balcony gave a sound peaceful sleep. Conveniently located to a close walk to the ferries and across to all the sites e.g.. Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern et al. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: stayed in 527 and 427 - Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for a week at the Harem hotel. Easy journey over to the other side of Istanbul but equally found decent restaurants on the Asian side of the Bosphorus too. Great market sometimes springs up further up the hill and some great views over the estuary. Hotel was clean enough and staff were professional.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Cp0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel on the Asian side of Istanbul is a lovely place to stay. We were on the sixth floor with wondrful views of the sea and all the comings and goings of the ferries. Although a little noisy when outside, once you closed your balcony door you could hear nothing, and we slept very soundly. The staff were very friendly and went out of the way to help us. Breakfast was buffet style continental with plenty of choice, and the bar food was reasonable. However the set dinner menu was not as good in our opinion.
The cleaning was done every day with fresh towels and toiletries, you even got slippers to go down to the pool in. You got a pool towel from reception but there was no notices to tell you that.
Overall we enjoyed our trip and if we returned to Istanbul would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: There are only 6 floors but ask for a high room if you want good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T3482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

At the end of May , along with firends, relatives and colleagues from other countries, I had the chance to stay in the Asian part of Istanbul. Needless to say, It is a fantastic place to visit. The only problem was the unfair treatment when three people from my big group had to pay. Since a tour operator had booked the rooms, we received the prices per room. All of us got a 10 euro discount per room each night in the hotel. The problem is that a eight year old boy, who was in a triple with his mother and father, should have paid 50% less. It is written black on white in the terms and conditons of the Hotel's website. When the couple pointed this out during the check-out, they were totally ignored. One of the receptionists was even a bit nasty, maybe because his English was quite poor. Furthermore, all of the e-mails sent to the hotel for an explanation have been totally ignored up to now. One thing is certain, be very careful if you book rooms in that hotel through a tour operartor. You expect to pay one price and then you are really surprised when you pay the bill at the reception. I travel frequently and I really love Istanbul. According to me, it is the second most beautiful place to visit ( after Rome, of course ) . I will never stay in that Hotel anymore, even though the rooms are clean and the location is good..

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the swimming pool are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellinaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Very clean comfortable hotel on the Asian side of Istanbul. We were on the 6th floor with a wonderful view of the sea port. A nice balcony and a glass of wine began our evening in Istanbul. The staff is friendly and helpful. the breakfast is good with a lot of variety. A very enjoyable stay and moderately priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamster759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

If you love rest and silence - this hotel not for you. In hotel it is very noisy. You will hear everything that your neighbors do and tell, their TV set, you will hear all the floor. Walls are very thin, doors in numbers is old and very thin, such my grandmother had 40 years ago.
Near hotel is very big bus station. There at the same time more than 100 buses can gather and you hear their horn, their drivers, their engines and talks of their drivers. Noise is added by a ferry, each 15-20 minutes on the ferry are loaded by 50-60 cars come around and all of them signal.
The breakfast in hotel very much poor, numbers small, a bed not convenient, all hotel causes feeling of fastidiousness.
From the positive moments - only view from a window and a big balcony, but it doesn't cost that, believe my experience

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VadymO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Uskudar
Mini Harem Hotel
Mini Harem Hotel
#762 of 1,163 in Istanbul
6 reviews
Uskudar
Ramada Istanbul Asia
Ramada Istanbul Asia
#517 of 1,163 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#795 of 1,163 in Istanbul
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uskudar
The Bosphorus House
The Bosphorus House
#704 of 1,163 in Istanbul
12 reviews
Kadıköy
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Uskudar
Volley Hotel
Volley Hotel
#562 of 1,163 in Istanbul
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harem Hotel

Address: Selimiye Iskele Cad.Selimiye Ambar Sk. No:2 | Selimiye, Istanbul 34668, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Uskudar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#214 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £48 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Harem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harem Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing