We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orient Express Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had no knowledge of this hotel until having it recommended to us by AVIOS. We hadn't asked for a hotel transfer from the Airport, since our 5-night stay apparently didn't entitle us to one: another time we would ask, since, with sizeable luggage, the only practical alternative is some form of taxi. Once we were there, the staff went out of their way to be helpful - dealing with luggage, briefing etc.: later in our visit we were even given valuable help at the counter of a nearby money-changer's, seeking to cash travellers cheques (barely accepted anywhere nowadays, and invariably subject to commission). The Hotel is extremely well located, being within walking distance of many of the principal landmarks, and an easy tram-ride from most of the rest. The rooms, though not large, are exceptionally well fitted, and the whole place runs like clockwork. The WiFi setup is extremely impressive. The compact basement-located indoor swimming-pool is a delight (please see accompanying photos). The roof-top Restaurant for evening meals is excellent (prior booking essential). The bedroom staff are efficient, thoughtful, and accommodating. The Reception staff are invariably ready with excellent advice. The street is a busy one, and it is easy to miss seeing the Hotel from outside. Whilst the overall impression is 3-star, in important respects one receives the near-equivalent of four-star or five-star treatment. We would certainly wish to stay again at this Hotel, and would recommend it very strongly to anyone seeking simple no-frills bed-and-breakfast-type accommodation in the city. We could not imagine having had a more enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: It would worth discussing beforehand how one wishes the beds arranged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_S_de_Chair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,145
    537
    60
    4
    4
See reviews for
359
816
125
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We just finished staying for a week with our adult daughters and a boyfriend. The staff could not have been more wonderful and accommodating. The rooms were spacious enough and beds were firm but comfortable. The bed and bathrooms were impeccably clean. The pool was very refreshing after a day of sightseeing and the breakfasts were very good with a large selection of local foods. We needed laundry done during our stay but the Laundry was closed due to the holiday of Bayrum. The desk staff immediately took care of us and had our laundry back yo us the same day. The street is noisy but never kept us awake ( we were on the 5th floor). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would want a central location in Sultanahmet!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KatRehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights and 5 days. Perfect location, staff was wonderfully helpful. My daughter loved chatting up with the staff. Would definitely recommend this place and go back myself. Good beds and essential amenities including a decent pool. Rooms are a little small as it is in city centre but it's istanbul!! You shouldn't be sitting in the room. Proximity to Gulhane and sirkeci Tram station is fabulous!
Breakfast was great all days. Turkish spread of course but still very good quality. Staff gets a 5 star from me.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Saumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Orient Express Hotel was recommended by a number of our friends who are repeat guests. We have just returned from our first trip to Istanbul and we stayed at the OEH. We were treated to exemplary service, a helpful guest briefing on arrival as to sightseeing options, excellent recommendations and booking service and friendly courtesy by all staff. Comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast and superb roof top restaurant - with lovely views.

Excellent airport transfers both ways.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will join our friends as repeat guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thank you very much for your nice hospitality.
We arrived home safely, its nice to came back with fantastic memories from Istanbul.
On behalf of my Husband and my self, i would like to express our feedback staying at Orient Express hotel.
Firstly when we came, welcoming of all staff was very professional, worm, we feel like family . Atmosphere in the hotel is definitely like at home, nice, cosy. There is nothing that was missed. When we check in is very quickly, but we have been surprised how nice welcome was, explanation about position of the hotel, in 5minutes we got reservation for unforgettable Dervish dancing, reservation for dinner, all have been sorted in 2 seconds. What ever we asked was sorted immediately.
We feel like at home with big family.
Looking forward to see you next year.

Thank you so much for everything.

Kind worm regards

Duska and Momo

Room Tip: We have room on 4floor, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duska S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice Hotel,
Rooms and hotel are quite small and difficult to find but a wonderful restaurant located on the roof. Can be a bit pricy but it is a very nice experience.

Perfect area for seeing all the tourist sights in Istanbul, with a helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited Istanbul for the first time this July 2014...stayed at the Orient Express great hotel, friendly and helpful staff, location perfect and easy to get around even on foot...great food as well on the roof top terrace...will go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonellaTitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#50 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#53 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#145 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Express Hotel

Property: Orient Express Hotel
Address: Hudavendigar Caddesi no 24, Sirkeci, Fatih,, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#40 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Orient Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orient Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Express Istanbul
Hotel Orient Express
Orient Express Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing