We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great experience despite good reviews” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cordial House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cordial House Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,175 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
St John's, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a great experience despite good reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

This place has generally good reviews, so I was a bit surprised when we got there and our double private room was a broom closet with 2 beds chucked in. There was hardly any room for our bags, everything was on the beds. I saw other rooms though and they were nice enough, we were just unlucky. They offered us free breakfast since the room was so bad which was nice of them I suppose. To be fair, it was pretty cheap, 26 euros a night for both of us (shared bathroom). I was not very happy when we paid 6 euros for a load of launry doing and a dress came back in such terrible condition I had to wash it again myself. I suggest just doing your own washing in the shower. Drinks in the hostel are expensive and nobody was around when we were there so don't expect much fun. One thing that was nice was I liked a picture in the common room and asked if I could have it (brazen as I am) and they actually gave it to me (provided I got them another picture, which I did at the Buk Pazar for 10 lira).

  • Liked — Good location, near all sites.
  • Disliked — Terrible room, very small.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NewfieLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    128
    62
    17
    14
See reviews for
32
53
70
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

Good: Price, location, friendly staff, bar, internet access.

We were 5 people and rented a dorm room. We payed only for 5 beds (good!), but the room was very simple. 4 bunk beds, one window high up on the wall. No A/C, which was ok since the weather in Istanbul was surprisingly cool at the time, but I would't have stayed in that room two weeks later, when the heat wave came.

All in all: a decent place for young backpackers who want a cheap room with good location and the possibility of meeting other travellers in the bar on the ground floor.

  • Liked — Location, price, staff.
  • Disliked — Ugly room.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gunhilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELHI, INDIA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2008

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights on Feb 18/19, 2008 with my wife and adult daughter. I had booked this room through venere.com.

Although it was supposed to be a triple bed room, it turned out to be a 4 bed room located on the first floor. The rate was euro 45 per night for 3 persons with breakfast.

Firstly, the hotel is superbly located. Its 5 minutes walk from sultanahmet and 10 minutes walk to the blue mosque. the grand bazar is one tram stop away and at a walkable distance.

The room was on the first floor and it was a large room with an attach toilet. The room was basic, but it was clean and comfortable and toilet was fine too. The towels were clean and of good quality.

There is nothing to complain about this place...its great for its price and location. The breakfast was good: olives, cheese, bread, honey, jam, butter and coffee. Quite filling and in ample quantity.

There is an information desk in the hotel and it makes it very helpful.

There are enough places to eat in and around this place, and most areas of tourists' interest are close by. Would certainly recommend this place.

Incidentally, there is a bar in the hostel but it does not disturb the residents.

  • Liked — the location and the price
  • Disliked — the colours are very loud
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank transcom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

the people are nice, but it can be crowded during high season.
I stayed with my girlfriend in a double room with toilet. it was clean, but not big room. the price we paid was much lower than the one stated at the entrance, since we had booked before hand.
the dorms are not so good.
the breakfast is simple and very good, traditional turkish.
has a quite central location walkable distances to grand bazar and the sultanamet.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

The hospitality I received from Cordial House is enormous. The manager, Tugrul Gokce and staff made me feel I was at home in Canada. The warmth and the friendly gestures are overwhelming I feel I lived in a house instead of an hotel. The rooms are clean, every request is attended to without delay, request for trips and advise for travel are well provided and most staff you can converse lengthily even when they are busy. WHen I left a LIRA coin in my laundry, they honestly handed me back the coin. When I asked for a shuttle to the airport, there is no delay. When I request my luggages to be stored, no problem, they will take care of it. If you compare the rates they charge with other hostels, Cordial House is reasonable considering the closeness of the top attractions such as the Turkish Bazaar, Topkapi, Ble Mosque, Cistern Underground, the tram, and the Turkish baths. I will remember my stay in Istanbul as the brightest shining jewel in the entire travels I have had for so many years. I feel the Turkish people as one of the friendliest ever I have met in my travels. I won so many friends in my visits to Cappadocia, Pamukkale, Ephesus, Taksim Square Istiklial Caddesi etc. The movie Midnight Express of so many years ago was wrong. The way the western press focuses right now on the war fronts between the Turks and the Kurds in the south are blown out of proportion. I am very proud that this country retains the tradition and discipline of its history and culture. When my plane flew from Istanbul, I had a lump in my throat, thinking that I am leaving behind the warmth and friendly citizens of this country.
Tugkrul and company, thank you so much- BAL (my name means HONEY in Turkish language) In Canada's French language, it means a ballroom.
email: baldomero99@hotmail.com

  • Liked — friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — clean rooms and quiet atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank baldomeroVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2007

Hmm, if you are determined to stay in Sultanahmet (and public transport in Istanbul is so cheap and simple there's really no need) then splah out 10EUR more and stay closer to the Hippodrome with a stunning view from one of the rooftop restaurants.

I was totally underwhelmed by the Cordial House, as an experienced and realistic traveller. There is no airconditioning - not a problem in June, but probably something you'd like in the height of summer - the walls (bright pink and purple...) are paper thin (loved those Slovakian girls next door after they'd been on the booze at 3am), the sheets on all the three single beds in the room were torn and filthy, and the bathroom was grim and dank. I might have felt better if I had a dorm instead of a single: but the singles were over-priced, over-lit, under-supplied and vile.

This was my first time in Istanbul, but as I'll be travelling through there a couple of times a month until the end of the year, I have researched other options. The staff - with the exception of one guy - were surly, unfriendly and unhelpful, and the bar was dead. I really wouldn't recommend staying here unless you were in a super-cheap dorm bed - it lacks atmosphere, is very poor value for money and even the closeness to the tram stop and the sites can't make up for this.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The price, the dirt, the lack of atmosphere...
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hefzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#577 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#155 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#130 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial House Hotel

Property: Cordial House Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Caddesi Peykane Sokak No 19 | Cemberlitas, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,175 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cordial House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordial House Hotel offers an unbeatable combination of economically priced rooms and a perfect location for quality-seeking budget travelers. We provide comfortable accommodation in a clean, safe and friendly atmosphere with a superb location in the heart of the old town. Cordial House is close to all of the main attractions and also to trams, buses, trains and airport shuttle stops. Whichever way you arrive into Istanbul, Cordial House is easy to get to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cordial House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing