We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a hidden gem”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #75 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly a hidden gem”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Ambassador for 4 nights in May 2014. We couldn't of found a better situated hotel right by the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. It was extremely clean, we stayed four nights and the bed linen was changed after two nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room must be one of the best in Istanbul. The bedrooms are small but really you can't expect large rooms in these old buildings. The bathroom was small but adequate. I would definitely go back there and will be recommending it to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank classybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Guests,

It is wonderful to hear that you had such great experience in our hotel. Thank you for sharing those experiences with other and recommend our hotel on tripadvisor.

We are looking forward to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    317
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
289
346
86
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Ambassador is a gem of an hotel. The views from the rooftop terrace cannot be beaten in Istanbul. The location is perfect being a short stroll from all the major sights of the city. The staff are friendly and helpful.
The style is modern/boutique and the rooms, whilst small, are clean and comfortable. You need to remember that the rooms are just for sleeping in as any spare time you have should be spent on the rooftop where the views are gob-smacking! The Hagia Sopia and Blue Mosques are right there and the Marmara Sea is just beyond them.
Don't complain about the noise of the call to prayer. The hotel is right next to a mosque and there is a call to prayer at dawn. It is the same wherever you are in Istanbul so be prepared. Personally, I slept through it every morning because I walked so much during the day and was properly tired each night!
Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was a delight each day and the waiter, Segin, was very attentive both at breakfast and in the late afternoon/early evening when we returned for drinks on the terrace and to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: No views from the second floor room (just a wall!) but we hardly spent any time in the room. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Guests,

we are happy to have made your stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

The entire team would love to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here (a mature couple and a single lady) for 3 nights at the start of May and were so pleased with the choice we had made. The welcome at reception was so welcoming and as we were checking in we were given lovely apple tea and cake. The rooms ( a double and a twin) were good - small, but clean and comfortable and everything we needed for a city break when we were planning to be out and about exploring. The air conditioning was working, the showers were good and the storage was fine. An extra chair or stool in the 2 person room would have been helpful for laying out clothes for 2 people but it was a minor point. On our first morning ...well...we went for breakfast and were blown away, what a fantastic view from the rooftop terrace, eating a fantastic breakfast prepared by Daria ( the lovely breakfast cook), so much choice - breads, cakes, omelettes, salads, yoghurts, fresh fruit, cereals - it was a perfect start to the day and the service from Sezgin was so warm and friendly. Thank you both so much. The evening service in the rooftop restaurant and the bar was equally good and delivered by a lovely guy whose name I don't remember (Sorry A*). We had a bit of a problem with our arranged transport when we were leaving for the airport and the hotel sorted it out for us. All in all this is a great hotel because of the location, the service and the breakfast (not necessarily in that order!) We would highly recommend it and can find no negatives at all. The only regret we have is that we had no time to use the spa facilities.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and the 3rd floor and the third floor and had no problems at all regarding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Guests,

English

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service and the team’s hospitality.

Once again, we appreciate your effort and have been honoured to serve you. All of us look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I absolutely can recommend this hotel for a city trip to Istanbul. The hotel is located in an area surrounded of numerous restaurants and bars. Most of Istanbul's famous sightseeings can be visited closed by in a short walking distance.
The view of the rooms is bad, we had a look at the neighbour hotels wall in 50cm distance. The room itself is very clean, has an approriate size and really good furniture. Bathroom is very modern and erverything operated successfully. The room is not that silent - you can hear your neighbours, the air conditions outside as well as the muezzin at 5 o'lock in the morning.
Breakfast is very delicious and varied each day. The restaurant is placed at the top of the hotel so that visitors have an amazing view on the Hagia Sophia, the blue mosque as well as on the Bosporus. In addition the hotel serves an afternoon tea with home made cakes what is perfect to relax and take a short breack from sightseeing.
Hotel staff is very helpful, the service is great.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation.

Although the rooms have no nice view, you will agree that the view from the terrace and our services are making up for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saraota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Ambassador is right in the heart of the old city of Istanbul. We could walk or take the tram everywhere. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bed was comfortable and pillow were good. The breakfast was very good with a wide variety of food offered and homemade omelets not to mention the incredible view of the Blue Mosque. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Even though we could only stay one night, they let us leave out bags there for the day and gave us a parting gift of delicious candy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and accommodation. Our entire team is looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Incredible location, pleasant staff, and very comfortable, functional, and stylish hotel. The breakfast buffet was pretty amazing too. The area is very touristy, but it's hard to beat a view overlooking Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Several of the restaurants right outside the hotel served fantastic food as well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank intl_localist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review and hope to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Ambassador Hotel for six nights in April, and we could not have been happier with our stay. Particularly noteworthy is the level of service at this gem of a place. Everyone--including the front desk staff, the cleaning staff, the sweet, older woman who helps with breakfast service, the hamam attendant--bends over backwards to make their guests feel welcome and at home. Speaking of breakfast, it is fantastic. A very large assortment of Turkish foods to choose from as well as made-to-order omelettes and crepes. We ate our breakfast each morning out on the incredible terrace, which overlooks the very heart of Sultanhamet: the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, the Bosphorus--the view of Istanbul is to die for. We had booked a double room but were generously upgraded to a triple--what a treat. Rooms are well-appointed--nothing super luxurious, but very comfortable and clean. Good mix of people staying at the hotel: families, couples, friends, old and young. I can't recommend this hotel enough. I feel I should stop gushing so that it remains a bit of an undiscovered gem, but I owe the staff my uniformly positive review. They really do everything they can to make your stay one that you will remember. I wish I could recall every staff member's name for proper recognition but I do want to acknowledge Sezgin who was particularly friendly and professional. Again, everyone at the hotel is a delight.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise but you may get a friendly visit from one of the many cats that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eichings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for your recommendations.

We are extremely delighted to have made such a positive impression and look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,141 in Istanbul
293 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,141 in Istanbul
750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#114 of 1,141 in Istanbul
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
289 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#25 of 1,141 in Istanbul
659 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#110 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing