We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In my view, the nicest mosque in Istanbul”
Review of Yeni Cami

Yeni Cami
Book In Advance
More Info
US$95.00*
and up
The Magnificent Ottomans - Private Walking Tour
More Info
US$35.21*
and up
Big Bus Istanbul Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #29 of 1,061 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mosque was positioned on a hill overlooking the harbor at Eminonu. Today, the local pigeons make their home in its graceful domes and arches.
efay
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“In my view, the nicest mosque in Istanbul”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Depsite our guidebook being a little critical we thought this was one of the loveliest mosques we saw. Located just in front of the Spice Bazaar and showcasing some gorgeous tile patterns this is definitely worth visiting. It's also more peaceful than some of the other mosques in the historic centre.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank efay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    394
    90
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This Mosque is not the best in the city, however it is for sure worth a visit. It is free, it is also right in front of the Spice Bazar, so why not?
The patium is the most beautiful aspect of this landmark, for my taste of corse.
It is perfect to combine in a tour around the historical center. You can fastly enter, and visit, and it is defenitily worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cath_rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A welcome retreat”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This mosque is located in a massively busy area of town. We walked by and rode by this site numerous time while in town. The crowds outside were intimidating but once inside you felt so secluded. We sat and enjoyed the mosque for well over an hour. It was a weekend afternoon and we were two of about 50-60 visitors. The cross breeze was lovely and the street noises was definitely muffled. It was such a relaxing visit and I loved our visit here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful mosque”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I much prefered Yeni Camii to the Blue Mosque, it was quiet and very atmospheric with few visitors. The Blue Mosque was lovely but heaving with folk and noisy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank loubesbernac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The old New Mosque...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Built on the port area of old Byzantine, the New Mosque actually is like a main gate towards the historical part of Istanbul.
Its silhouette welcomes you in the traditional way with its great main entrance high gates ornated tastefully.
There are so many old and new Istanbul photos with the background of the New Mosque, as one of the symbols of the city. Also, it's a great place for photographers who likes to shoot history and there are so many great angles to take wonderful instants, not only the building but the crowd, as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jadeyu-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Yeni Cami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing