We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sebnem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sebnem
Ranked #271 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We wanted to stay at the Sebnem in 2010 but I waited too long to book. This year I booked early for a garden room, but waited too long to book for the first part and had a regular double. The double was nice with wood floors, flat screen and good free wifi. However, I will be sorry I wrote this review when I am unable to book the garden room. It was amazing! In addition to the above, there was a small garden with a table and chairs and a leather couch under cover with an overhead heater. (This was mid October which was unusually cold and rainy). I will book this room for next year.

Yes, some of the bathrooms are small, but they are impeccably clean as are the rooms.

The staff is very accommodating I had organized a group of 6 friends and friends of friends to travel. Part of the group was running in the Istanbul Marathon races. We needed to be at the buses by 7:15am. Breakfast started at 8AM, but the staff had coffee for us at 6:30am on race day.

The location is perfect. Walking distance to the Blue Mosque and off the main street with restaurants for all budgets and taste.

The upstairs terrace has inside and outside facing the sea. During the rainy days, it was cozy and pleasant.

Room Tip: The garden room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandie-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

Sebnem Hotel, in Sultanahmet it is probably one of the best choice.
10 euros more expensive than the similar rest, it is worth going: confortable rooms (bed but especially there's enough room to talk and breath. Similar hotels, even closer to Sebnem, cost 10 euros less, but no way to walk in your room).

ROOMS
Clean and nice. Good taste furnished. The one we got had no particular view.
Bathroom is ok. Clean and wide. No window.

BREAKFAST
A lot and various. Similar hotels, even closer to Sebnem, give you a depressing choice.
Here is delicious and fresh (cake and fruit). 10 euros more, it is worth.

TERRACE
Beautiful, on the sea. Look like a Turkish Budda Bar.
Can go there at any time till midnight to have a drink.

MANAGER AND WAITERS
Beautiful people.

10 euros more, it is worth.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar. The bigger as everywhere in the world, is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beatmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I had a very pleasant stay at Sebnem. The location is good, the room, albeit small, was impeccable as well as the bathroom. They have an excellent breakfast in the morning. The terrace is a very cool area to relax, unwind and enjoy the view after a long day. The view of the bay is spectacular from there.
Their location is perfect in Sulthanamet. Very close to the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia and Topkapi palace. The folks at the front desk are really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
A couple of pet peeves though with the Sebnem:
All their prices are quoted in Euros. As I told them they seem to forget that they are a turkish hotel and that a lot of their customers are not from Europe.
On the same prices issue, the drinks (in Euros) on the terrace are rather overpriced (5 Euros for a Beer or 3 Euros for a soda are totally over the top).
All in all, definitely a good option in Sultahnamet.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms behind the kitchem. A bit too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebnemhotel, Owner at Hotel Sebnem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. However, we would like to modify some of your incorrect information on your review.

All prices at our hotel are quoted in Euro; but there is no obligation to pay for the bill in Euro. All of our customers are able to pay in any currency.

On the same price issue, we charge 4 € for beer ( not 5 € ) giving some dried nuts and fruits with which you will probably be required extra charge when you get it out there and 1 € for soda ( not 3 € ) as all customers can see the "Price List" on the terrace.

Hüseyin MANAV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have stayed at the Sebnem on three occasions now and will definitely be back if ever we are in Istanbul again. A delightful small hotel with lovely rooms, the best breakfast, lovely staff and a fabulous location. What more could you want?

It's in a quiet street just seconds from the Sultanahmet restaurant strip, has a gorgeous roof terrace with views of the Sea of Marmara, comfy seating both covered and outdoor, three laptops plus wifi available. Our absolute favourities are the two garden rooms - book one if you can!

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a gorgeous private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimmerbellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I was lucky enough to get 7 contiguous nights at this hotel for my entire stay in Istanbul. The staff was absolutely wonderful. Helpful and friendly and so sweet with other guests' small children. I enjoyed hanging out on the upstairs terrace, which was enclosed and cozy warm on blustery days.

The room was a great size, kept very clean, and was quiet. The bed and duvet were fantastically comfortable. Breakfasts were great and the variety of pastries was amazing. Wonderful place to have as home base while away from home. Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed in Sebnem back in July 2010, and now that I'm back in Istanbul and not staying there I'm so bummed! They have the best breakfasts, and I dream about the bowls of fresh cherries they'd set out. The rooms are small and can be a bit noisy, but I'd take it in a second with the view from their terrace. The staff are very friendly, and it was a small and pleasant refuge from the cruise ship hordes and summer heat.

Room Tip: The room with it's private garden/terrace is smaller but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank govinda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed at 3 hotels in this part of Istanbul (Sebnem (best), Asmali (worst), Dara (almost as good as Sebnem)). This hotel is in a great neighborhood which is brimming with restaurants & is easy to find. The hotel staff were as helpful as they could be. Were sent here by Haci at Magic Valley Tours, & he booked most of our rooms in Istanbul & Cappadocia. Would recommend Haci too - very professional & trustworthy. Anyway, all good about the hotel: cheerful room, completely clean, nice rooftop restaurant for breakfast. Laptops available for guest use.

Room Tip: Only downside was street was a little noisy (howling cats, etc.) so earplugs are a good idea but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolarjev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#386 of 1,175 in Istanbul
491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#263 of 1,175 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#302 of 1,175 in Istanbul
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#21 of 1,175 in Istanbul
870 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#108 of 1,175 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Empress Zoe
Hotel Empress Zoe
#44 of 1,175 in Istanbul
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sebnem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sebnem

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adiye Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sebnem Hotel is a 15 room, tastefully decorated, well kept hotel in the heart of the old historical principals such as The Blue Mosque, The Saint Sophia, The Topkapi Palace, Underground Cistern etc. All rooms are equipped with private bathroom , 24 hours hot water and direct dial phone. Fully air-conditioned rooms. Continental breakfast is served on the terrace where you can enjoy the panoramic view of Marmara Sea. Recommended by many principal guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sebnem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebnem Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing