We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Orient Express Hotel was recommended by a number of our friends who are repeat guests. We have just returned from our first trip to Istanbul and we stayed at the OEH. We were treated to exemplary service, a helpful guest briefing on arrival as to sightseeing options, excellent recommendations and booking service and friendly courtesy by all staff. Comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast and superb roof top restaurant - with lovely views.

Excellent airport transfers both ways.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will join our friends as repeat guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    541
    60
    4
    4
See reviews for
360
817
126
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your nice hospitality.
We arrived home safely, its nice to came back with fantastic memories from Istanbul.
On behalf of my Husband and my self, i would like to express our feedback staying at Orient Express hotel.
Firstly when we came, welcoming of all staff was very professional, worm, we feel like family . Atmosphere in the hotel is definitely like at home, nice, cosy. There is nothing that was missed. When we check in is very quickly, but we have been surprised how nice welcome was, explanation about position of the hotel, in 5minutes we got reservation for unforgettable Dervish dancing, reservation for dinner, all have been sorted in 2 seconds. What ever we asked was sorted immediately.
We feel like at home with big family.
Looking forward to see you next year.

Thank you so much for everything.

Kind worm regards

Duska and Momo

Room Tip: We have room on 4floor, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice Hotel,
Rooms and hotel are quite small and difficult to find but a wonderful restaurant located on the roof. Can be a bit pricy but it is a very nice experience.

Perfect area for seeing all the tourist sights in Istanbul, with a helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited Istanbul for the first time this July 2014...stayed at the Orient Express great hotel, friendly and helpful staff, location perfect and easy to get around even on foot...great food as well on the roof top terrace...will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonellaTitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a seven night stay at this hotel, where we found all the staff to be extremely helpful.
The central location is ideal for reaching many of the tourist spots. The tram stop and railway station are both a five minute walk from the hotel, whilst the Topkapi Palace, Istanbul Archaeological Museum and Blue Mosque are a ten minute walk. A few more minutes and you reach the coastline or the Egyptian Bazaar.
The hotel's restaurant is very popular and an early booking is recommended. However there are numerous restaurants very close by, although it does tend to be Turkish cuisine on offer. You need to travel a little further for more choice.
We stayed in the Family Suite (Room 102), which is spacious and accommodates three people very comfortably. With two bathrooms and two TVs it manages to please everyone. The hotel also has free WiFi which has a very good connection. This room is at the front of the hotel on the first floor and, contrary to some other reviews, there was not a problem with noise.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a central location in Istanbul.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Orient Express Hotel has a terrific location in the heart of historic Istanbul. It is in easy walking distance to many historic sites and also on the tram line.The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are good and there is a wonderful restaurant on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Orient Express was quoted by my wife as the best hotel she has ever stayed at, an we travel a lot. The staff and service is remarkable. They gave us the quiet location we asked for, upper floor back of hotel. They let us keep our luggage there before we checked in so a side trip could go smoothly, which it did. Great bed and pillows allowed us to a good night sleep each of 5 nights.
They packed us a breakfast when we had an early tour. Room was clean. Breakfast was plentiful and some items rotated to provide more choices. The honeycomb added to my wife's yogurt was her favorite. The breakfast staff never stopped working, cleaning, re-suppying never out of sight.
We wanted to eat dinner at their top rated restaurant, and even though it was a last minute decision on our part to celebrate our fabulous time in Istanbul, and there were no reservations left, but because we were hotel guests, not only did they find us a table, but gave a front corner one. All out for their guests.
We were able to get free transportation because of a three night stay, one way, which went smoothly, and we decided to take public transportation back to the airport at the end of our trip. The airport is not close, but very convienient on tram and metro.
Last, the location was perfect. Tram stop a block away, all the top attractions easily walkable, and not with an extreme hill, wharf also walkable and restaurants choices close by if not eating at the top rated, top floor with view hotel restaurant.
Congratulations to the staff for making our last days in Turkey so pleasurable

Room Tip: We stayed in 605, quiet. Tram out front of hotel, and restaurant on top floor. So back of hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzlemKoyuncu, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Orient Express Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Victor,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.It was really pleasurable meeting you.

We are looking forward to meeting you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#94 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,182 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#139 of 1,149 in Istanbul
390 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,223 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#30 of 1,149 in Istanbul
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Property: Orient Express Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing