We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel with extra special service”
Review of Erguvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Erguvan Hotel
Ranked #123 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had email contact with the Manager Okan Ayvatas before we flew to Istanbul and state my request for a room and airport transfer. i would say he is very professional and tried his best to grant my request and everything went very smoothly including airport pick up and return transfer. the moment we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Murat and told us that our room is ready and serve us a welcome drink and gave us a map of Istanbul and some important information about the city.
Our room was exactly what i requested a twin bed and a view to the sea of Marmara on the highest floor. room is very clean with a mini bar and coffee making facilities. Aircondition was working well which you can also regulate to your desired temperature. toilet and bath is clean with necessary toiletries which you will find in a four star hotel. room was cleaned everyday and the towel were change , the size of the room and bathroom is not really that large but just enough for two people to move around , to think this is small family hotel with excellent service. Wifi was working perfectly everywhere in the house with our smart phone.
Breakfast is really good , you have everything you need for to start your day. i have to mention an occassion where they really did their best for the guest. the breakfast normally start at 8 am but since we had a tour the next day that start at 8:15 we requested for an early breakfast at 7:45 if possible so we wont be rushing to catch our Bus, so we went for breakfast and there was already warm sausages and eggs ready for us, i would say the personnel will go out of their way to please their guest and they are always happy to help with a smile in their faces not just superficial smiles but you can feel it really comes from the heart with an honest intention.
we had a million dollar view to the blue Mosque and the Marmara sea every morning at the breakfast terrace. attention! if you are having breakfast at the open terrace do not leave your food unattended because the Sea Gull will snap your food and fly away laughing at you. we had this funny experience one morning and i thought i have to warn the other guest so they will be aware of it.
Hotel location: it is near all tourist attractions in Sultanahmet , all walking distance to Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar.
i would like to thank all the personnel of this lovely hotel from cleaning staff to the manager for making our visit to Istanbul a very successful one and looking forward to see you again in our next visit to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Atil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Due last minute plan for this Istambul discovering, I found this hotel via a particular deal.
The location of the hotel is very convenient for tourism as close from many sites.
For the other parts of the City, the tramway is not so far on foot (but street is steep so my comment is valid if you like walking only).
The staff has been really kind and helpful, the room was somehow small but ok for a few nights stay.
The breakfast was great. The outstanding view for the roof terrace was a special treat to start the day on the best way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank M_i_k_e_GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

From the moment you arrive at the Erguvan Hotel and are offer a complimentary drink and have a chat about your plans for your stay, you leave any travel dramas you might have had behind you and feel totally relaxed, ready to enjoy your stay. This hotel is small enough that the staff always have time for you. Whether it is getting recommendations for your evening meal or just finding out how the trams work, the staff are always available to patiently assist.
Breakfasts are good and from the breakfast balcony, the Blue Mosque appears so close, you feel you could reach out and touch it!
The only problem I faced was the iffy WIFI. It works but in these days of strong signals and lightening speeds it should be better. The manager did point out to me that he also was frustrated by the service and in fact had someone looking at it that day to see what could be done. With a bit of luck it will be up to "speed" when next I stay at this little gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the Erguvan Hotel for three nights in early June. The hotel is in a great location - very close to all of the Sultanahmet sights. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was on the small side, but very clean and well-appointed. The only negative to our experience was the quality of the bed. The mattress was really uncomfortable.

We booked the hotel through Hotwire, which listed it as a 4-star hotel. While nice, it was no 4-star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NobleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a wonderful hotel. Situated in the Sultanahmet area just 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque.

We arrived early (around 9:45 am) and could not check in as the hotel had been full the night before. The response was simple: "Join us for breakfast" and the manager meant it as a complimentary gesture. So we sat on the balcony under the minarets of the Blue Mosque in the morning Turkish sunshine and enjoyed a wonderfully varied breakfast of both hot and cold, savoury and sweet dishes, a morning experience that was to be repeated every day of our stay. Meat, cheese, salad, fruit, yoghurt, honey, jam, bread, cakes and on and on and on... Scrambled egg and sausage are the hot options and, if you fancy it, the staff will fry a couple of eggs for you. Tea, coffee (including Turkish), orange and lemon juice are all available.

Our room was perfectly fine with a lovely view across the Bosphorous. Clean and comfortable with only one negative that was the size of the shower - not a lot of room to manoeuvre! However, generally the bathroom was a reasonable size and very clean. Nice lobby.

One thing to bear in mind is that the walk to the Blue Mosque and, indeed, all the major sites, while short is up a steep hill. Just something to bear in mind if you have any ambulatory problems but not generally an issue.

Two mosques will provide you with the call to prayer at 5am. Hey: You're in Istanbul - enjoy the haunting call and drift back to sleep when it finishes.

The management and staff are brilliant and are very happy to provide information and help whenever needed. Get them to organise you a private car to take you to the airport when leaving. €25 is more than you will pay in a standard taxi (€15?) but you won't have to deal with the usual (I'm sorry to say) rip-offs from the untrustworthy Istanbul taxi drivers. Our ride was there promptly and provided a very helpful and professional service.

I travel extensively on business and experience a lot of hotels both good and bad. Ultimate test: Would I stay there again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Venicelensman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was there with a friend early April. Didn't really stay in because we were out most of the time. But that is why I like this hotel so much because it is so near to the everywhere! We can see the Blue Mosque from the rooftop terrace where we had breakfast. 7mnts walk from Sultanahmet tramlines. Room is very clean, good size bathroom and hot water. If I comeback to turkey, this is definitely where I will stay. And the staffs are helpful and friendly too, always with a smile

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanKhairan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Boutique hotel with a great location in Sultanahmet with a wonder view of the blue mosque and sea of marmara from the roof terrace
Hotel staff lovely and friendly and can arrange anything you may need without hesitation

Room Tip: Taxi's are cheap in Istanbul and the staff can book for you Plus you are very close to Blue Mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#72 of 1,160 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#131 of 1,160 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Albatros Premier Hotel
Albatros Premier Hotel
#466 of 1,160 in Istanbul
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#261 of 1,160 in Istanbul
719 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#149 of 1,160 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,160 in Istanbul
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erguvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erguvan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Cad. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erguvan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, family-run hotel in the center of Istanbul's historical attractions with comfortable and clean rooms, suites, lobby-bar terrace. The Erguvan Hotel is a special-class hotel located 15 miles from Istanbul Ataturk Havalimani Airport. This brand-new hotel is only 50 meters far from historical areas with high-quality and the prices are lower than of the similar range hotels. It is at the heart of the historical district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Erguvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing