We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, walk to everything that is important!”
Review of Golden Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Crown Hotel
Ranked #304 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Hotel is a small one that features less than 40 rooms so very quaint and boutique like. The airport transfer from ataturk was included to the hotel as we stayed over 3 nights. We checked in quickly and got our room. Wile it was small, it was sufficient and clean. I highly recommend a room facing the street as the court yard retains heat and humidity which then require you to sleep with the AC on. The staff are really nice and friendly. Breakfast is simple but tasty and we enjoyed local cheeses, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, breads and of course traditional turkish tea. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Aghia Sophia an even closer to restaurants and countless shops. The return transfer to the airport is 6 euros per person and must be booked a day prior. Overall a great place to setup base camp and enjoy the amazing City of Istanbul!

Room Tip: Street view rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aleks-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

I highly recommend this hotel that is in the city center, close to all the important places, hotel rooms are large, clean and the staff very nice and friendly, good breakfast and free internet at the hotel, great for business travelers.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Shaul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst exploring Istanbul. We were very impressed, considering the price we paid. The room was clean and comfortable, plenty for space for what we needed and the pleasant addition of breakfast. We were a little apprehensive that it would be noisy after reading other reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was quiet and very dark. Next doors shower was rather noisy when used late at night but could put up with that. We were able to walk to everywhere we wanted to visit and it was close enough to pop back during the day to have a rest and get changed. No view out of the window, back wall of house behind but not a major problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnabelWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My mom and I staying here in April 2013 and were pleased with our stay. Our room was on the 3rd floor (I definitely recommend staying from the 3rd floor up because of the noise) and was a good size. The beds were really comfortable and we were both very happy in our room! HOWEVER, as the previous reviewer said a group of teenage school children came to stay at the hotel and kept us up until late on several occasions. I phoned reception and explained to them that I felt like I was in a hostel because of all the noise. The reception did call the children and ask them to keep quiet (as I could hear the ringing coming from their rooms, yes that is how thin the walls must be). The children were out of control, running around, screaming, banging doors. Twice I got up myself and asked them to please keep quiet - I'm a very light sleeper and it really isn't fun to be on holiday when you have hardly had any sleep. I would like to recommend to the hotel that if they do have school children staying at the hotel then perhaps they should put them all on one or two floors to prevent them from waking up other guests at the hotel! Then they can spend all night and day screaming along the corridors and not bothering the guests. The walls in this hotel seem to be quite thin because we could also hear everything that the other guests were doing, i.e. watching TV or showering. We weren't too bothered about that, but if you like your peace and quiet then it may bother you. The breakfast was okay, nothing spectacular. The location of the hotel is good, it's on Piyer Lotti street which is right near to the Grand Bazaar (about 5-10 minutes walk) and also within walking distance to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Basilica Cistern & Topkapi Palace. Towards the end of our stay we also found that there was an amazing Haman (Turkish Bath) on the road of the hotel too, we went there and had an amazing time. It was A LOT cheaper than the other more touristy ones and a lot less crowded. The hotel staff were good, not very friendly though. The other thing I have to say is that the computer they seem to have downstairs does not work properly (if at all), so if you choose this hotel based on the fact that it has a computer please think again. Rather bring your own laptop or stay somewhere else. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room from the 3rd floor up, because anything lower than the 3rd floor may be too noisy. My room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Dear JDSouthAfrica ,

Thanks a lot for your valuable feedback . It is so appreciated by us that you had told honestly all details about your holiday and stay . Your contentment about chosing our lovely hotel made us so happy .. Just complaint about school group so 3 point , has made us a bit upset .. But I would like to announce that , via this important platform ' Just in case , anymore we could not accept school groups ' . Finally , it would make us so happy to see you again in Golden Crown Hotel . Looking forward to host you .. Thank you .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very central budget hotel.good clean bathroom,basic clean room DO NOT stay on the first floor above the reception area. There was a football match on TV and several residents were watching it in reception. Around 10 .30 pm we asked staff if they could ask them to be a little more quiet as they were shouting and cheering VERY loudly. He refused and when I went down he was watching it himself. The game and noise continued until about 11.30. It sounded like they were in our room. In fact you can hear everything from the other rooms,like people using the toilets,opening doors etc,but we could tolerate that. Two nights previously,a class of teenage school kids arrived. We expected them to be excited and to make some noise,but they were shouting out of the windows,banging on each others doors,running round the corridors. We phoned reception and they refused to ask them to be quiet. At 2am we knocked their doors ourselves and then they were quiet. Staff said on both occasions that it was ok for residents to make a lot of noise. They wouldn't consider us at all and the 'customer care' manager was rude. Breakfast is very basic and the area is very run down but seemed safe as long as you look out for broken slabs and pot holes.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor,expect to hear other guests. Some rooms have windows which open onto an inside ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damicowhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Damicowhite ,

Thanks for your feedback . But it has been surprised us badly . Of course we have respected for every of our guest's opinion but really yours has injured to us . While you are saying hotel almost good you again say poor by giving point 2 .. It was respected of course .. But all of my staff and me had interested in you seriously .. and 3 times asked you to change your room to the up floors but you rejected ! Whenever you had called reception for student noise , my staff had called their room and warned them . But without telling to reception ,you had knocked their room at 2 am that they were young girls and made them horrified . I know it because next morning their teacher came to desk and got me angry by saying 'why somebody gone to my student's door and knock after midnight and frightened them while sleeping ? ' It made me so bad position because not requesting it from reception directly you gone to the room .. Of course both side must be pleased but we tried to behave equally for all our guests . And about the game noise , it was a football match , between Real Madrid & Galatasaray , which was international game and excitement . Both teenagers and old people , women and men in the hotel were watching it together . Is it possible to stop people's sensation while watching it both from outside and inside the rooms or lobbly ? Of course try to make it down but it was not so possible .. And when I had explained this to you , now I see you accuse me being a rude .. It seems obviously contentment could be changeable from person to person . I had to give the truth replies for your accuses because of my future guests who would read them via this important platform .. Anyway , if we had a chance to host you again , we would be done the best service for you .. Thanks a lot .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms. Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

It was so wonderful to have a chance to visit turkey last October 2012 and be golden crown guest. You are always such gracious hosts. We appreciated being able to stay in your lovely cosy room, and we greatly enjoyed our breakfast which prepared for us.
Your country is absolutely beautiful, and there are so many fun and interesting spots the average tourist would never find on their own. It was exciting to see and experience a bit of how the locals live and play.
We'd love to reciprocate your kindness! Thank you again for everything.
special thanks again to Demet Sales & Marketing / Reservation Manager for her nice and beautiful attitude and Rageb as well as Nilgun Ozturkmen the hotel GM.
Mohamed EL Adly

Room Tip: Choose rooms away than main streat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilePharaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear NilePharaon ,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback . What a nice to see your lovely words on this important platform ! It is so important for us to hear about our guests feeling of their visits to criticise our trues and falses . So that , thank you very much again for both your comments and special thanks :) We always try to do our best for our guests' pleasure . We are looking forward to host you again as soon as possible . Whatever you need from İstanbul , please contact me directly without any hesitation . Thanks a lot .

Best REGARDS
Ms. Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for a week and had stayed two days three weeks earlier in the month. The hotel is excellent value. It is in a good location in Sultanahmet/ Cemberlitas near a tram stop. Many of the main tourist sites are in easy walking distance. The staff are most helpful and courteous. It is clean. There is a shuttle bus bookable by the hotel to both airports for departures but this is not available for arrivals. It is much cheaper than a taxi and easier than public transport. The breakfast is simple and includes cereals, yoghurt, scrambled and boiled eggs, sausages fruit borek a variety of breads cheese tomatoes olives etc. The dining room is well lit and spacious. There is a computer with free internet access and wifi throughout the hotel.
There is a comfortable front sitting area in reception. We enjoyed our visit to Istanbul so much we intend to return and stay without any hesitation at this hotel. Demet and the other members of the reception staff were all keen to make one's stay as enjoyable as possible

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are darker but quieter. Front rooms are brighter but overlook the street though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belisaurius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear belisaurius ,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment . It made all of us so happy to see your contentment about visit to İstanbul and Golden Crown Hotel ! It is so appreciated to share your lovely experiences with our future guests via this important platform . It was a big pleasure and priceless experience for us to meet both you and your pretty wife ! Whenever you come to İstanbul , we definitely like to see you again in our cosy hotel . If you need any assistance about İstanbul or something else , please do not hesitate to contact me .. I am looking forward to see you again .. Thanks a lot .

Best REGARDS
Ms. Demet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#84 of 1,173 in Istanbul
126 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#462 of 1,173 in Istanbul
426 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#525 of 1,173 in Istanbul
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#203 of 1,173 in Istanbul
161 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#85 of 1,173 in Istanbul
693 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,173 in Istanbul
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Piyerloti Cad. No:10 Cemberlitas | Cemberlitas-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Crown has 34 full air conditioning standard rooms and 1 suit room.In our all rooms you could find to use your own minibar, LCD Televisions with foreign and local music channels,central heating system, private bathrooms, hair dryers,safe boxes and dial-direct phones . Designs of the rooms like the sense of traditional Turkish decorations.RESTAURANT & BAR.We have in our hotel a small cozy bar next to restaurant .It serves in 24 hours for your resting and taking your tasty drinks. In our lobby bar you can find all local and imported drinks.Open buffet breakfast in our large restaurant ,times between 07:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. everyday .Restaurant capacity 60 pax, RECEPTION & LOBBY.Hotel Golden Crown get the delicious taste of Turkish hospitality with the services of our experienced and friendly staff. You will be in the sense of staying like your own home and comfort in Hotel Golden Crown. Reception and room service is open 24 hours.It is possible to check your e-mails or send an e-mail from our free WIFI in your room or Lobby .We are arranging all the sightseeing tours, night shows and Anatolian tours from door to door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing