We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #188 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Don't believe the pictures! The room was very small and cramped.
Poor quality room! Definitely not 4*
Air con noisy and didn't work on a low setting. TV was broken, telephone handset broken!
Bathroom dark and smelly.
We had booked a double room and We had requested a cot. although said they would have one available, they didn't. They insisted that they were fully booked and so we had to push our beds together in the twin room for the 3 of us to sleep.
Tiny wardrobe space! Just about enough for one person, never mind 3 of us.
The cleaner stopped making up our room after a few days of our stay.
The staff were friendly but we felt pressured to tip as we were made to feel a little guilty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Explorer148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. We have fixed these problems and we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    238
    81
    24
    25
See reviews for
165
301
46
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We booked two rooms which were interconnecting for three children and two adults.The rooms were clean
but the bathroom ceilings were leaking and were also very smelly.
The rooms were very noisy and we got very little sleep we could hear the guests from upstairs and also from the lobby.Everytime someone flushed toilet upstairs we could hear it and our bathroom ceiling would start leaking.The receptionists weren't very helpful.The few plus points were
the breakfast and the breakfast staff
Plus the location.One last thing we were not offered the free afternoon tea and cakes which I later found out were free for everyone.
It should be rated as a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mohammed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. We have fixed these problems and we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

well, two couples - 50 somethings - I did the research and I think they misrepresent the rooms - they show the big ones on the website but, in reality, we had tiny, little rooms. It's tired and shabby, the rug in our bedroom I would not want to put my feet on, but the sheets were clean, However, our friends' room stank of stale tobacco and bad drains. (we got them moved the next day). But, the breakfasts were great and the waiters absolutely lovely - if you want a good feed - there's everything from bread, olives, cereal, omelettes, sweet things, dried fruit, yogurt, juice, tea, coffee, water- and a great rooftop view. I would say great if you are a young something - like a backpacker who wants to do something more than a hostel. THE UPSIDE : can't fault the location - St Sophia, Blue Mosque, The Cistern, Galata Tower (even though they say it's 500m from the hotel, it's more like a mile or so - but still walkable) Topkapi Palace - everything is within the vicinity - which is great - it just depends on what you want from a hotel - OH - AND THERE IS NO ALCOHOL - !!

Room Tip: don't do 404 - a corner room and it's been inhabited by smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiehw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel. We appreciated that you took time to share your experience with us.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

the bathroom was very small, there were no stands for the suitcases, the decor was gaudy, the breakfast was k, the view was terrific, no alcohol was available, wifi was not available in the rooms. this was billed to our tour as a 4-5 star note.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTurkey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. We have fixed these problems and we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

It is an easy five minute walk to the Blue Mosque and all the other major attractions in old Istanbul. The location simply cannot be equaled. The hotel faces a small park so it is quiet and peaceful yet it is only a block from the main street and trams.

The rooms are ornately finished with amazing ceilings and walls. Furnishings and size are very good and the lobby is attractive. A hotel like this is so much more interesting and fun than a cookie cutter chain hotel. All the staff was friendly and attentive. We actually stayed here twice since we came back for one night after touring Turkey and preferred to come here even though an airport hotel might have been more convenient.

The views from the 6th floor restaurant are simply breathtaking, day or night. The breakfasts are very good with a large selection. We had a late dinner there our first night and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The eggplant and tomato sauce starter that was provided with bread was excellent and I don't even like eggplant.

There is no other hotel I will use in Istanbul and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Golden Horn Hotel team we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very grateful for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back . We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This 6 storey hotel overlooks the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus. All of the prime tourist sites in Sultanahmet (old city) are an easy walk. Rooms are small by North American standards but perfectly adequate. Breakfast (included) is generous. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again. It is not the Four Seasons but then at a fraction of the price it represents great value.

Room Tip: Rooms on level 4 and above have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at this wonderful hotel and it exceeded our expectations in almost every respect. The staff were always friendly and they continually put in that extra effort to help. Their English was excellent and the hotel also had two delightful young women on duty in the lobby who were always on hand with travel and tourism advice and assistance.

The location could not be better as a base to discover old Istanbul: right in the centre of the Sultanahmet district and with what must be the best elevated view of the Blue Mosque (and almost as close, the Haghia Sophia). Looking down over the Blue Mosque from the hotel's dining room and balcony in the late evening or with a full-moon as back-drop (see piks) was truly breath-taking!

We generally had breakfast in the dining room and this was fine with an extensive selection of western style options. With the local streets full of restaurants, we dined out for dinner. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were beautifully finished and well-appointed. Perhaps the only point I could criticise is the bathroom in our room. This was quite small and while it did include all the essentials the overall impression was that the bathroom was looking a little tired.

To put that in perspective, this was a minor point in what was a most enjoyable stay. This is a real gem at a good price... highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandanaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel.

We are glad that you are happy with quality of service in our hotel.

Hope to see you back again soon in beautiful Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#202 of 1,154 in Istanbul
394 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#106 of 1,154 in Istanbul
862 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#170 of 1,154 in Istanbul
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Lady Diana Hotel
Lady Diana Hotel
#406 of 1,154 in Istanbul
479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#28 of 1,154 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Sultanahmet
Golden Horn Istanbul
Golden Horn Istanbul
#563 of 1,154 in Istanbul
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Property: Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#123 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#168 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing