We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Kybele Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kybele Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights with my friend-hotel was as described-small boutique, quirky antique style decor. The overall atmosphere was very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely-especially loved all the antique Turkish lights hanging from all ceilings. Breakfast was very good with large variety of cold and hot foods. We also ate twice in the evening here and food was excellent and extremely well priced. The location of the Kybele could not have been better for all major sights. The best thing about this hotel is the staff-everyone was very friendly and could not have been more helpful-we felt very well looked after-especially by Hasan-looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa110565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Upon arrival in Istanbul, we discovered the apartment we'd rented had chosen to omit a few important details that meant we needed another place to stay on the spur of the moment. We rang the Kybele, which not only found two rooms for us, but gave us a better-than-listed price and then sent a taxi to pick us up. The hotel's location turned out to be perfect, just three minutes from the Cistern and Hagia Sophia, a short walk to the Galatan Bridge and an even shorter walk to the Grand Bazaar. Everyone was more than willing to give us directions, offer advice and make sure we were taken care of. The rooms, while smallish, were excellent value for the money and the thousands of antique Turkish lights hanging from the ceiling throughout the hotel created an atmosphere that was at once exotic and quirky.

The restaurant is good for those nights when you're too tired to go out.

And make sure the check out the shop next door that is owned by the three brothers who created the hotel!

Highly recommended by a grateful guest.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street in summer may be a bit noisy. Rooms on the back are quite and dark for sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Truthtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The location, the rooms, the public areas, the food and the excellent service from friendly staff made this a great base for our short stay in Istanbul. Highly recommended. I won't go into detail as it was specific to one of us but there was a lovely surprise one evening which we have never experienced anywhere else on our travels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We loved the quirky decor of the Kybele and have already recommended it to lots of people. The staff made us feel very welcome and really put themselves out, making phone calls for us, ordering cabs etc. A real gem in such a convenient, touristy area. We plan to get back. Our room, at the back, was very quiet - day & night.

Room Tip: The back is probably quieter than the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just got back from our trip to Istanbul and although we did not stay in the Kybele Hotel we ate at the restaurant every night we were there.It was just the most fabulous place.The food was delicious and the prices amazing.Service was excellent and the staff just wonderful.Going to try and book in at the hotel next trip but if we cant get in will make sure we are nearby so we can go back to the restaurant.Thank you so much to all the staff.Shannon and David Dubai UAE (Ireland)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank shannonfaeriefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Kybele Hotel was recommended to us by someone, and it turned out even better than we expected. The location in Sultanahmet is perfect, but more importantly the charm, warmth, and hospitality of the property and the staff made us feel like we were guests in a private home rather than in a hotel. The staff provided lots of useful information to our many questions. The breakfast offerings were munificent and delicious, so we weren't surprised that the attached restaurant, for dinner, was also excellent; again, we felt like we were guests in a private dining room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jepbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel back in April for 5 days, 4 nights. I was a solo traveler here and the first night placed in a double room and then moved to a single room the next day for the remainder of the trip. All of the staff was very friendly, spoke English, and always helped direct the cab drivers to the destinations I was trying to reach outside of old city. The owner of the hotel was gracious from the moment I arrived. He showed me around the entire hotel, where his friends and family were hanging out and even talked to me while helping me chose my first meal. He lived in the states for a while and was even sympathetic/understanding of my vegetarianism! This place was cozy and felt like home after long days of site seeing. An equivalent of one city block was the walk to Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque. The Grand Bazaar was also a short distance away. Food was authentic and great at the hotel and when I didn't want to leave the hotel. One of the best turkish baths ($$$) was close by. The owner also recommended this place. I think it was a little overpriced but got the whole experience in. Love Kybele!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Traveler4lifeMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kybele1997, Yönetici at Kybele Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you here again some point in the future.
Kybele Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#57 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,320 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#120 of 1,163 in Istanbul
344 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,163 in Istanbul
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#82 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aren Suites
Aren Suites
#42 of 1,163 in Istanbul
678 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kybele Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kybele Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Yerebatan Cad. No:23 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £36 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kybele Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kybele Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing