We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place to stay”
Review of Hotel Empress Zoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Empress Zoe
Ranked #45 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute. The hotel is gorgeous, staff great and really helpful, and perfectly positioned to walk to the sights of Sultanahmet. Every room is a little different and the garden area is a beautiful spot for breakfast each morning or to write your postcards in, in the afternoon. Istanbul was a highlight of our trip and this was the perfect place to stay and enjoy it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 777 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our second stay at Empress Zoe. This is a marvelous boutique hotel in the Old City near Sultanment Istanbul. It is a restored group of buidlings centered around a beautiful garden. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. We stayed in one of the garden suites that included a bedroom, hamaam like bath, and a living area and balcony. The suites have extra beds so this is great for a small family. Breakfast in the garden and drinks in the afternoon are a delight. You are a short walk from all the Sultanament sites: Topkapi, Haiga Sofia, Blue Mosque. There are many restaurants right outside the door and most have a wonderful rooftop terrace with great views.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites or rooms that overlook the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteikeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed in this Bed and Breakfast Hotel for four nights on our way to Ozdere south of Izmir in May 2013. We had a very friendly welcome on arrival. This very well run hotel was a real haven of peace from the hubbub of the Sultanahmet area of the old city and within easy reach of all the major sites and places of interest. Breakfast in the garden or inside was excellent. Our room "The Petite Suite" was very clean and comfortable. All of the staff were very friendly, polite, and spoke several languages between them. Very reasonable cost per night at this time of year and well worth the visit. My wife and I were recommended this jewel among small hotels by our daughter who had stayed here several years ago. We would have no hesitation in staying here again. It is clearly very popular so book early !!

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C. Roof terraces give good views across the Bosphorus and Marmara sea. There are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I LOVED this hotel....and I loved Istanbul. I just came home from an around the world trip and this was my favorite hotel AND country. Empress Zoe is a gorgeous little hotel that represents all of what Istanbul is. Welcoming, beautiful, magical, friendly, unique and makes you want to come back for more. This boutique hotel is situated perfectly for you to see the ancient sites and wander the city. The daily breakfast was amazing...and the resident felines very entertaining and welcoming! My room was perfect, and looked onto the garden...everything was clean and very well taken care of. The roof deck was perfection...you must make the climb up there to relax and enjoy the view. This place is perfect and well worth the stay. I have no doubt I will be back to Istanbul and I won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsea09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here for our first time in Istanbul. A peaceful oasis in the busy tourist area of sultanhamet. Rooms were clean and the garden oasis is very relaxing. Breakfast was fresh and had a great selection. Staff were accommodating with advice and were so kind to hold our bags for a late flight and give us an empty room to shower and change. The location is perfect being close to blue mosque, aya Sofia and topkapi palace. It's an easy walk also to the grand bazaar and tram stop to new city. Restaurants and shops surrounding are not great- very touristy so overall if its your first visit I would say this is the best hotel in the area but if you've seen the sights and are a bit of a foodie I would stay in Beyoglu (a but trendier and great restaurants).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We chose Empress Zoe based on many recommendations we came across while researching accommodation options for our trip to Istanbul. 

It is in a great location - across the street from the Four Seasons hotel and no more than a five minute walk to the plaza in front of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. 

We decided to splurge by staying in one of the suites - room 603. It has two floors with two bedrooms on the lower floor (as well as the bathroom)  and a sitting room/kitchen area on the second floor (inducing a refrigerator). The best part, however, were the two balconies on the top floor. One provides a decent view of the Bosphorus and Marmara Sea (and it is the most spacious) while the other looks over towards the Four Seasons. They were fabulous places to relax after long days of sightseeing around Istanbul. 

The beds were comfortable and the rooms well shaded by the curtains. While the suite is air conditioned we did not like the positioning of the units in the bedrooms - they blow cold air onto you when in bed which can get uncomfortable. 

The staff were friendly and most helpful.  The breakfast is simple and includes two hot items but after five days we did get a little tired of the options. The indoor courtyard, which is shaded by trees and vines, is a wonderful place to eat and have a drink in the afternoon (they do have bar service after 4:00pm). 

If you don't like walking up stairs I wouldn't stay here. To access the guest rooms you must first walk up a small, spiral staircase and you can have as many as two more staircases before you get to your room. 

As noted earlier, the location is fabulous. If you are visiting Istanbul for the first time you do want to stay in the Sultanahmet neighbourhood so you can easy access all of Istanbul's top sites. 

While there is no restaurant in the hotel there are plenty of options just steps from the front door. Beware - you will be accosted at every step by men trying to get you to come into their restaurant. Best to go out with a destination in mind and ignore all others. We had a good dinner at Magnaura as well as Giritli (which is a little further away). 

One final note, you will soon discover that you are in a Muslim country when the call to prayers boom out of the many mosques. One is located right behind the hotel and the 3:45am call (the times do change) did wake us up. If you are aight sleeper ear plugs might be a good idea. 

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our family booked two rooms - one of which was a budget room which truly was a budget room! Two small beds crammed in a very small room and an abbreviated bathroom with very small shower. It did the job for the two teenage boys who traveled with us! Our room could have fit four but we only put three in it. It was a bedroom, with another room which had two daybeds. Very spacious and also very nice bathroom. Secluded inner courtyard where breakfast was available was so peaceful! Lots of choices for breakfast though it did not vary from day to day. Location-wise we were steps away from great restaurants/shops and many of the sights - Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia. Roof terrace offered magnificent view of the Blue Mosque. Oh, and the entire hotel was covered in blooming Wisteria - just incredible! Shuttle was great picking us up and taking us to the airport!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crocuslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#23 of 1,160 in Istanbul
682 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,019 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#6 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,014 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#21 of 1,160 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,160 in Istanbul
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empress Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empress Zoe

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi, No:10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £49 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Empress Zoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Zoe Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing