We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Crown Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$245
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$431
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$296
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
US$49
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elite World Business(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$823
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
139
110
35
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
110
35
13
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

booked in at 630 am was told to wait in the foyer until 930 am then got to the room and went to sleep . asked about 10 time about the faulty aircon and was tols they put it off in winter but the advertise fully airconditioned rooms . went for breakfast at 9 am witch is served till 10 am and when asking for eggs and sausage was then told it was finished . very poor service and a language problem as the staff did not speak english .......

Room Tip: dont always trust your travel agent !!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikepaul47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Dear mikepaul47 ,

Thanks for your feedback . It would allow us to be more careful in our future services. But I must reply your sentences for my all future guests via this important platform .
First of all , I must say that it is too difficult to see these kind of very negative sentences / rates for our lovely hotel ,however we are 10 year-old hotel ! All hotel's check in time , in general rules , is approximately 13:00/14:00 pm . Early c/in demands are only the request , could not be guaranteed neither by the agencies nor hotels, if you did not reserve the room one day before of your early arrival ! According to the hotel availability it could be served . It should be so favorable for you could check in 09:30 a.m while the c/in time is 14:00 pm ! About aircon , always we tell that it is main heater / cooler system and it must be fixed for winter condition on November . Breakfast time is 07:00 - 10:00 am , and we always add new ones when the products finish . So it is impossible to be answered at 09:00 that it was finished ! And finally , our breakfast staff could not speak only English , but also Russian fluently ! We thank you about your motivated feedback . If we had a chance to host you again , all of your negative opinions would be changed ...

KINDEST REGARDS
Ms.Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Spent 4 nights here - room was clean, although a bit small - not much room to unpack. Breakfast was fine - topped up as required. Reception staff were very helpful.
Very central for all the main sights - no need for a car. Trams go from top of the road.
Aker restaurant across the road was very good value, and lovely food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear Anne O ,

Thanks a lot for your valuable feedback . It is so appreciated to share your nice experiences about your visit and our hotel with all our future guests via Tripadvisor .. It made us so happy to see your contentment of stay . We are looking forward to host you again in Golden Crown Hotel . Thank you very much .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel was everything you should expect from a cheap hotel. It was clean, the hotel staff as a majority were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best part, very nice!
The only thing that you might want to be careful about is if you ask the hotel to arrange a transfer for you from the airport and vice versa. We asked via email and were quoted 50 euros for 2 people both ways which seemed reasonable....however, when we got to the check in desk there is a notice for a shuttle transfer that states only 5 euro per person. When we asked we were quite rudely informed that we had requested a private transfer which is not true. We asked if we could cancel the return transfer and use the shuttle service but the answer was...you can cancel but you still have to pay the full 50 euros.
Well like i say, apart from this the hotel is good. Well located for the sights but take some earplugs if you have a room looking onto the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robynwalker2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Drobynwalker2003 ,

Thanks for your feedback . It is important for us to see your critiques about our lovely hotel and amenities . Firstly , I would like to say that as a 3 star and 10 year-old hotel , we have been cooperating a lot of agencies ..So you could have your accomodation very budget price some of the terms via them .It is so nice for us and our all guests . About private transfer , you had done it before of your arrival via e-mail and we organised it for you pleasurely . But you chose for both way and we made you discount . That's mean it was a package transfer to be organised cheaper than one way . It was paid before of your arrival by us with a company which picked you up . Since it was a package and paid for , it could not be cancelled by us . Thanks for your chosing us and hope to see you again in Golden Crown Hotel .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed for 5 nights Slept well in generally quiet room on 5th floor. Breakfast a bit limited especially if arriving after 9.30. Great location however for all the main sights and beyond. We used the public transport a lot and there is a tram stop just up the road which was very convenient.
If you want a cheap and cheerful restaurant try the one on the corner just up the road.
A sight not highly advertised but worth a visit is the main railway terminus where you can see the Orient Express terminal building - just a couple of tram stops down the road.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear CHRIS G ,

Thanks a lot for your valuble feedback . It made us so happy to see your pleasure of stay . It is so important for us that you shared your nice experiences and suggestions with our future guests via tripadvisor . We hope to see you again in Golden Crown Hotel for the next times .. Thank you very much .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We couldn't have picked a better location for all the main tourist sites like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the trams so handy for getting to further a field to go on a Bosphorus Cruise and to the Church of St Saviour in Chora but known to the locals as Kariye Camii which is well worth a visit. The hotel was very clean, breakfast plentiful with enough coffee to keep our energy levels up plus the staff were so friendly and very helpful to us by phoning to arrange our tranfer back to the airport and getting our boarding passes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul. We feel it was a great time of year to visit Istanbul as we had lovely warm evenings and hot days but not to hot for sightseeing. Flat shoes are a must as best way to see the area is by walking. Thanks to all the staff for making our trip special as I have waited a long time to visit Istanbul. Can also recommend the Cosy Cafe roof top terrace as the views of the Blue Mosque lit up at night were fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrendaG822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear BrendaG822 ,

Thanks a lot for your valuable comment . It is so appreciated to share your lovely experiences with all our future guests via Tripadvisor . It made us so happy to read about your beneficial visits and suggestions for others . Lovely words for staff and hotel location , too . We are looking forward to host you in our hotel soon . Please , do not hesitate to contact me if you need more assistance for everything about İstanbul . Thank you very much .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews