We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to sights”
Review of Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kent Hotel
Ranked #286 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel collected us from the airport thankfully and we stayed at the Kent for two nights prior to a Turkey On the Go tour. We found the staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was at the back which was reasonably quiet only hearing the call to prayer. The room was relatively spacious and we enjoyed the availability of the tea and coffee in the room. The buffet breakfast was very nice with a good choice of hot and cold food. This hotel is opposite the university and a tram line goes right past the door. There are many shops and restaurants within easy walking distance plus one of the entrances to the Grand Bazaar is close by as well. A nice place to stay.

Room Tip: A back room should be quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISTKENT, Satış Müdürü at Kent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kent Hotel Istanbul and for leaving us your wonderful review.

We are pleased to hear that you had lovely stay with us.

We hope we are going to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in near future.

With all the best wishes.

Miss. Esen Horuz
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is very nice. The rooms are clean and up to date. Dinner was a sit down meal that was very good and breakfast was a buffet that had many yummy choices. The rooms also had in room coffee/tea and a refrigerator with items to purchase. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LovesDonuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISTKENT, Satış Müdürü at Kent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kent Hotel Istanbul and for leaving us your wonderful review.

We are pleased to hear that you had lovely stay with us.

We hope we are going to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in near future.

With all the best wishes.

Miss. Esen Horuz
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is located close to many famous sights like Blue Mosque and the Big Bazaar. The main tram line has a stop almost opposite to the hotel so it is easy to travel to the centre by tram if you don't want to walk. And if you walk, it is easy to find the way to the hotel by following the tram line. The rooms are very clean, they have wooden floor and the bathroom was spotless. The breakfast is excellent and has a good choice of warm food which varies day by day. There is a small street cafe in front of the hotel where you can sit and order food or drink from the hotel. The service was very friendly and all the staff speak good English. There is free drinking water and coffee in the room and the free wifi was fast. One small drawback is a mosque at the back of the hotel where the prayer calls early in the morning will wake you up if your room is on that side of the building. If I go to Istanbul again, I will most probably stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarmosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISTKENT, Satış Müdürü at Kent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Kent Hotel Istanbul and for leaving us your wonderful review.

We are pleased to hear that you had lovely stay with us.

We hope we are going to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel in near future.

With all the best wishes.

Miss. Esen Horuz
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Nice and wide rooms, great breakfast and kindly and English speaking staff. Great location with tram station just opposite the entranceand only 3 stops from the mosques. Restaurants, exchange banks and shops in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ricardo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a night at the Kent hotel in Istanbul. The premises were very clean, with friendly staff. The hotel was within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar with lots of street merchants along the way providing an exciting environment for tourists. The hotel is great for tourists, modern bathroom, air conditioning, and facilities. Breakfast was good although forget the orange juice. Wifi a little hit and miss. Would recommend for those who want to stay in the old town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Exceptionally friendly staff at the hotel during our stay end May before embarking on tour of Turkey. More people like Erol at front desk required in the hotel industry. Our additional baggage was kept safely for 10 days tour during our tour of Turkey. Very centrally located hotel and will definately return again. Madan & Khusum Dayal South Africa

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the Kent Hotel as part of a package tour to Turkey. I was surprised at the quality of the rooms and the location of the hotel as normally hotels booked as part of tours are a little far out and a little sub-standard compared to hotels you would otherwise book yourself. The hotel is literally only 5 minutes down the road from the Grand Bazaar and very close to good quality restaurants. Our waiter in the bar downstairs where we chose to have a few drinks was very attentive and professional.

There was one problem though and had this not occurred I would have given this hotel top ratings. Our travelling companions put their passports, money and other valuables in the safe. The safe malfunctioned and locked. They were unable to open the safe. When they reported the issue to the reception they were told that they would have to wait until the next day - around 9am - before the safe could be opened. As we were booked on our tour which was leaving prior to 9am this response was not satisfactory. The on-site manager did not have a master key to open the safe and could not persuade the executive manager (who was off-site and who did have the master key) to come in to the hotel in order to open the safe. I fail to see how an hotel could allow keys to be taken off-site nor can I understand how an executive manager would not be prepared to help a patron. It was not so late in the evening that one would have to be roused from bed. Our friends were extremely upset and I don't blame them. Our female friend worked for several years in the hotel industry and was horrified at this total lack of concern and service. Eventually my friends managed to get the safe open themselves by giving it a thump in sheer frustration and it popped open! Had this not happened I fear they would have missed the tour the next day. The fact that thumping a safe would release the lock is a concern in itself. We later learned that other patrons had the same problem with their safes which leads us to believe that they need a total overhaul. It is a shame that this episode dampened the overall experience of our stay at the Kent Hotel. By all means stay here but don't use the safe and if you have a problem don't expect the management to care enough to step up to the mark and help you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flossygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
#157 of 1,171 in Istanbul
889 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#354 of 1,171 in Istanbul
28 reviews
Martinenz Hotel
#783 of 1,171 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fener & Balat
Hotel Venera
Hotel Venera
#590 of 1,171 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Darkhill Hotel
#368 of 1,171 in Istanbul
306 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#480 of 1,171 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent Hotel

Address: Ordu Street. No:29 | Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyazıt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#196 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#206 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £46 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kent Hotel Istanbul is located in the Beyazıt are, within walking distanced of the Grand Bazaar and the Sultanahmet area, one of the oldest and most colourful quarters of Istanbul. This is a lovely home away from home for couples and families with 94 comfortable rooms equipped with modern amenities and a wide range of shops and restaurants nearby. Guests to the Kent Hotel Istanbul can explore ancient landmarks and attractions and experience real Turkish hospitality. For an unforgettable holiday in Istanbul, the Kent Hotel Istanbul is a perfect choice! Ataturk Airport is 20 km from the hotel.Local Tips: Be sure to visit Istanbul's many historical attractions such as the Blue Mosque, St. Sophia, Topkapi Place and the Spice Bazaar, all within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Kent Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing