We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a perfect location”
Review of Hotel Empress Zoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Empress Zoe
Ranked #31 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

As a solo female traveller, I felt perfectly safe staying in Sultanahmet. The room was small, but charming. The staff was very helpful, and the garden was a beautiful place to eat breakfast, pet one of the hotel's three cats, or have a glass of wine. I can't stress enough how lovely it was to have a place to have an inexpensive drink and not have to worry about getting yourself back to the hotel in one piece. The one drawback for me as a solo female was that Akbiyik Street is full of restaurants with those guys who stand out front and try to lure in tourists. It can be somewhat stressful as a polite Midwesterner to have to run that gauntlet multiple times a day. On the other hand, I never paid for a cup of tea once during my stay in Istanbul, and the Turkish people do seem genuinely interested in sitting down and talking with tourists.

The wifi was better at Empress Zoe than most places I've stayed, probably because they have multiple access points, and the breakfast was generous and delicious. Don't miss out on the eggs with tomatoes; they're gone by 9:00!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

Just come back from an excellent 5 day stay at the Empress Zoe. I can confirm most of which has been said before; staff extremely helpful, rooms relatively small but kept very clean each day. No TV in room but hey, I am on holiday so do I really want to know all the troubles going on outside? Anyway got this info on my friends tablet which works perfectly in the hotel's grounds.
Less than 10 mins walk to Blue Mosque/Haghia Sofia/Basilica Cistern/Topkapi Palace. Lots of eating places on your doorstep albeit some are pretty ordinary but hotel gives good recommendations. Every restaurant you walk by tries to drag you in but all very good humoured.
Nice little quiet private garden to have breakfast in the morning or a quiet drink in the evening; bar closes at 11pm. There is a minaret about 100 metres away so you will get a wakeup call about 5.30am but doesn't last long and probably there is nowhere in Istanbul where you can avoid this.
Just a word of warning; we were in Room 41 but it is on the 4th floor and to get there you have to climb up a steepish winding staircase (the hotel staff look after your baggage). Having said that, my wife is in her 60's and is a little frail but she did not complain and in fact would choose this room again if (when) we return.
A very enjoyable experience from RussT

Room Tip: Room 41 had a walkin shower and faces away from the 'restaurant' street which can be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussT1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from a five day stay at Empress Zoe, and found it to be just what we required, in terms of location - very near to the "main" touristic sights of the old town; price - mid-range; and in terms of character - lovely courtyard garden, lovely roof terrace, characterful furnishings etc.

The rooms are small, but adequate and traditionally furnished and decorated. The shower room likewise. We had the benefit of a balcony overlooking the garden - which was nice!
Bed linen is changed everyday, and the bathroom cleaned and re-stocked.
The staff are helpful; responding to queries and requests without any hesitation.

The immediate neighborhood is a little off-putting to begin with - because the main drag is very touristic - with competing music, hostels, nargile cafes etc - however, we did discover some quieter streets with traditional wooden housing just off the main drag - and some smart boutiquey-type shops and some nice places to eat.

The one thing that I would have appreciated, that our hotel room did not have, was a T.V. I understand that some of the hotel suites do have a T.V- so I do not see why all rooms should not have this benefit . Not everybody likes to stay out late at night; preferring to retire, after dinner, to their hotel. If you are not in the mood for reading, then a T.V is great to wind down and relax with. Also, personally, I like to view foreign television - even if i cannot understand the language - as it reveals something of the national culture, which I find very interesting.

That is really my only slight disappointment. Empress Zoe is ideal for a first visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stargazer435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Breakfast in the garden of Empress Zoe is reason in itself to stay at one of Istanbul's understatedly excellent boutique hotels. Location is another. Whether on business or pleasure, I personally prefer to base myself in the old citadel of Sultanahmet, near Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the tourist attractions for the simple thrill of being in the ancient heart of Constantinople. Empress Zoe is literally surrounded by ancient walls and domes. Family rooms and luxury suites with private terrace are available but I chose the cheapest option - a (very) small, unadorned but perfectly comfortable corner room on the third floor - excellent value. Staff are informally friendly. There is a bar, no evening meal service but lots of restaurants of all types very close by. A romantic hotel in an exotic corner of the world's most exciting megopolis. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank JohnJoeKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights this August and we were delighted!
The hotel is gorgeus, oasis if calm and piece (you really need it after the long day), romantic, staff is extremly friendly and helpful and it is few minutes walk from all the major sites in the Sultanahmet area. You couldn't find a better place!

Room Tip: garden suite with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

we were family of 2 stayed at empress zoe for 3 nights good location for tourist near
blue mosque. palace,spice market,and other tourist spots nearby nice cosy place gives you the the homely feeling ,garden with sit outs was nice with the cats playing around ,
The negative side was small room and toilets and a spiral staircase.We enjoyed our stay
the staff was very helpful and courteous Price was a bit high compared to the amenities
good eating joints nearby

Room Tip: get lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akhil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved every minute. The hotel is gorgeous, staff great and really helpful, and perfectly positioned to walk to the sights of Sultanahmet. Every room is a little different and the garden area is a beautiful spot for breakfast each morning or to write your postcards in, in the afternoon. Istanbul was a highlight of our trip and this was the perfect place to stay and enjoy it all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
690 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#42 of 1,163 in Istanbul
386 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#24 of 1,163 in Istanbul
318 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,027 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Regie Ottoman Istanbul
Regie Ottoman Istanbul
#64 of 1,163 in Istanbul
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empress Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empress Zoe

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi, No:10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £45 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Empress Zoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Zoe Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing