We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vardar Palace Hotel
Ranked #747 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Very Clean and such wonderfully generous and welcoming staff. Very close to Taksim square...Good connectivity to the city center. Stay was good and worth for money. Awesome breakfast.Good Internet connection. Definitely recommend for others. Already suggested for my friends. Will definitely stay here when i come again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vienna_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

I don't generally fill in Trip Advisor reviews but frankly such a lot of rubbish has been said about this hotel that I felt I had to. True it probably wasn't a 4 star hotel and there are many proper 4 star hotels in the area, but which are considerably more expensive.

That being said it had

a decent sized room with air conditioning
a decent sized bathroom with powerful shower (despite being on the 6th floor)
ample breakfast
a room safe
a mini bar at reasonable prices (£1 for a beer, 30p for small bottle of water)
comfortable beds
a desk and free WiFi
perfectly pleasant and polite reception staff who spoke English
the ability to get food and drinks 24 hours

My colleague found his street facing room a bit noisy but mine at the back was quiet. True it had no view but I didn't go to Istanbul for the view from the hotel room.

All in it was a perfectly fine hotel at a fair price in a very convenient area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisABirmingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We just stayed 3 nights at this older, but well kept hotel. It was located in the Taxsim area,so we had a ball walking around that area. It was also very close to the tram, cable car and metro, so we could get anywhere in Istanbul easily. We did not want to stay in the more " touristy" area of Sultanamet.. And we were so happy with our choice.
We found the employees very nice and helpful and the free breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandisue9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The location of the hotel is just perfect, so close to Taxim square.
Compared to other hotels of the area, rooms at Varda hotel are offered at reasonable prices.
My room was very spacious, clean and quite. Breakfast was ok with a good variety of food.
The negative point was the staff, that could not hide boredom resulting quite unfriendly.
Recommended for the location.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I really don't like the hotels which pretend to be better than they are. Usually hotel shows one star too much, but in the case of Vardar hotel it's rather two stars. I didn't take my time to read the reviews before booking the room in this hotel - I fought 4 stars should be enough. On arrival, when I've seen the bathroom, my first idea was to move to another hotel. Finally I had no time to organize this.

Positive points: convenient location, close to main Istiklal street, the room is fairly clean and sufficiently equipped (as for a three star hotel).

Negative points: the bathroom is extremely small, the "shower" is constructed of three walls in the corner with the door and to enter to it you need to jump over toilet pan (see photo). Apparently all the bathrooms are like this, according to hotel's staff. Room equipment is quite old, the picture in the TV is so snowy that you can hardly watch it. The street is very noisy during all the night. Breakfast: six small tables in a very small room without window, a small choice of products, drinks: instant coffee, orange "fluid", ...

If you're looking for a budget hotel in a good place then you may stay there, but be warned.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessTravelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

In a city full of polite, friendly people, Vardar somehow manages to employ the grumpiest people around. Stay here only if you don't want any tourist advice - like how to get somewhere. The staff refuses to answer even basic questions or help in any way.
However, if you already know your way around this awesome city, stay here. It's clean, the rooms are spacious and the location is extraordinary.
One more thing: Don't let them call you a cab to the airport. Get your own. Staff made sure a friend of theirs drove us. He took a roundabout way, costing twice what it should have, and then pretended that one of the bills we gave him was a 5 lira, instead of 50. Avoid the staff at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I would rate it between average and very good. If I went back to Istanbul I would not mind staying here again. I would describe it as an efficient hotel, nothing is too fancy or new, but most seems to work.

I had asked for a quiet room in advance and got one of the inward facing rooms which was indeed very quiet. Ofcourse it has no view but why stay in the room when there is so much to see outside?

Location is good for touring the Taksim square area. It's a short walk from the tram. To use this to get to the airport will take you approx 1 1/2 hrs, including 2 changes (easy).

As mentioned before service is not done with a big smile, but I did not have any negative experience with it. I liked the breakfast, there was quite some choice. Free wireless worked well. The rooftop terrace is a nice place to sit. Price/quality was good for me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebbie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#385 of 1,163 in Istanbul
290 reviews
Beyoglu
By Murat Crown
By Murat Crown
#535 of 1,163 in Istanbul
63 reviews
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#577 of 1,163 in Istanbul
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Pera Arya Hotel
Pera Arya Hotel
#977 of 1,163 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#631 of 1,163 in Istanbul
29 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#172 of 1,163 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vardar Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vardar Palace Hotel

Address: Siraselviler Cad. No:16 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #747 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £28 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vardar Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vardar Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vardar Palace Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing