We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hippodrome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippodrome Hotel
Ranked #403 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
189 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

There may be other better places around but we'll definitely stay here again. Close to Blue Mosque but a bit hard to find (there's Hippodrome Apartment hotel nearby also). So speak to free student guides in blue T-shirts and you'll be fine. Great breakfast with a great view at the Best Western (its sister hotel) across from the hotel. Tea, coffee, and snacks offered free of charge between 3 and 5 pm. A few mini supermarkets around. Initially booked one night but we wanted to stay longer, however, fully booked,,, what a shame. Just comfortable and nice. Go stay there.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank YOICO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    133
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
77
120
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kazan, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have been to hippodrome hotel for 3 nights. Really wonderfull service, very friendly staff and actionally Samir was very helpfull and attentive. He is given all information for me. If I come back to Istanbul I'll stay exactly to Hippodrome hotel and I recommend everyone this hotel. It is very near for historical part and all museums.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalya_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Ok front desk. Were initially put in their Apartment Annexe property up the street. It was terrible. They kindly agreed to move us to a room in the main building, which proved to meet our expectations. Not very big (actually almost small), but then not too expensive either. What was really nice was the breakfast on the roof of the nearby Best Western which was included. Huge spread with nice views of the Bosphorous. May consider another stay, but then there are also lots of other good (poss. better) options in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

After a lot of research on the internet and deliberating with the family, we decided on this hotel and believe me there is absolutely no regret in picking Hotel Hippodrome. It is not only conveniently located within minutes of almost every major attraction in Istanbul (Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome etc.), it is also very comfortable and with a charming homelike atmosphere. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and made every day. The breakfast buffet is arranged at the top of the adjacent Best Western and is not to be missed. The view is absolutely breathtaking. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Everyone of them would go out of their way to ensure your comfort. We would specially like to thank Sinan, Canen, Arzu, Samir and Murat for the excellent service they provided us. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are looking for comfort and convenience in a friendly place, then look no further……however if you are looking for a large hotel with the likes of the Marriot, the Wyndham or the Hilton, then you need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musafir_frm_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

A good value hotel, we were in the annex apartments across the road from the main hotel, small stone staircase leading to the rooms, room small but well equipped with hairdryer, fridge, tv and tea and coffee making equipment, all very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was taken at the Best Western Hotel just down the road on their 8th floor terrace with wonderful panoramic views of the sea of Marmara and Blue Mosque etc. Breakfast was the best we have ever had on our many trips around Turkey with a very wide choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleo41Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed at the hippodrome hotel while on our honeymoon. The location was perfect, hagia Sofia and the blue mosque only 5 mins away, lot of good restaurants nearby. And although it is in a busy area it wasn't too noisy at night. The rooms were very clean and cozy with comfortable clean beds. The service was great, Simar at the front desk was always there to help us plan our day, book tours and answer any questions. This hotel definitely helped to make our trip to Istanbul amazing!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpappas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I booked the Hippodrome Hotel through Booking.com and got a better rate (50 Euro for a single per night, breakfast included) than advertised on their website. My flight arrived at Ataturk Airport at 1 a.m. so I arranged through email with the hotel to provide transportation (25 Euro). Everything went smoothly and I stayed in a nice room in another building across the street from the main hotel. It was charming, the neighborhood was nice, and it was well located--very easy to get to the sights. The desk people were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was served at the nearby Best Western. The breakfast was very good and the view from the terrace was spectacular. It was a pleasant stay in a delightful part of Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank li0nheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Acra Hotel
Acra Hotel
#202 of 1,141 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#282 of 1,141 in Istanbul
534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#891 of 1,141 in Istanbul
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#194 of 1,141 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#564 of 1,141 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
#599 of 1,141 in Istanbul
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Hotel

Property: Hippodrome Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippodrome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in at our superb Istanbul Hotel, located in Sultanahmet in the heart of the old City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippodrome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippodrome Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing