We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Impressive Empress”
Review of Hotel Empress Zoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Empress Zoe
Ranked #45 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our recent visit to Istanbul was substantially enhanced by our stay at the Empress Zoe. The location is perfect for touring the Old City, shopping the Sultanhamet District and Bazaars, great restaurants and a short walk to the tram stop to head toward Galata or the ferry docks. This boutique hotel has charm and such individually styled rooms, that you really need to spend time on their website looking at all the different room configurations, locations, and sizes before making your selection. The style is very authentic and you feel like you are back in byzantine times with the fabric selections, artifacts, furnishings, and artwork. Entering the lobby takes you immediately into the proper frame of mind and is very warm and welcoming. There are stairs - they are very upfront about that, however there are several rooms that have garden entrances and a smaller number of stairs to navigate. I had a sprained ankle by the time we got to Istanbul, and really had no problems navigating the stairs at all. The staff is excellent and very helpful - Hayati was our favorite. The breakfast is delicious with selections of local pastries, fruits, olives as well as scrambled or hard boiled eggs every morning. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the bathrooms clean and well maintained. Our room was also very quiet and we faced a busy street with shops and restaurants and had no problems with noise - even at prayer times. The breakfast room also serves as a bar in the evenings with a fire going every evening during our stay. It was only nice enough to sit in the garden a few mornings while we were there, but can only imagine how pleasant it is in warmer weather. For the money, it would be very difficult to find a unique boutique hotel room in a better location with a better staff and with more amenities. I really don't feel like I did the Empress justice with this review; but, if I ever return to Istanbul, I would stay no where else.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at all the rooms on the website. They post great descriptions and photos. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Two of us booked the penthouse suite in early April and had four lovely nights there. Istanbul was freezing at the time but our room was always cozy and comfy. Gorgeous soft bed and lovely linen, endless hot water with great pressure and a cute little balcony to catch the last of the afternoon rays on. Only taking one point off for shaky wifi which was patchy at best, no matter when (or from where in the hotel) we tried. Otherwise all was perfect including the friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazB333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A charming and quirky place to stay on the Sultanahmet side of Istanbul. Close to all the attractions. Lots of stairs and my room was tiny but absolutely lovely. Helpful staff and a splendid breakfast. Beware of the call to prayer right outside the window though, but on the upside you do get views! As a woman travelling alone I felt very safe here. Good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luxuryonabudget_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We loved the Empress Zoe. It's definitely not posh and all the better for that. All staff smiley and helpful. Breakfast varied and scrummy. Bed comfortable and bathroom marble hammam style. Hotel a delight to return to from the madness that is Istanbul.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a quirky small hotel, full of character and in the heart of the old city. The area is of course very touristy, but the Empress Zoe is ideally placed a short stroll away from the Topkapi Palace, the Aghia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. It has a lovely garden with ancient walls and mature plants. The views from the roof terrace are of minarets to one side ant the Sea of Marmara to the other.
The rooms are all very individual with wonderful wall hangings and traditional furniture. Those on the street side can be noisy, but the garden rooms much quieter.The staff are friendly and helpful.
I would not recommend this hotel for those with mobility problems. Access from reception is via a metal spiral staircase as is access to the roof terrace (not for the faint-hearted but well worth the effort)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jillandmike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I had a great stay at Empress Zoe for my 40th birthday trip with my girlfriend. The hotel is very relaxed, comfortable and atmospheric with a lovely fresh breakfast and helpful staff.
The location is excellent and the roof terrace gives amazing views over the city and the Sea of Marmara.
There is an excellent choice of food and drink in the local area and our favourite was Albura Kathisma.
I'd recommend the hotel to anybody but points to note - there are a couple of narrow spiral staircases and the Orient Hostel nearby is loud until around 1am if your room is to the front. You'll be woken by the call to prayer at 5am but if that's an issue then Istanbul probably isn't for you.
A fantastic trip. Thanks Empress Zoe.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUDenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It is in the touristy area of Sultanahmet, but it's at the end of the street with lots of bars and restaurants. There is a lot of noise from these places if your room faces out (which mine did - no. 14), but that's not the hotel's fault. It was very comfortable - I have a chronic neck pain but while I was here I had no pain! The mattress and pillows are very good, and the sheets feel clean. The bathroom was great - a little pokey, but the shower was amazing (fast water pressure and clean marble walls and floor). Breakfast is great - very generous fresh fruit, olives, different breads, yoghurt, borek (pastry with spinach), juice, tea/coffee, jams, scrambled eggs, menemen (I think - eggs with tomato), cheeses, cheese salad, cucumber, tomato... you get the picture. This place is very good value and the people are very helpful (they checked our return flights in for us so we didn't have to get to the airport so early). Thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel if noise until about midnight is a problem for you, other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOPH332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#25 of 1,181 in Istanbul
712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#22 of 1,181 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#26 of 1,181 in Istanbul
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#6 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#8 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,040 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#28 of 1,181 in Istanbul
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empress Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empress Zoe

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi, No:10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#164 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £46 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Empress Zoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Zoe Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing