We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights and had a room at the back of the hotel, so noise was not an issue. Whilst the rooms are small they are more than adequate, very clean, comfortable and functional. The location of the hotel, whilst on a main thoroughfare, is excellent within easy walking to the main attractions and to the port for a ferry to the Asian side or a Bosphorus cruise. Ignore all the street cruise vendors and take a Turyol (government) boat for the cruise. The tram stop for a tram to Beyoglu and Kabatas for the Dolmabache Palace or to Chora for the Church of St Saviour (under restoration) is 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The rooftop Ambit restaurant is first class with good food and excellent service to go with the spectacular view. What gives the hotel 5 stars are the staff and the location. In all departments the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and most helpful -the guests were their priority. On check in we were given a drink and a guided tour on the map of Istanbul as to suggestions for visits. It has no pretensions of grandeur but is an excellent base to explore such a fascinating city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back obviously have no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    537
    60
    4
    4
See reviews for
359
816
125
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is situated in a key point for sightseeing. The staff is helpful. The rooms are noisy and not spacious. Swimming pool small, but pleasing after long walks in Istanbul. Some breakfast dishes not fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InAbsentia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This small boutique hotel in the heart of the cultural section of Istanbul, within walking distance of the major attractions. The staff are friendly and helpful, offering useful information and compassion for travel weary patrons. The room we had was small though comfortable, and was on the top floor (as we'd requested) with a nice view of the waterfront and landscape beyond.
We'll certainly stay her when we come through Istanbul again, and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed 3 nights on the 4th floor. Free WLAN, small room, very clean and every day beautyfully arranged flowers on the bed. Very good breakfeast and really helpful and friendly staff. Busy little street with tram line; however, even with the windows open it was no problem to have a good sleep (the beds are just perfect!) The only negative point: the room height in the shower was a little too low - not easy for tall people.
But it should not keep you away from staying there.

Great restaurant with a beautiful view across the Boporus on the roof top. (See restaurant "Imbat")

Room Tip: upper floors should be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here recently for 5 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We asked for a room at the rear as we anticipated that we would be disturbed by the tram noise in a front room as we are light sleepers. We were given a room on the 3rd floor (306) which was fine in all respects although the view was of derelict buildings but very quiet.
The hotel restaurant at the top of the hotel has wonderful views over the Golden Horn. There are 2 sittings per night - one at 7.00pm and the other at 9.15pm.it is safer to reserve whatever time you choose as in our experience word has got around and there were many people staying elsewhere who come here to eat because of the views, quality of food and professional service. We ate there the first night and thought we would try somewhere different on night 2 but had a mediocre meal nearby for about the same price. In the end we ate in the hotel restaurant for the remaining nights of our stay at various times and each occasion was excellent. Real value for money .On balance the 9.15 sitting is best for the atmosphere and views of the city and mosques etc lit up.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilydale, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

our Stay in Istanbul was made so much better by the calibre of this hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly to say the least. Nothing is too much trouble. Our rooms and bathrooms were spotless. The breakfast is more than adequate and fresh. They have a restaurant on the top & make sure you book. it is sensational and people from all over try to book in. The staff were very helpful with transport cards and had a great knowledge of what to do. I will go back . It is a very central hotel to everything you want to do

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed at the Orient Express for two nights. The staff make you feel special from the minute you walk through the door till the time you leave. They are very helpful and polite. The rooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable. There is a wonderful restaurant right at the top hotel with a stunning view. There is an indoor heated pool which is a great way to relax. The best part is that is it situated in the Old Town and is conveniently situated as it's close to tourist attractions. I would highly recommend this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the tram line. My room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 104cherylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#53 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#145 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Property: Orient Express Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing