We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One mistake after another!”
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #145 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Forget to pick us up at the airport. Given a double bed, instead of twin accommodations. Moved us the next day to correct the situation, only to give us a smaller room with another double bed. Third night, twin beds, moldy smell, and no air conditioning. The staff tried to correct mistakes but just couldn't manage it. Location is close to everything in old town. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for just one night but it was in a fantastic location, there were some lovely restaurants within walking distance and the blue mosque etc were all within walking distance too. i had emailed beforehand to ask for information on how to get to the hotel etc and to ask for a high level room if possible which they were very kind in helping us, when we arrived we had a lovely view from our room on the top floor, the staff were all extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor at the side of the hotel as you get a wonderful view of the blue mosque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lostmarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Five of us stayed at the Historia Hotel for 4 nights. The en-suite rooms were comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. We enjoyed breakfasts, from the large range on display, in a buffet style presentation, both hot and cold food, plenty of juices, teas and coffee too. We especially appreciated the mini-fridge, hospitality tray, free safe, and use of the internet (also free) which meant we could print our boarding cards before leaving the hotel. Apart from all of these facilities, its position means you can walk to most of the main attractions within 10 mins, even all the way to the harbour only took 25 mins! I would recommend this hotel to everyone and would definitely book again if coming to Istanbul

Room Tip: higher floors have views of sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5TudorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This unique little hotel was a great surprise. We had a very warm welcome from the minute we arrived with the hotel transport was provided.We been offer refreshment in the lounge. We been picked on the arrival and then taken to the airport for the departure. The location is excellent and we had the opportunity to visit the most famous places in the area. The rooms very clean. breakfast was rich with very healthy Mediterranean food with freshly made pastries The staff was very caring , and helpful makes you feel at home. Onur at the reception was always available to our request very kind polite always offering refreshments coffee and drinks and advice how to spend the day. Thank you Historia

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Of course, rooms a bit small, but everything else was very good. Our room didn't have much in the way of a view, but other rooms do, apparently, have a view of the water. Also good location for Sultanhamet area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sail718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here four nights. First night was in standard room, clean, but very small, nothing exciting. Next three we moved to a superior room, more space, great view, lots of space on balcony to sit and watch the marine parade. Well worth the additional cost. Good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have booked a superior room with sea view online and confirmed via telephone and got the confirmation that our reservation was confirmed with no restriction. When we arrive we happen to learn that the first night we will not have the room we had booked and will have a standard one. So we had to change room after 1 night which is not very convenient with our luggage and not what we wanted.
When we got our bill they had "generously" offered a rebate of 20€ for the room inconvenience! They give prices in euro but charge the credit cart using an exchange rate of 2,77 when the worst we had during the stay was 2,63!
We are not the only one having room issues, during our stay we have heard at least 2 other clients complening about not getting the room they had booked.
Both rooms are very small, and would need refreshing, carpets are dusty, bath room old, in both rooms the interior of the bath curtain was filthy.
The room are very noisy, I could hear the guy in reception talking one floor fellow, doors bumping....
Staff is very welcoming, willing to help but one of them gave us wrong informations leading to loosing almost 1 full day of visiting and 190 TL. They recommended 2 restaurants that were not very nice and rather expensive while we found really nice ones using our Lonely Planet.
There is also a smelling issue, drain smell in the bathroom and intermitant fried fish smell coming from outside (sea is not far! ).
The hotel is very well situated, view is great, it is really too bad they not refurbish and do not give the room we have booked. I have left with the impression that they have tried to cheat on me and did not like it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view and try to make sure you get it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gaellec73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISTORIAonur, General Manager at Historia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Gaella C,

My name is Haluk Kilic. I am the Hotel Manager of Historia Hotel. I would like to thank you for taking time to post this review. Please accept my sincere apologies for fallen short of your expectation on your recent stay at Historia Hotel which I regret.

I would have wished that you informed us of your problems while you were still in the house so we could have undertaken proper actions.

Once again we do apologise to you that you were inconvenienced and do hope that we have an opportunity to recover confidence on your next visit. Your satisfaction is our main concern and I make myself available for any inquiries you should have.

My e-mail adress is haluk.kilic@historiahotel.com

Best Regards
Haluk Kilic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#150 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#122 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#278 of 1,163 in Istanbul
255 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:11 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £24 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing