We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central delights”
Review of Nomade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomade Hotel
Ranked #383 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you are visiting a city for the first time a hotel that is near the key historical sights would be beneficial. Also one that is easily reached from the airport helps. Well Nomade scores on both these points. A metro and tram journey to Sultanahmet and a walk of no more than a hundred metres brings you to a warm welcome and the view of the Blue Mosque from the roof terrace is nothing short of breathtaking. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast is just the energy fix that is needed for a day pounding the streets of this fascinating City. The nearby restaurants of Mosaik and Khorasani are excellent. In short, we really look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithandMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul. The rooms are small but clean with a tiny en-suite wetroom-type bathroom. You have breakfast on a rooftop terrace with a spectacular view over the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmaris (see photo) and you can also have a drink up there in the evening.
We found the staff really helpful, especially one night when we returned to the hotel and there was a power cut! We were lent a high-powered torch and they took our luggage up to the room for us.
The tram station is literally 50 metres away but we walked everywhere. The Grand Bazaar and the Spice Market are within easy reach and I recommend a boat trip on the Bosporus to give an overview of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony777_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

In the center of Sultanahmet, you have easy access to every interesting point of Istanbul, the historical center, also easy access to every transport. NIce and lovely lobby and a, helpful people (speaking fluently english/french). Some could say the rooms are little, I should say very well arranged though... It is a boutique hotel, do not forget. Generous breakfast, too, with great view ovr the city. I enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouizKoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you need to have a hotel room to go to late at night and have breakfast in the morning, this hotel might suit you.
But be careful with some caveats: the staff may not treat you quite nicely (they don't even offer help with your luggage to the room and the elevator works from 2nd floor only).
The room service is not good, they don't change the sheets and towels, they just come in each room to fold the old ones and put them away!
The floor of the room does not seem to get vacuumed, cleaned or anything. The bathroom door is made of glass and does not get shut properly, and there is no ventilating system installed in the bathroom (just go figure!)
The bed cover has stains on it in dull color and it's old!!

The wifi works only on the terrace, and not in the rooms.
The rooms are too small and there is not even a tiny fridge in the room !!

The only good thing in the hotel is breakfast probably and being close to the tramway (T1).
It can get very noisy at night if you want to sleep not too late (but that's the case for most hotels in that area).

They sell a small bottle of water for 3 Euro!!!! and 7 Euro for a big one!!! very greedy people!!!
The staff help you with finding addresses of places to visit and their opening hours if you ask, but they have this poker face on them all the time ! :-/

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdy-owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Not the easiest place to find, but still very centrally located and on the same road as loads of restaurants! 5 minute walk from Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque and also extremely close to the tram (T1 - sultanahmet stop).

Greated by a nice man on reception and had our bags taken upstairs (i think there's about 7 floors, but there's a lift!).
Our room was fairly small, but a good enough size for the two of us. Really nicely decorated with plenty of windows. Air conditioning included. Comfortable big bed. The bathroom could have been bigger but was very clean with fresh towels everyday and nicely decorated. The door to the bathroom was frosted glass so not much privacy!

Breakfast included. It consists of a buffet with many different fruit and bread, eggs, cakes etc. Great views from the rooftop bar where you have breakfast.

As with everywhere in Istanbul, you will hear the call for prayer at around 5am, so take ear plugs!

Man on reception was really helpful and looked up ferry times for us. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kattttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just steps away from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodrome, Grand Bazaar, the bustling Divan Yolu Caddesi (I could go on), Nomade Hotel is one of the best locations in Sultanahmet. The view from the rooftop terrace is great, a nice complement to a delicious free breakfast buffet filled with lots of fresh fruit, vegetables, yogurt, cheese, and fresh-squeezed orange juice. You can also grab a drink there in the evening.
The rooms were modestly decorated, but a decent size, particularly for a city hotel. The beds were comfortable, and the AC allowed us to keep our windows closed and avoid the street noise and not getting woken up by the beautiful but early azan (call to prayer).
I have to disagree with other reviewers, I did not have any problems with the shower here; in fact, it was the only hotel bathroom that I didn't manage to flood while in Turkey! I also found the staff to be quite helpful and patient (particularly after dealing with hostile taxi drivers calling again and again!)
My two small gripes about the place are that 1)you only get one set of keys for your room, and 2)they lock the door late at night, so you need to be let in by a staff member. Could they maybe give us an outdoor key?

Overall, I would highly recommend Nomade Hotel for those with a mid-range budget.

Room Tip: 401 avoids street noise, but you can hear them setting up for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bklynisforlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

If you want to stay close to the heart of Istanbul's old city, this is the place to stay. It was our second stay in this small boutique hotel, each time being about a week. Both times we had a room on the 3rd floor and it was reasonably quiet given its central location which can mean some street noise. Our room faced a lovely sycamore tree which filtered the light. We kept the windows open to catch the cool breezes but gave this up and went to running the air conditioning after a couple of nights due to mosquitoes. (I guess window screens are not traditional in Turkey.) The AC helped to even further quieten the room. The bathrooms are tiny (!) but serviceable and clean.

The rooftop terrace has a wonderful view of Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque and serves the best breakfast buffet in town, with an extensive of absolutely fresh and ripe fruits, vegetables, yogurt, breads, cheeses, etc. In a month of traveling through Turkey, no other hotel's breakfast came close to this. Kudos to whoever is responsible for selecting the food.

The desk staff were very helpful and courteous and were able to provide excellent recommendations and assistance when asked. They also were able to arrange to have our laundry done, though the laundry did lose one of my shirts.

Wi-fi was unavailable in the room so we had to go to the terrace or the lobby.

As others have noted, the hotel is literally steps away from Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque, and innumerable restaurants and shops. If you are looking for a small hotel experience with a great location, this is it.

Room Tip: Third floor is the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJ_Mike_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#485 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#304 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#148 of 1,163 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#377 of 1,163 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#360 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#544 of 1,163 in Istanbul
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomade Hotel

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Ticarethane Sok. No:01 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £16 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nomade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Istanbul Hotel Nomade lies in the heart of Istanbul's old city. This delightful Inn have been totally ronovated for its 20th anniversary by French designer Dan Beranger. Close to practically everywhere worth visiting in the old city, Hotel Nomade combines unpretentious hospitality with the buzz of interesting people of all nationalities. The new building is renovated old Turkish house with an excellent terrace view to neighbouring sites such as St. Sophie, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, to name a few. The rooms leave little to be desired for the fastidious & are charmingly decorated. Fluent French and English spoken here. With the best little neighbourhood cafe, a restored Byzantine cellar, just across the street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomade Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing