We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, somewhat inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antik Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #515 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Small room, somewhat inconvenient location”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

They offered good, clean rooms and cozy, though I found the rooms small. There was little room to put the luggages in and we had big ones plus our hand carries. Also, one of the cabinets in our room smelled of the clothes of the people who previously stayed there. Bathroom was ok, space is okay and clean.

Dining hall up on its topmost floor is nice and quaint - there is a view of the Blue Mosque from there! Food is so-so, I particularly did not enjoy it and the quantities were too little.

Overall, I would go back to this hotel ONLY if on a budget but not if I have money to spare. I would rather stay in Kent hotel where the location is better. Going out from this hotel into the streets did not make me feel safe. Though there IS a good money changer down the road and this hotel is very near the Grand Bazaar (5 minutes walking distance). However, to get to this hotel you will be dropped off by your bus (if you are taking a bus) at the main street then you will have to walk along the cobblestone street where the hotel is located carrying all your stuff - hence the inconvenient location.

Room Tip: They have their own antique cistern at the basement. Quite nice to take pictures of and a good venue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    174
    124
    26
    24
See reviews for
99
166
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in a triple room in October 2013.

Pros:
- very clean! I think it must have been renovated not too long ago because the tiles in the bathroom and the wood floors in the room looked newish
- breakfast the first day was very good (second day it was OK) and the view from the restaurant is pretty amazing
- safe location, not too far from the Tram stop and the Grand Bazaar and a 15-20min walk to sultanahmet/ayasofia

Cons:
- more of a 3 star hotel as some other reviews have said but I am told that when in Turkey you should subtract 1 star from what's advertised
- reception staff overwhelmed and not too helpful - we asked for directions to the Bosphorus cruises but instead they tried to sell us a tour 35 Euro per person cruise of their affiliate agency (the rest of the cruises are 10-12 TL); asked for a taxi to the airport but instead they tried to give us a private car, which again was more expensive; didn't really give us many restaurant recommendations either
- rooms are pretty small, there wasn't enough space to put our luggage out, had to put it on the table
- even though this was advertised/charged as a triple room there were only 2 real beds and the 3rd one was a roll away bed which was very uncomfortable (yes i got to sleep on that one)
- the location is very close to the main street but a good 20 min walk to sultanahmed square (still a decent/safe location though)
- construction in the backyard - was quiet over the weekend but drilling on monday
- thin walls/doors and noisy
- the AC wasn't working - it was late in october so maybe they turn them off

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I guess hotel rooms are expensive in Istanbul, but we were disappointed with our room, which was located away from the main hotel floors. It was very small with a bed that must have been about 140 cm wide and a duvet which seemed either 139 or 141 cm wide. Fighting for the duvet was therefore guaranteed. The AC worked but it was noisy as was the street outside, so the window needed to be shut.
The hotel's location is however excellent for walking around the old town (grand Bizarre, Blue Mosque etc.). Additionally, the roof top restaurant where we had breakfast was stunning overlooking the Bosporus. The food was excellent and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main part of the hotel, which is served by the lift that goes to the roof r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel from 27th Sep to 2nd Oct 2013.
We choose this hotel because of its close proximity to all the places of interest.
Though the room was small it was cute .
Staff was helpful and the breakfast buffet was awesome.
Breakfast area view was simply great.One can stay there hours just staring at the Marmara Sea.

Anybody who stays in this hotel Only tip is don't book any tours from the hotel.
They charge you more.
There is a tour agency 10 min walking from the hotel named Independent Travel.They have all the tours from various agencies same as in the Hotel but will cost you less.e.g a 70 Euro tour will cost you 55 Euro.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IshitaDuttaJha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charleston,wv
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Excellent location means you only need to sleep, bathe and enjoy a beer from the rooftop bar at this hotel. Rooms are small but nicely appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast spread is huge with plenty of selection. Stayed here the first 2 and last 2 days of a tour. Could not be beat for its convenience to everything.

Room Tip: stay in the "old" section (over the lobby) A room in the rear should provide views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Good location across from Beyazıt Square and close to the main sights - Haiga Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Not easily accessible by car or bus but it's a short walk to the main street: Ordu Cad. The hotel has a spa (which we didn't try) and an ancient cistern which they have converted into a night club (not operating when we were there).

The rooftop restaurant is nice and served a good breakfast buffet. It has a great view across the Sea of Marmara, especially at night.

Ours was a small, comfortable but plain room without a view. Free wifi in the room and common areas that worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ral999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were on a tour in Turkey and first stayed at Antik for 2 nights at the start of our trip.
We were in the "B" section which meant up and down stairs and different lifts to get to meals and our room was hard to find at first.
Very small room ,very hot with the air con not working.however it was fixed promptly when we asked the next day.
When we returned at the end of our trip,we asked to be in the main building and the room was much better,easier access in and out and the wifi worked.
Maybe not 4 star but an unusual hotel in a great situation ,definitely ask to be in the main building if you stay there.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Bekdas Hotel Deluxe
#661 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Hotel Beyaz Saray
#245 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Momento
#368 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#554 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Beyazıt
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#591 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antik Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antik Hotel Istanbul

Property: Antik Hotel Istanbul
Address: Ordu Cad. Sekbanbasi Sok. No: 6 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34130, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyazıt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #515 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antik Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Istanbul, Antik Hotel is less than one kilometre from the Grand Bazaar and Theodisius Cistern. Luxury amenities include a sauna and massage treatments.The history of Istanbul is the inspiration for this unique hotel. Built on top of a Roman cistern, each floor of the hotel is designed to represent 4 different periods of Istanbul's past.The contemporary rooms are fitted with flat-screen TVs, wooden floors and white linens on the plush beds. A seating area and a sea view are offered in some rooms.Staff at the reception desk is available 24/7. Information about car rental can be found at the Antik's tour desk.Marmarion Restaurant serves Turkish, Ottoman and international cuisine on the terrace, which offers charming views of Istanbul and the Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antik Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing