We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orient Hostel International
Ranked #14 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this hostel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are always friendly and accommodating, the location is safe, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, breakfast is fresh - I have nothing bad to say about this hostel. Next time I'm in Istanbul, I will definitely be staying at the Orient.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    120
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
20
65
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hostel is located in an awesome area! The staff are super friendly and the bar staff are amazing! Bilo and the rest of the crew are so helpful and make you feel right at home! Would definitely recommend this hostel. Great location close to all the sites and yummy breakfast! Thanks for having us :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neakski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed here twice throughout my 3 week trip through Turkey. Orient hostel is in a perfect position to see the sites, experience the culture and make great friends with the locals. The food was great! Bilo.. aka jedda was the highlight of the stay. Friendly, vibrant and always laughing. Beer is cold and beds are comfortable! I highly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SamOnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Woolamai, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Orient Hostel in the end of June 2014 with four of my friends. We had the best time at the Hostel and the staff was always friendly and really helpful with travels and transport. The location of the place is amazing as well as the rooftop overlooking the old town, Bosphorus and the breakfast. The street was vibrant and had a very jovial atmosphere. The highlight of the stay though was the the bar and restaurant bit of the Hostel. Bilo (Jedddda) was the best host and made us laugh a lot we had some great chats, jokes, shishas and beers in the bar! Will only stay there when I go back to Istanbul. Awesome city with an even better hostel! Go Jeddda

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank onj_71187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

By far THE BEST hostel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Super clean, perfect location in the heart of Istanbul. Only a couple of minutes away from the most historic and top monuments. It was my first time traveling alone, and I last minute decided to add Turkey to my list of places to visit. It was so last minute, I had not planned anything and once I arrived, the city intimidated me just a bit. However, in all honesty if it weren't for the staff of the hostel my trip to Turkey would have not been nearly as AWESOME as it was. They helped my plan my days and organize my stay at Turkey on a budget and make the most of it! I am solo thankful for choosing this hostel to stay at! Everyone I had the pleasure of meeting at the hostel were by far the most genuine, kind hearted people I've come across! And I do not usually write reviews but this hostel and the staff truly do deserve it! Turkey is an amazing country and lacks nothing, and I am glad I had the chance to fully experience it with the help of some of the most amazing people you will ever meet hands down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shabnam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in Istanbul for last 3 days of our journey in Turkey by bicycles. We looked for the hostel in Sultanahmet – in the hearth of old Istanbul. This hostel was the best choise.

The hostel location is absolutely fantastic, only few minutes from the top monuments of the city (Agia Sophia, Sultan Ahmed Mosque, Topkapı Palace), well accessible by a tram. Hostel staff is professional and helpful. The staff provides very good service. From the terrace is nice view over the rooftops, incl. both great mosques, and Bosporus.

Special thanks to staff for their help with our boxes that we use for transport of bicycles in an airplane. Staff helped us with the transfers from/to the airport as well as with box deposition in a luggage room during our journey. This is the only hostel in the center which allowed us to park bicycles inside the hostel (at small courtyard), not on the street (like others). Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms in the highest floor oriented to east side (to Bosporus) are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jara_Krejci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked the Orient Hostel about a month in advance of our trip and arranged a tour of Cappadocia through the tour company there. Staff promptly responded to emails, doing their best to accommodate our tight budget and hectic time line. Upon arriving, we were greeted by genuinely friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, an amazing view and engaging fellow travellers. The tour, which included two over night bus rides, an evening stay in a cave hotel, a balloon ride and a tour of the area, was well organized, a reasonable price and was a great experience. I've stayed in my share of hostels, but the Orient rises to the top of the list for it's overall atmosphere and accommodating staff. I would recommend both staying at the Orient and booking tours through their tour agency.

Room Tip: We stayed in a shared dorm facing the main street which is vibrant and lively most of the night. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenzie553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,200 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,200 in Istanbul
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,200 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,200 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,200 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orient Hostel International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orient Hostel International

Property: Orient Hostel International
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,200 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orient Hostel is situated on the hillside in Sultanahmet, located a few minutes walk from tourist favourites Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. The Orient offers clean accommodation ranging from dorm rooms to private rooms with either shared or private bathrooms. Our attentive and helpful staff, make you welcome with a friendly atmosphere and fun belly-dancing and water-pipe (hookah) nights in the terrace café-restaurant during the high season ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Orient Hostel International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orient Hostel International Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing