We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again”
Review of Erguvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Erguvan Hotel
Ranked #142 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“I would stay there again”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The location, experience, and service were outstanding for a small size hotel. Very friendly accessible accommodating and helpful staff. Erguvan hotel added value to our trip we got exactly what we were looking for, the culture, the cleanliness and the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyaldaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    192
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
94
205
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We (2 adults with a 15 yr old daughter) just spent 4 days at the Erguvan Hotel in Istanbul and could not have wished for anything better. The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk to transportation, Blue Mosque and overall centre of the old town, yet very quiet compared to similar hotels in the area. The hotel itself is small with a lot of personality (in a good way). You get to know the staff and they are very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was lovely (typical turkish breakfast with enough selection for everyone) especially because its served on the top floor with a fantastic view. The internet connection was great, a must when travelling with a teenager. Our room was on the top floor, really nice and clean. Aircon worked well. Bathroom was great, lots of room and hot water. The hotel helped us organize drop off and pick up of reasonably priced laundry service. The taxi to the airport can be picked up right in front on the street and the current price (to Ataturk) is about 40 lira. For more adventurous souls, one can take a combination of tram and metro (really easy) for 6 lira. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I'm a solo traveler and have stayed at some questionable places in Turkey, however, Erguvan Hotel blows all of the other hotels out of the water. I usually go in with little expectations so that I'm not disappointed, but there is nothing about this hotel that could disappoint. The staff was extremely hospitable. The manager even gave me a free map of Istanbul and marked which places I should see since I was only staying in Istanbul for two nights. I got up to my room (an interior room), and didn't have much of a view from the window, but it did overlook the hotel's garden patio. The room was very clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. Central air! A nice bathroom, tv, a minifridge, hardwood floors. The breakfast on the roof terrace facing the Blue Mosque was replete with choices. One of the staffmembers accidently spilled food on my table and plate and he felt really bad. So he had the chef make me fresh eggs over medium. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I had an interior room with not much of a view, just the central courtyard. Stay on the west exterio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunwarrior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family would definitely stay at his hotel again. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us some great tips and advice for touring around Istanbul. Only a short walk from many of the major tourist attractions which is a real bonus and many fabulous restaurants in walking distance.
The breakfast is in the rooftop overlooking the water and is all you need to get the day started, plenty of variety.The rooms are clean and have everything you need. Excellent pick up service from the airport as well which is always handy after a long flight. I would highly recommend the stay at this hotel, you will love it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxc534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I would very probably stay here again. Really close to Blue Mosque, so it's an easy location if you're cabbing around. Apparently they overbooked so they sent us to another place that was a bit of a weird walk (Lalin) but they covered the cab there and also retrieved our bags in the morning and faithfully put them up in our room for the following three nights. About 10 minutes walking from the closest tram stop. Cigma at the front desk was great and helpful all the time. They do laundry (but, as anywhere, do your delicate stuff by hand!). Overall I really liked this place. There's also often a cat on the front mat to ignore you completely when you return and to not care at all about your day's adventures.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarasMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Erguvan is just off Sultanahmet Square. Great location.The hotel provides a full breakfast on the top floor, including a terrace which has great views of the Borphorus and parts of the city. Rooms are small but clean and fine. The staff is fantastic. Mine Yavuz is the concierge and is extremely knowledgeable and helpful -- whatever you want to see or do, Mine is the go-to person. The receptionist Ciigclen is also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

The location of Erguvan Hotel is hard to beat. It's only minutes away by foot to the Blue Mosque. The nearest tram station is 7 minutes away and you can walk to the Grand Bazaar. Also, the breakfast spread is heavenly -- Fresh-baked breads, made to order omelette, assortment of cheeses, fresh juice, and several superb varieties of olives.

However, what sets Erguvan Hotel apart from the rest is its cleanliness. The mattress and bed sheets didn't smell like mildew and the upscale amenities in the bathroom were spotless.

It pays to be friendly with the staff because they'll take care of all your sightseeing and travel requests. The receptionist suggested a sightseeing itinerary, highlighted the best routes to take, and wrote the customary cab fares on the map. Tell the taxi driver how much you are willing to pay to your destination BEFORE you get into the cab. Unless you are Chuck Norris or very adventurous, don't go out solo after dark.

Room Tip: Rooms to the interior of the hotel are generally quieter. Show up early for breakfast when everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6sigmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#167 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#171 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erguvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erguvan Hotel

Property: Erguvan Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Cad. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Erguvan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, family-run hotel in the center of Istanbul's historical attractions with comfortable and clean rooms, suites, lobby-bar terrace. The Erguvan Hotel is a special-class hotel located 15 miles from Istanbul Ataturk Havalimani Airport. This brand-new hotel is only 50 meters far from historical areas with high-quality and the prices are lower than of the similar range hotels. It is at the heart of the historical district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Erguvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing