We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #161 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Of course, rooms a bit small, but everything else was very good. Our room didn't have much in the way of a view, but other rooms do, apparently, have a view of the water. Also good location for Sultanhamet area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sail718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    201
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
163
148
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here four nights. First night was in standard room, clean, but very small, nothing exciting. Next three we moved to a superior room, more space, great view, lots of space on balcony to sit and watch the marine parade. Well worth the additional cost. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have booked a superior room with sea view online and confirmed via telephone and got the confirmation that our reservation was confirmed with no restriction. When we arrive we happen to learn that the first night we will not have the room we had booked and will have a standard one. So we had to change room after 1 night which is not very convenient with our luggage and not what we wanted.
When we got our bill they had "generously" offered a rebate of 20€ for the room inconvenience! They give prices in euro but charge the credit cart using an exchange rate of 2,77 when the worst we had during the stay was 2,63!
We are not the only one having room issues, during our stay we have heard at least 2 other clients complening about not getting the room they had booked.
Both rooms are very small, and would need refreshing, carpets are dusty, bath room old, in both rooms the interior of the bath curtain was filthy.
The room are very noisy, I could hear the guy in reception talking one floor fellow, doors bumping....
Staff is very welcoming, willing to help but one of them gave us wrong informations leading to loosing almost 1 full day of visiting and 190 TL. They recommended 2 restaurants that were not very nice and rather expensive while we found really nice ones using our Lonely Planet.
There is also a smelling issue, drain smell in the bathroom and intermitant fried fish smell coming from outside (sea is not far! ).
The hotel is very well situated, view is great, it is really too bad they not refurbish and do not give the room we have booked. I have left with the impression that they have tried to cheat on me and did not like it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view and try to make sure you get it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gaellec73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISTORIAonur, General Manager at Historia Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Gaella C,

My name is Haluk Kilic. I am the Hotel Manager of Historia Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking time to post this review. Please accept my sincere apologies for fallen short of your expectation on your recent stay at Historia Hotel which I regret.

I would have wished that you informed us of your problems while you were still in the house so we could have undertaken proper actions.

Once again we do apologise to you that you were inconvenienced and do hope that we have an opportunity to recover confidence on your next visit. Your satisfaction is our main concern and I make myself available for any inquiries you should have.

My e-mail adress is haluk.kilic@historiahotel.com

Best Regards
Haluk Kilic
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas, USA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here two nights and were very happy with everything. The staff was also very pleasant and accommodating.

The room we got was small with a window to the breakfast patio, so we had to keep the drapes closed during breakfast. That was the only downside. The room was very clean and even though it was next to the breakfast room, noise was not an issue.

The location is perfect to walk everywhere from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, or Topkapi. We felt very safe walking everywhere in the area and if you are in reasonable shape, you can walk everywhere nearby.

The breakfast was very good, although probably not what Americans typically expect. There were very good breads, cheeses, meats, and fruit. The staff was also extremely helpful and pleasant.

One tip, get the museum card, even if you don't plan on visiting everywhere on it. Even if you go to only a couple places, the time saved by not having to wait in each ticket line is worth it. We also visited the small Mosaic Museum up the street from the hotel, and while it is not one of the top sights we liked it a lot.

We shopped at the nearby Arasta Bazaar because it was much more laid back and the sellers did not hassle you. There is less selection, but we were able to buy some nice items. The grand bazaar was just way too hectic to be able to enjoy and shopping here, we could walk to drop off everything in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMD915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Great hotel rooms very clean and rooms has air con and a fridge too, also complimentary bottled water.
Breakfast had a wide variety and was a buffet style.
Outstanding location, only 3 mins walking to Blue Mosque and other historical sights, also many restaurants were on the same street and a Bizarre also up the road. Stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank das4890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have just returned from 3 weeks travelling around Turkey. The trip began and ended with stays at the Historia hotel. It's location is perfect for visits to all the main Istanbul attractions. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was ever too much bother, arranging transfers to airports, organising boat trips etc. The rooms we had were nice and clean. Lovely breakfast every morning with a good choice. Thank you for a lovely stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

i have just come back from a 7 night stay at the Historia Hotel with my husband and 2 children. We had a family room which was nice clean with an excellent shower.The room lacked wardrobe space but this really didn't matter. The hotel is located in an excellent location , i mean literally 5 mins walk from the mosque..The breakfast was great so much choice, fruits, scrambled eggs, cheeses, meats ,cereals, yogurts, bread, juices etc and such great staff who are so helpful and happy. The Reception staff were brilliant always giving us advice on anything we needed.this was our first time in Istanbul and we had 2 children aged 9 and 6 with us. We used the taxi service, went on the tram, underground and bus , whilst there , Thanks to the reception staff who had a spare istanbulkart we managed to get around everywhere.We visited florya beach which was a 25-30 min bus ride away.Lovely beach which we had to pay to get in but we had a parasol and sunlounger also lockers and lifeguards with great food at reasonable prices. I have to say the hospitality of the people who work at reception, housekeeping and breakfast staff was wonderful, This is truly one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.Such warm and wonderful people, who are so kind and helpful and believe me i have stayed in other hotels which are 4 to 5 star which may be great but the service you get from those people does not even compare to these guys.Thank You so much i will miss you guys and if i ever come to Istanbul again which i am planning to do with some girls for a long weekend shopping trip this is the place i will stay and i recommend to everyone.Thank you once again.WILL REALLY MISS YOU. Mrs S Mahmood

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahm00d786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#90 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,453 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#74 of 1,156 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#132 of 1,156 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#69 of 1,156 in Istanbul
956 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#58 of 1,156 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Property: Historia Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:23 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#100 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#147 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing