We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy We Found It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Ranked #186 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy We Found It”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

After having a bad experience at a nearby hotel (room confirmed was unavailable at 2:30 a.m. upon arrival), we set out to find another place to stay nearby. We loved the large Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi from the outside...it is on a corner just a block from the entrance to Topkapi. There were two rooms available, one in the basement with no view and one an apartment next door to the hotel. While some of the furnishings were a little the worse for wear, we were amazed at how large the apartment was, how airy and comfortable. We only needed one bedroom, so the other one was locked. We had a large living room with a sink/fridge, and a small balcony overlooking the road (lots of tour buses), Topkapi's wall, and the sea. The fact that we were next to such a busy street didn't matter---our bedroom was in the back and had an air conditioner, so we did not hear any noise. Breakfast was lovely--on the top floor of the hotel, with a charming man taking care of our food. Lovely view of the Bosphorus.....
The man at the desk was chatty and friendly, although he pushed the tours a bit too much. But once we let him know that we were not interested, he remained helpful and friendly. All in all, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsdarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    96
    22
    10
    12
See reviews for
92
133
34
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Thomas, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is was my 5th trip to Istanbul, and my first time staying at this hotel. The hotel is located between the Hagia Sofia and Topkapi Place. Everything is within a short walking distance. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The breakfast on the rooftop restaurant was a very good Turkish breakfast and Ramazan "Rambo", goes out of his way to help you understand what some of the "unfamiliar items are on the buffet table. The view from the rooftop was stunning, a great way to start out every morning! The front desk staff was very helpful.
My only complaint would be the airport transfer that we requested from the front desk. We paid too much, and the driver was insane. It was a hot day, and there was no a/c. He got into a fight with a tour bus driver, was yelling at traffic, then pulled off the road and took us into a very run down area, with roads that were falling apart, under a bridge that scraped the top of the vehicle, then just when we thought it couldn't get worse, he stopped to buy his lunch! Had we been in a better neighborhood, we would have jumped out. He did not speak english, so we were unable to communicate with him. It would have been unfortunate if this had been out first time to Istanbul and we were left with this as our parting impression. As it was we did make it to the airport, so we are able to look back and laugh at how bizarre the experience was, but there were moments when we were truly frightened. I think you would be safer booking a taxi from the street!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, the hotel is on a noisy street, and the windows do not block out much noise. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travelauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

A very nice hotel with an amazingly good breakfast on the top floor, overlooking the Bosphorous and Hagi Sofia. Also, if you want to tour the old Istanbul sites, its location couldn't be better.

Our room, overlooking Hagia Sofia, was noisy as hostel residents next door set up an impromptu bar in the street below. Unless you want to join them, I would ask for a room on the Bosphorous (south) side.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

just back from a city trip to Istambul, the hotel is very good in walking distance from Tokapi, Blue moskee and Aya Sofia mosk..also 30 meter is the restaurants street . In the hotel you have on the 4the floor a restaurant pub were you can sit outside under a roof and nice vieuws.
For eating dont go to the Metropolis , we got there a mixed fish, not fresh and overpriced, better is going over the Galata brigde the Asian side of Turkey where we went to the Paradise restaurant on the pier and got there for half the price a big plate of grilled different fish and grilled meat (50 lire each) For the Bosphorus triwith the boat go for the big ones at the pier, 25 lire per person , leaving at 10.35 and back around 17 in the afternoon, there is a stop of 2,30 hour at a harbor where you can go eating.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crocodilepatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed in Valide Sultan Hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip and 2 nights at the end of the trip. The hotel is perfectly located in Sultanahmet. The staff was very friendly. I arrived around 7 am before my friend and there were not any rooms available. They said it will not be ready until 11 am or so.

While I was waiting in the lobby, the receptionist brought me tea. Then he said that the breakfast is ready and I should go have breakfast! That was really kind of him considering breakfast was not included in the room price for that morning. I went to have breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised. The view was amazing! I sat at the terrace overlooking Sultanahmet while the sun is rising. It was beautiful. The breakfast was really good and we enjoyed it everyday.

First room we stayed in was the room with the canopy bed. It was good, clean and a bit small though. At the end of our stay, we had a room in the basement and it was nice as well. The washroom was newer and bigger than the one we previously stayed in.

Overall, it is a nice hotel with a great location. It is in the center of all the attractions yet it is very quiet at night. Staff is helpful and friendly but gives a bit more attention to women travelers which could be annoying sometimes. You will be offered a lot of tea every time you come in!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventuresRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I spent 10 days with my parents in Istambul and we had a very good time in Valide Sultan Hotel. Rooms are small, but very clean and comfortable. Location is absolutely perfect, one minute from Topkapi Palace and Hagia Sophia, 5 min from tram, restaurants, shops and cafes. The restaurant on the rooftop is simple, but the view is amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful, but a bit too interested in chatting with young female guests. The breakfast was okay, but everyday there was less things offered than the day before.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Very good hotel. Staff is excellent. Breakfast was amazing. Same menu every day but superb nonetheless. Murad was the host. Very helpful guy who genuinely cares about his guests. Very homely feel. They provided us free apple tea every evening when we got home. Asked us how the day went and what we saw. Location is great but a little away from the rest of the hotels - but the location was closer to the major attractions than the other hotels. Room 107 was small but we got moved.

Room Tip: 309 is an amazing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patentatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#200 of 1,140 in Istanbul
595 reviews
Sultanahmet
Megara Palace Hotel
Megara Palace Hotel
#237 of 1,140 in Istanbul
433 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#42 of 1,140 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#132 of 1,140 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#214 of 1,140 in Istanbul
598 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#127 of 1,140 in Istanbul
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi

Property: Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Ishak Pasa Cad. Kutlugun Sok. No: 1, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#128 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#144 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#194 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi is proud to serve those guests who prize the unique ambience and charm of a bygone age - as well as comfort, care and convenience – rather than the impersonal, homogenized facilities promoted by the global tourism industry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valide Sultan Konagi Istanbul
Valide Sultan Konagi Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing