We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alp: Great stylish boutique hotel in heart of Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Ranked #320 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Alp: Great stylish boutique hotel in heart of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved this place. Very helpful and friendly staff and a fantastic roof where you breakfast with an excellent view of the Marmara Sea and of what i assume must have been the Asia side of Istanbul. Alp is a very short walk from Aya Sofya, Sultanahmed and Topkapi. Our room was very nice and if anything the rate was almost cheap for such a great hotel and location, and an excellent breakfast (included in price).I would definitely stay there again.

Neil P, London, UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    69
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
81
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here a total of 4 nights on our arrival to Turkey and then again four weeks later when we were due to fly back home. This hotel is clean and the beds/pillows are very comfortable. The staff (I want to especially mention Mustafa, with whom I enjoyed a number of conversations), are excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast which included a number of different and tasty dips as well as fresh fruit. It's in a great location in Sultanahmet, just minutes from Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. It was a touch pricey for Turkey although I found Istanbul hotels are more expensive than the other cities we visited during our time here. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We felt very fortunate to have stayed at this intimate hotel. Just 2 blocks away from major sites, on a side street off a main street that was full of interesting restaurants. Most importantly, we had not confirmed our reservation there so they were not expecting us that morning after we had disembarked from a cruise. They had one larger room left, which they graciously allowed us to have at the same price as the room we thought we had booked. The host could not have been more helpful or gracious in assisting us with making business calls back to the States and giving us pointers for taxi, airport shuttle, and tour services. Our room was lovely - charming. You could not beat the rooftop breakfast overlooking the Sea of Marmara, view including nearby lighthouse. Would love to return! (Other people at desk were always friendly and willing to answer questions.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Very happy with this hotel! It is more like a small B&B, very centrally locAted on a small, quite side street in the old city area.

As a first timer to Istanbul with only three days, I'm glad I chose to stay here. Here's why:

1. Well priced! Originally I was going to get a private room at a hostel, but chose this instead. Price (55 euro) wasn't that much more a
But having a proper room, with real storage space, my own (clean!!! Modern!! Nice!!) bathroom were worth the extra $$.

2. Location! Istanbul is BIG. Think: NYC or London in the sense that there is no way you're going to be able to see all the highlights or even all the neighborhoods that are great, in a short period of time. As such, I loved how centrally located this hotel was to many of the sites in the old city. You are a 5 min walk to the Palace... Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque, Artista Bazaar, Basilica cistern, the obelisk stones, tram etc.

3. Terrace and lovely breakfast:
Like many other hotels, The Alp guesthouse has a beautiful terrace and great, filling, Turkish breakfast. I'm a vegetarian and I had plenary to eat! Also, the terrace and dining area is always open. I brought up my own lunches and dinners and are them up there.. No worries!

4. Nice, helpful staff. I had lots of questions. They answered all in a helpful and friendly manner. Very eager to please and to make sure your stay is nice.

5. Rooms. In the old city, if you are staying in an old building that has been modernized (as the Alp is) the rooms will be small. My room was small but still accommodated a four poster queen sized bed, dressers, a mini fridge and plenty of storage space in lovely, dark wood, built in closets. I was hardly there anyway and my sleep was great even with my room being in the "basement" area.

7. This place is CLEAN. My bed and bathroom were cleaned daily.

8. This place uses old fashion keys instead of new fangled swipe cards. If you keep Shabbat, this is very helpful!!

Cons: not many but here are a few things you might need to consider:

1. There is no elevator so of stairs are hard for you, stay on the lobby level. Also, it's there flights up a spiral staircase to the terrace.

2. Rooms are small. I didn't find this a problem but if you want to have late night dance parties, there isn't a lot of room here:)

3. There is the tiniest bit of ware and tear on some of the furniture. I didn't find it offensive and it didn't make the place look bad, but is you're looking for the best of the best of the best, this is something to keep in mind.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank travelchik24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

After 2 days in Istanbul we decided to move to a second hotel and found the Hotel Alp Guesthouse. The hotel is amazing, very well situated 5 minutes away from Topkapi palace, the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. It is very clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and made us feel at home. It also has a fantastic breakfast that you can have on the terrace with a wonderful view over the Bosphorus. Definitely a very good place to stay and to come back to!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Remy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel did a fantastic job of combining Turkish hospitality with an epic location for tourists. Just steps from the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, we really felt the charm of Istanbul being so close to such historically relevant landmarks. The Alp Guesthouse staff were warm and friendly, making sure we had everything we needed and that we were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the terrace view was breathtaking. It is also right next to Akbiyik Caddesi where you can find shops, restaurants, and bars. Overall, you can't beat the value of this hotel for the cost. I highly recommend it, and I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DDas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews in Tripadvisor and found them to be completely accurate: Helpful staff, great location, wonderful breakfast in a scenic setting, comfortable beds. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Attayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sebnem
Hotel Sebnem
#340 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#33 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#211 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#224 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#231 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#328 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alp Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alp Guesthouse

Property: Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi Adliye Sokak No 4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#142 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alp has been successfully renovated after a period of 6 months filled with extensive labor and love. The exterior view of the building was completely redone by using red wood. Rooms have been cleaned, painted and decorated. Beds have been changed with new, custom-made, Ottoman-style ones. The terrace has gone through an overhaul to better suit the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alp Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing