We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and good breakfast and location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Ranked #204 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Beautifully decorated and clean hotel rooms. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was big and varied. Stayed as part of a tour group and would definitely stay here again on my own. The blue mosque, hagia Sophia and basilica cistern were all about 10 mins walking distance and the grand bazaar about 15mins. 1 minute walk to the trams.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Boryna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Spent one night at the Golden Horn before meeting my tour group in Istanbuhl. The hotel is VERY close to key sites (Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, Basillica Cistern, and metro stop), making it a highly convenient place to stay. The service was great, the room was fine (for what you paid), and the afternoon tea was a nice touch.

For a sightseeing tourist, I give it high marks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TJinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

When visiting Istanbul for a limited time a central location in the Sultanahmet area is very important. This allows foot access to most of the tourist sites. This hotel is well placed to meet that requirement. The view from the terrace restaurant is panoramic and this is also a major positive. The staff in general are helpful. The breakfast is average but the view more than compensates. I would not eat in the restaurant for dinner we did and it was not good. There are many better options close by. The complimentary afternoon tea is nice. We had a really annoying experience with our private transfer to the airport which was booked through the hotel not arriving at all! So be warned the company they use for hotel transfers is not reliable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is right by the key historic sites, literally a few minutes stroll away. It is also close to some excellent local restaurants and a cute pub called the "cosy pub" where the staff are really friendly and the food (Turkish) is good. Our room was large and clean and had the most awesome direct view onto the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia (we requested this) and out over the sea, pretty romantic. The bathroom was a little bit dated and the shower leaked, but it was fine, we were hardly there. Breakfast was really great - great selection of fresh and cooked stuff and on the roof terrace with amazing views of the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia.

If you're after a quiet romantic place or are coming for the historic sights and want a quiet and relaxed bolthole to come back to then this is a great choice. Staff are really lovely and helpful too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I chose this hotel for my first trip to Istanbul at the end of April and early May 2014. Was a good choice. The hotel is located right "in the action" within minutes of Market Sultanahment representing the historical center with the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and other fascinating places, also with a nice restaurants and the tram station very close too. Yet miraculously is located in a very quiet square so you can enjoy a peaceful sleep. It is a cozy hotel with friendly staff who helped us when we needed (for example they called a taxi for us to go to Aqarium - which is a must see when you come with the kids - , so we paid for the taxi a reasonable price :) The rooms and bathroom are small, but clean. If you dont have quiet neighbors will find, because the rooms do not offer very good sound insulation. However, was not a big problem for us, because almost all the time was quiet. Breakfast, which is ok, is served on the terrace, which offers a beautiful view. You also can enjoy of a great view if you are offered a hotel room at levels 4-5. Even if this was one of the reason for I chose this hotel, I received room 2xx, whose windows overlooked another building, but at least it was a quiet room. Maybe next time I'll be more lucky. What I did not liked was the taste of coffee for breakfast which was not good at all. It's pity because most people start their day drinking coffee and the hotel has such a wonderful view for enjoying a good cup of coffee, even more the Turks are famous for preparing it. I'd be happy to come back soon in Istanbul because it is a wonderful and fascinating metropolis and stay again at Golden Horn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing in the historic city center. The dining room on the sixth floor provides amazing panoramic vintages of the city including Hagia Sopia, the Blue Mosque and the sea of Marmira. The views make it hard to beat. The hotel is decorated in a charming old world style. There are a few quirks to consider in choosing this hotel. The bathroom -particularly the shower is small even by European standards. It is functional - barely. The beds are a bit firm which some will like and others not. Also if you have mobility issues I would not recommend the floor above the lobby (still called first floor) as there is mo readily available elevator access. If location and view are important to you and you can handle the quirks listed above this is a great hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank BBLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Best Wishes,
Tina & Tamara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you want to experience the Sultanahmet district in Istanbul, look no further! Fabulous location with unparalleled views of Blue Mosque , Hagia Sophia, and the Bosphorus. The staff was professional and everyone was friendly and helpful. Even though the room was not large there was an old world charm and elegance that you will not duplicate at this price. Very quiet and clean. The roof top dining terrace was amazing. The location is convenient and within a short walk from all of the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyeugrad1 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff here at Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking time to write such a positive review about your stay at our beautiful hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Deluxe Golden Horn Hotel on your next visit to Istanbul.

Kind regards,
Tina & Tamara Kiguradze

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#218 of 1,160 in Istanbul
396 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#95 of 1,160 in Istanbul
900 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanhan Hotel
Sultanhan Hotel
#136 of 1,160 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#86 of 1,160 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#29 of 1,160 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#320 of 1,160 in Istanbul
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#122 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#167 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £51 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel is a 7 floor modern building with a large lobby area and garden. Located in the heart of historical peninsula Golden Horn Sultanahmet represent the traditional Turkish hospitality melted with comfort and pleasure. Golden Horn Sultanahmet takes its name from the unique place of the Bosphorus; Golden Horn. The Halic (Golden Horn), Bosphorus and Marmara Sea where Istanbul is feeling proud of being Istanbul now and before. Has gradually spread out to the fırther distances from the same historical peninsula, with echoing songs through the history. We invite to Sultanahmet put the crown of Istanbul on. The song will lead the way for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing