We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for a good price.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pamphylia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pamphylia
Ranked #424 of 1,014 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a good price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Hotel is perfectly located next to all main attractions..Gulhane tram stop was next to the hotel so that we could travel conveniently with the kids..We got a huge family room which was very comfortable. Thank to all very friendly and helpfull staf..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveforistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    37
    27
    16
    29
See reviews for
25
46
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Paphylia is one of the cheapest hotels out there in the heart of Sultanahmet. After speaking to a local, we had found out that other hotels nearby charge about £100-£300 per night.
The best thing about this hotel is the terrace. The rooftop terrace overlooks the Topkapi Palace musuem and there is a magnificent view of the Hagia Sophia in the night.
Please dont expect to get a five star service, you get what you pay for. The breakfast served daily are fresh bread, green and black olives, salami, cheese, cakes, eggs aswell as tea and coffee.
The only downside to the hotel is the very small toilet and showers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruhul786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auberry, CAlifornia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of the Old District of Istanbul, in the Sultanahmet area. Its location is excellent! The staff at the hotel is very courteous and helpful. They speak either some or quite a bit of English, depending on who's on-shift. The front desk staff helped us by looking up conversion rates, checking our flight status, and arranging for a driver to pick us up at the airport when we arrived (at no extra cost!). They balked a bit when it came to helping with overnight bus reservations, but we figured that out on our own.
The room was pretty clean but required some maintenance: the safe was not attached to the floor (meaning, it's not safe at all!) and the door on the tiny shower didn't close well, causing some water overflow. But, we didn't come to Istanbul to stay in our hotel room, so these issues were small.
Lastly, the included breakfast was nice and the rooftop terrace has stunning views of the city, especially Hagia Sofia. The hotel has wifi, too, which was a lifesaver when it came to letting the family know we had arrived and were doing well.

Room Tip: Check Euro/US$/Turkish Lira conversion ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Concombrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

This hotel is situated in a superb location, close enough to walk into Sultanahmet .
Hotel inside is beautifull, clean and spotless. Our room was lovely, and the bed was really comfortable. Nothing negative to say about this hotel, will definetely be returning.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

The location is great. The staff are nice enough and do their best. The problem is with the owner and lack of upkeep.

Everything else sucks. Dirty. Old. Broken furniture. Tiny beds. Tiny rooms. Noisy. No internet in rooms (contrary to their ad). The telephone cables weren't even there -- the 'phone' is just for show. Etc., etc., etc. Avoid this hotel. Nothing can save it except a complete gutting and renovation. 2-star, max (maybe 1).

I was outraged to see Hotel Pamphylia claim their 'regular rate is 150 Euros/night.' That is a fraudulent claim. Walk-in rate was 50 Euros, and even that is way over-priced.

TripAdvisor has stringent warnings about 'review fraud,' which is great. But it shows Hotel Pamphylia as a 3-star hotel with 64% favorable ratings. I have to wonder if it somehow slipped through their filter?

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiamK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

First and foremost I must utterly complain that the hotel did not honor the agreement to accept credit card for paying fees upon checkout. This rule was clearly specified in the contract through istanbulhotels.com during my online reservation.
Hence I was forced to pay by cash exactly at checkout!

My other complaints might be due to the 3-star ranking of the hotel but nonetheless, the customers should expect to have sheets that actually fit the double-bed! Even if there was no mattress padding under the low quality sheets that perpetually came off the mattress.

No Wi-Fi service was available in our room as advertised online. Other smaller problems:
TV and fridge barely worked. Towels were not changed daily. The shower door leaked water to the floor outside.

Subordinate staff related to housekeeping and the bellboy were all friendly and courteous. But the daytime front desk staff, the concierge was rude, and to my disbelief kept mentioning repeatedly that "I must pay soon!" on a number of occasions, a few days into our 1-week stay, and had absolutely NO knowledge of English and could be of NO help even in simplest form of English communication, asking directions or other info.

As for the buffet breakfast, it was poor and low quality in every aspect.

A well-kept promise of timely airport pickup and accommodating my wife and I at our predawn arrival (with a temporary room to stay), is however highly appreciated. And I can't thank her enough for this.
The above criticism, though, withstanding.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AxidentalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

I will try to give a factual review of the hotel, rather than going on a rant about how bad it was! We had two rooms whilst staying here, so the review is a combination of both rooms.
As with one of the previous reviews, the only reason we stayed was because we had pre-booked and already paid (via and agent) and was told the hotel was full so didn't have any other rooms.

HOTEL GOOD POINTS:
- excellent location for the tourist attractions
- right next to Gulhane tram station
- clean bedding & towels
- clean floor, sink and toilet
- reception area nice

HOTEL NEUTRAL POINTS:
- only 1 towel each (bath towel, no hand towel or mat)
- only 1 pillow per guest
- rooms very small, couldn't walk round both sides of the bed
- no bed side table
- one light in the room, in centre, only one switch next to the door
- no drinks/water available
- stayed 4 nights, but didn't try breakfast so can't comment on that

HOTEL BAD POINTS (see photos) :
- says room service available on their website, but we couldn't get any
- both TV's didn't work properly, 1 due to faulty remote, other due to Cable wiring hanging out of wall, picture only appeared if you held it in the socket (maintenance came to look and held it in socket as well)
- electical trunking in both rooms all broken and wires exposed (see picture)
- Shower door, room1 : didn't meet in middle, 6 inch gap when showering = soaking bathroom. Shower tray not flat, raised in middle, and sounded like it would crack
- shower in room no 2: shower door fell of hinges first time we closed it. shower screen very moudly at bottom (see picture)
- electrical wires hanging out of walls (see picture)
- both fridges not cold
- portion of stairs near breakfast room unlit, therefore couldnt' use without aid of my own torch
- Lift had no interior door, therefore you could touch the moving wall as it went up and down.
- sheet in first room was ripped
- plaster blown on room no 2 walls
- both bathroom lights had no cover, bare bulb and bare wires (see photo)
- hair-dryer fixings in room no 2 had broken, so it had been rested on top of mirror (waiting to fall into the water in sink below!)
- curtain in room no 2 only covered 2/3 of window, a nice treat for the hotel opposite whose restaurant looked into our room (with floor to ceiling glass walls). Had to keep light off whilst changing.
- Curtain in room number 2 had 1 foot rip in the middle of it (see photo)

Room Tip: Don't stay if you have children, too dangerous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rola-cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#475 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Sultanahmet
Amisos Hotel
Amisos Hotel
#557 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hypnos Design Hotel
Hypnos Design Hotel
#187 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#433 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Sultanahmet
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#251 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#138 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pamphylia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pamphylia

Property: Hotel Pamphylia
Address: Ebu Suud Cad. No 8 | Sirkeci-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #424 of 1,014 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pamphylia 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Pamphylia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pamphylia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing