We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”
Review of Hotel Empress Zoe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Empress Zoe
Ranked #37 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Empress Zoe for a week in June and it could not be faulted. It is close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Topkapi plus an easy walk to the tram stop to venture further afield. As we were staying for a week, we opted for a garden suite which was very spacious and comfortable.
The breakfasts were delicious. Cherries and strawberries were in season and delicious with wonderful creamy yoghurt. Excellent scrambled eggs for a hot option. The garden is a haven and we had breakfast there each morning and enjoyed a glass of wine there in the afternoons.

The service could not be faulted - everyone was absolutely charming and the property is kept immaculately.

As other reviewers have noted, there are a lot of stairs so the hotel is not for anyone with mobility issues.

We loved it and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balmaingirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    173
    34
    17
    2
See reviews for
146
329
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I went back for my 3rd trip to Instanbul and of course had to stay at the Empress Zoe again (I've stayed tehere the last 3 times and each time loved it)! The staff are so helpful and friendly, the location is great for seeing the touris sights and every room in boutique hotel different and every one is filled with character. One of my favorite features is the central courtyard which is a peacefull oasis to relax in after a busy day in the bustling city (with several friendly cats that love to greet travelers). The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the Aya Sofia and is minutes from fun shopping and cafes. Also the metro stop to take you across to Taksim/or down to the Ferries is also an 8-10 minute walk. I would highly recommend this hotel to those who like places with character and charm. However please note there are a lot of narrow stairs in this hotel, so travelers with mobility limitation may not be able to navigate the hotel (there are no elevators).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Empress Zoe Hotel was full of charm and character, and is in a fantastic location for walking to the historic sites of Istanbul, and only minutes to Sultanahmet tram stop for easy access to the Grand Bazaar and the hip areas of Taksim, Galata and Beygolu.

We stayed in apartment 603 which was many flights of stairs up, but which rewarded you with two balconies: one with a stunning view of the Bosphorus Sea and the other with a view of the immaculate garden of The Four Seasons Hotel next door. Being high up meant that the rooms were nice and quiet, except for the regular call to prayer of the mosques (bring ear plugs!). We marveled at the attention to detail throughout the nooks and crannies of the hotel, and the artfully placed antiques and flower pots. The courtyard garden (where we took our traditional and delicious breakfasts) was particularly beautiful and tranquil--a real sanctuary from the bustle of the city. My only minor suggestion would be for the hotel to supply hair conditioner along with their shampoo.

Ramadan is a great time to visit as the square and garden next to the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque fill with families enjoying the post 'Iftar' festivities and markets.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

beautiful garden, roof top view of Bosphours, excellent service. (great breakfast, lovely happy hour - nice opportunity to meet other guests) easy walk to Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, Blue Mosque - great location, lovely hotel very welcoming

Room Tip: rooms in front are smaller and noisier but great value rooms in the back are quiet some have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Light_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Given my wife and I were travelling overseas for two months we set out to stay in different hotels rather than your standard hotel shoe box. In doing so found a number of unique hotels/accommodation that were no more expensive than a standard western style room. Empress Zoe was one such hotel that I would highly recommend.

We stayed in Systern suite which was large and very comfortable with large hammam style marble shower. Breakfast in the garden was lovely and a cool quiet get away during the day.

Location is in the middle of Sultanahmet just minutes by foot from major attractions. Why would you stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Muslim prayer call to order is frequent and loud, but quite captivating so would ignore this in rega...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Good choice for easy walking to all the main old city spots. Spent 5 nights here at Empress Zoe; very impressed with the size of and amenities our room (we went for a garden suite) and the friendliness of all of the staff. The garden space for breakfast and lounging about is lovely and great for when you want a spot outside but not in the sun and some quiet away from the touts. Fairly expensive; breakfast was quite adequate and fresh but very limited in terms of vegetable selections and with identical offerings each morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarYntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg VA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We will stay here again if we ever return to Istanbul.
Pros - 1) Unbelievably charming building, dripping with character, 2) beautiful garden, 3) very friendly service, 4) hip ambience, 5) great views from our room, 6) good price (by Istanbul standards) for what you get.
Cons - 1) bed was a bit short and hard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgre2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#26 of 1,156 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#166 of 1,156 in Istanbul
836 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#22 of 1,156 in Istanbul
302 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#25 of 1,156 in Istanbul
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Empress Zoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empress Zoe

Property: Hotel Empress Zoe
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi, No:10, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#113 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Empress Zoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Zoe Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing