We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in centre of Sultanahmet”
Review of Hippodrome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hippodrome Hotel
Ranked #411 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel in centre of Sultanahmet”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My husband and I had booked three nights in the Hyppodrome hotel and when we got there they told us that we would be staying in the appartment section of their hotel. The room was very nice, clean, good size and with a decent-sized bathroom. The staff were really friendly and helpful and seemed delighted to see us every time we came down the stairs! Its location is fantastic: a minute away from the Blue Mosque and all the other main sights in the Old City and a couple of steps away from a tram stop which will take you straight to the more modern part of Istanbul.
The breakfast is served in their other hotel, just across the road on a lovely terrace. Good choice of food - just be careful with the seagulls who will steal your breakfast if you look away for more than a second!
We had only booked the room for three nights as we weren´t sure what our plans would be for the last two. However in the end we were so happy with the Hyppodrome that we decided to stay there for our last two nights there too. We definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juditta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    133
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
77
120
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2009

Just a compliment to your staffs for their help and brilliant service during our stay in Istanbul especially for Arzu who helped us a lot in finding the right room for us. Superb service and the view from the top floor of the apart room, fantastic. So is the view from the breakfast terrace. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCRTRAVELLERUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

My first week in SultanAhmet for our 3 months holidays in Istanbul. It was about midnight when we finally found the hotel. My husband wasn't happy with the room cause the bed is such as the sofa bed. Breakfast is not good. Limited Choice. But the location is very good for the area. Just a min walk to the Blue Mosque. There is one mini Bazaar round the corner that we did enjoy most of our nights there, Live Traditional Turkish Music and Konya Dance!!!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osano m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OL'KALOU
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I have liked the hotel and mostly the workers have been very social and cooperative.They made me feel like i am in my home country .When i needed some assistance they were ready to offer.Arzu (hotel manager) has been helping us and making us happy being in istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyagah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEAVERTON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Based on information from Rick Steves' Istanbul, my girlfriend and I booked a double room (two twin beds) in high season for 80 Euros a night, cash, for 9 nights.

We were promptly picked up from the airport, each at our different arrival times/dates for no charge and had good service at check in. The staff were helpful, but unobtrusive. I wished I had asked for their help earlier, because when I did, they were very nice and willing.

The room was a comfortable size for two people and very clean.

Pros - good value for money, good service, clean, helpful, fantastic location. Excellent breakfast included at nearby Obelisk hotel.

Cons - lower rooms smelled and we moved to upper room. Corridors smell of cigarette smoke. lumpy twin beds.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Smelly corridors
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sobarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We spent one night at the Hotel Hippodrome prior to embarking on a cruise. The hotel is excellently located, easy walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Arasta Bazaar, Aya Sophia and Topkapi Palace, all of which we explored on foot the following morning.

Our only problem was that pick-up from the airport was included in the booking and , although I had e-mailed Omer numerous times to ensure we would be met, and despite his assurances that someone would be waiting for us, when we arrived at the airport, no-one was there to meet us. We waited 1/2 hour then phoned the hotel, and the gentleman on duty (not Omer) said he would send his son. After another half hour of waiting we phoned again and he said someone was on the way. Finally a young man came after we had been waiting more than an hour. Not a great introduction to Istanbul!

After that however, things were fine. The hotel is in a narrow cobblestoned street just behind the Blue Mosque. It was Ramadan and when we arrived in the evening there was music and dancing, and food stalls and fairy lights in the area around the Blue Mosque and we quickly fell under Istanbul's spell.
As we walked out of the hotel and up the road we came across the Whirling Dervish at the Cafe Mescale and traditional music.( it was around 8.30 pm) We enjoyed local food and sweets at the food stalls.

We had a family room which had a double bed, and a separate room with 2 single beds for our children. Bathroom was OK though the sink had a large crack in it.

Breakfast was served the next morning at their sister hotel across the road on the rooftop terrace. Lovely food and wonderful view across the Bosphorous. Following breakfast we explored the sights - Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia, Basilica Cistern etc.

We made brief use of the free internet terminal at reception prior to check out. All in all a good stay, which would have been even better if we had been met as organised.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Not being met at the airport
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiecruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It's in a great location - only a 5/10 minute walk to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topikapi Palace. 10 minute walk to Sultahnament tram stop, so very accessible to other area such as Taksim. Felt safe walking back at night even about mid night. The hotel is about 20 minutes by taxi from atakurt airport. It'll be roughly 25-30 Lira, but they should be metered.

The rooms were very clean and quite large. Bathroom was small, but very clean.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The front office manager was very helpful and explained about all the sites, transport, etc in detail.

Breakfast is served at a hotel across the Hippodrome. It was mainly turkish style food, but also had other continental style options. There are a few places to eat and drink on the same street as where the hotel is.

All in all, great stay. Will definitely stay there again if I go back to Istanbul.

  • Liked — Location and hospitable staff
  • Disliked — No coffee/tea making facilities in the room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank manishad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#286 of 1,141 in Istanbul
534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Acra Hotel
Acra Hotel
#203 of 1,141 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#896 of 1,141 in Istanbul
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#185 of 1,141 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#563 of 1,141 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
#601 of 1,141 in Istanbul
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Hotel

Property: Hippodrome Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #411 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippodrome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in at our superb Istanbul Hotel, located in Sultanahmet in the heart of the old City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hippodrome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippodrome Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing