We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why would you go anywhere else?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #71 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why would you go anywhere else?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I arrived with my partner in the early evening and was greeted at the front desk by Aziz. On arrival, he suggested some activities for us over the 5 days that we were staying in Istanbul, including a Bosphorous tour. Of course, this was our first few moments in Istanbul, so we weren't sure precisely of the value that we should be looking for, but the brochure that he gave us offered what seemed liked a good tour at a reasonable price, so we booked in.

I must say, that the quality of the tour was only the first reflection upon the quality of service and integrity of Aziz. During our stay, he constantly offered us tea and refreshments, gave us sage advice on where to see the semazen, where to eat (Hamdi and Haji Abdullah) and when to go to certain spots.

He paid for our coffee, and my beard trim, all as part of the hospitality at the Ambassador Hotel. He even showed us around to lamp and carpet shops (which we expressed an interest in), where there was no pressure to buy.

The great location, terrace and food offerings of the hotel have already been addressed by other travellers, so I won't go into them here. Suffice to say, I was very happy with the hotel experience. Playing chess, with a few Efes, in the afternoon sun on the rooftop terrace overlooking the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, with a backdrop of the Bosphorous, was definitely a highlight of my trip. Enjoying breakfast in the same setting was equally grand.

But I do not think that I can speak highly enough of the grace, hospitality and kindness shown by Aziz during our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the alleyway, during Ramadan, and I don't think I heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

We are happy to have made your stay in Istanbul a pleasant one. Thank you for the generous compliments and for taking time to share your experiences.

All of us thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    303
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
280
334
82
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very nice hotel , with good breakfast , friendly staff and clear rooms. Perfect location and good price.
Very nice hotel , with good breakfast , friendly staff and clear rooms. Perfect location and good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sopia-Sopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and looking forward to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalunya
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Really well located in the old area. Very close to main attractions, few minutes walk.
Easy to reach by tram from Ataturk airport, Sultanahmet station at 1min. Full of restaurants and shops in the area.
Terrace with amazing views.
Room a little bit noisy due to refrigerator and air conditioned.
We recommend upper rooms to avoid evening noise from street restaurants.
Clean.
Complete breakfast with full of local specialities.
We repeat if come back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Choose upper rooms to avoid evening noise from street restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarigolaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed stay in the Ambassador Hotel and looking forward to welcome you back some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location just a short walk to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque and nestled in the back streets among lots of restaurants however we were not disturbed by noise on the fourth floor. The room was basic but had tea and coffee facilities and AC. The beds were a little narrow but comfortable enough.

The roof views are fabulous! Breakfast is on the roof and you can choose to sit outside or inside in the ac.
Everyone at the hotel was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Ambassador Hotel and look forward to meet with you again.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The ambassador hotel is hands down the best located hotel in Istanbul. Stayed for 8 nights. Located smack in the middle of the historic center and at the same time right next to the Sultanahmet tram station. Terrace has wonderful views of Haghia Sophia and Sultan Ahmet mosque. What makes this hotel wonderful is the staff, Umit and Derya are possibly the best breakfast staff I have ever encountered, they exceeded all of our expectations, and you feel as if you are having breakfast in a michelin restaurant. Umit manages the breakfast area like a true professional, and Derya prepares the best made to order dishes. Sinan and Hasan make up a great front desk, are very helpful, and will answer all your questions. Housekeeping was marvelous and very considerate. Will not hesitate at all in booking again. Wonderful experience

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. We are delighted to read the positive feedback on the breakfast service, overall facilities and the team’s hospitality.

Once again, we appreciate your effort and have been honoured to serve you. All of us look forward to your return very soon.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel one week. Everything was perfect. The hotel is situated in the center of the old town, surrounded from Cafés, restaurants, shops. The Sultanahmet tram stop is 2-3 minutes from the hotel and tourist bus stop. The hotel has a lovely terrace with a beautiful view of the Blue Mosque, the Marmara Sea, etc. it's very pleasant to take his breakfast there.
From the perspective of hygiene, everything was on top, they chang us the bath towels every day! Every evening when we returned to our room, a new "sculpture" was waiting for us on our bed It was made from towels, and was different every time !! It was too cute ...
The personal was very nice, the breakfast was huge, the pick up service from the airport worked without any problem ... thank you all for this wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are happy to have made your stay in Istanbul a pleasant one and looking forward to welcome you back some time.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay here for two nights. The room is not big, but comfortable for 2 adults and 2 kids. The location is very convenient and close to restaurants, Sultanahmet tram stop, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern, Blue Mousque and Topkapi Palace. We will stay here again when we visit Istanbul in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbassadorManager, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this pleasant review.

We are glad you enjoyed your experience and look forward to welcoming you back again some day.

Warm Regards,

Ambassador Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#19 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#106 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: Divanyolu Ticarethane Sokak No: 19, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#42 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#56 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#126 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambassador Hotel is a first class boutique hotel located in downtown Sultanahmet. The Hotel just a few steps away from the most historical sights (as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Museum for Turkish and Islamic Art etc.) and nice shopping facilities (as Grand and Spice Bazaar etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing