We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Bad Choice at All”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Ranked #321 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a Bad Choice at All”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Compared with a different hotel on the outskirts of town I later stayed at for business meetings, this hotel was a joy.

Cons?
* The staff don't speak very good English, though they try very hard.
* The WiFi is lame...speed and signal aren't as reliable as they ought to be.
* Television channels don't provide a clear screen for the English-language networks (fuzzy/static, but serviceable).
* You WILL hear the call to prayer (for me a Con, maybe for you a Pro).

Pros?
* Friendly staff.
* Clean rooms.
* Comfortable beds.
* A/C that cools the room to the temperature you set on the thermostat. (Though it blows on the bed some, which could be annoying.)
* Breakfast is decent, with a nice view from the rooftop terrace.
* Very close to the Sultanahmet attractions.

Next time in Istanbul, I will seriously consider the Alp.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFB30328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    69
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
81
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel Alp is the perfect location to easily access all of the sites, tram and restaurants. The staff is very helpful in securing taxis, giving restaurant suggestions, carrying bags and helping with directions. We stayed here in May, 2014 and plan to return. It is a lovely spot with a view of the Marmara from breakfast on the rooftop terrace each morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy0945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Alp as a family several weeks ago after a disastrous holiday rental didn't work out. they were kind and gracious and very helpful. The rooms were clean and the view from the one at the front of the hotel was lovely. the Aircons worked well. The rooftop terrace was fantastic with a view over the Bosphorus for 180 degrees. The breakfast was lovely as was the service. Special thanks to Mustafa who not only gave us a great room rate but excellent advice on letting go of a past bad experience! We would definitely recommend Hotel Alp to others for its location, value and quality service. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel Alp is a number one choice in Istanbul.
The rooms are spotless, staff very friendly and the breakfast room views are incredible.
We stayed for 4 nights.
The location of the hotel makes it possible to visit all sites within a total of 5 minute walk in any direction.

I would also recommend the use of an airport shuttle (Euros 10 per person) as getting from the airports into Istanbul is not easy. Money very well spent.

I would also strongly recommend the use of a guide for your first day in Istanbul to see the main sites and learn about the history of this amazing City. We used Mr Necip Edis (info@turkeytouragency.com) who not only took us on a great walking tour but also gave excellent advice re other sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Europeisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are looking for a clean comfortable hotel within minutes from the main tourists sights this is a good choice. The real gem is the roof terrace, where breakfast is served, which has wonderful views over the Sea of Marmaris. The staff were very helpful in making recommendations for restaurants all of which turned out to be great choices. Very good value for the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Shewholunches2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We loved this place. Very helpful and friendly staff and a fantastic roof where you breakfast with an excellent view of the Marmara Sea and of what i assume must have been the Asia side of Istanbul. Alp is a very short walk from Aya Sofya, Sultanahmed and Topkapi. Our room was very nice and if anything the rate was almost cheap for such a great hotel and location, and an excellent breakfast (included in price).I would definitely stay there again.

Neil P, London, UK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here a total of 4 nights on our arrival to Turkey and then again four weeks later when we were due to fly back home. This hotel is clean and the beds/pillows are very comfortable. The staff (I want to especially mention Mustafa, with whom I enjoyed a number of conversations), are excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast which included a number of different and tasty dips as well as fresh fruit. It's in a great location in Sultanahmet, just minutes from Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. It was a touch pricey for Turkey although I found Istanbul hotels are more expensive than the other cities we visited during our time here. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sebnem
Hotel Sebnem
#343 of 1,129 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#34 of 1,129 in Istanbul
805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#219 of 1,129 in Istanbul
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#232 of 1,129 in Istanbul
610 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alilass Otel
Alilass Otel
#243 of 1,129 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#332 of 1,129 in Istanbul
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alp Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alp Guesthouse

Property: Hotel Alp Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi Adliye Sokak No 4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#142 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alp has been successfully renovated after a period of 6 months filled with extensive labor and love. The exterior view of the building was completely redone by using red wood. Rooms have been cleaned, painted and decorated. Beds have been changed with new, custom-made, Ottoman-style ones. The terrace has gone through an overhaul to better suit the needs of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alp Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing