We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great City Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cihangir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cihangir Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Graz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great City Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed in this Hotel during a conference and found it over the conference's booking agency. There the pictures didn't look very inviting, but when searching for more Information on the web, I found out that the Hotel was recently renovated.
I got to the City Center with Havatas Transfer from the Airport and walked to the Hotel. It's only about 20 minutes, but not very easy to find as it's hidden behind Taksim Square and not even the locals could tell me where to go from just the street name. Thankfully there was a big sign leading to the Hotel. I was there during Demonstration time on Taksim square and didn't hear a Thing, so yes, it's nice and quiet.
The room was nice and modern and the shower was heavenly (rain shower) with Grohe faucets and it was very clean. My room faced a backyard, but on the other side there are balconies with a spectacular view on Bosporus and sun rise.
The Restaurant wasn't yet renovated, but nice and romantic with also a great view. Food was very good, but I was disappointed that they didn't have more Turkish dishes, but there are enough possibilities to try local Food in this City! There's also a small Supermarket on the way to the Hotel from Taksim Square and down the road from the Hotel. Also you can reach the tram to the old town in just 10 minutes walk.
The breakfast was OK, but I expected more since a turkish friend told me before that breakfast is so important for turkish People.
Alltogether I can only say that I would DEFINITELY recommend the Hotel and even book it again if I return to Istanbul.

Room Tip: The room was nice and modern and the shower was heavenly (rain shower) with Grohe faucets and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank muuuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    35
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
25
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
163 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The room (a double for single occupancy) was reasonable, the bathroom recently renovated and spotlessly clean. There is a restaurant on the 6th floor with a great view of the Bosphorus bridge, but unfortunately breakfast is not served here but downstairs in an unremarkable place - to go with the unremarkable food on offer. In other words, ok but nothing special. The reception area of the hotel is soulless with a lot of wasted space, although the staff are pleasant and helpful. The hotel is well located, 5 minutes walk from Taksim in the trendy area of Cihangir - full of cafes & restaurants - a good place to simply wander. Of course it's a bit of a hike (or tram ride) over to the Old City. Nevertheless this area gives you a good insight into the everyday lives of Istanbullus, at least the relatively well-heeled ones;

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derekfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Cihangir Hotel for 4 nights. We had a "sea side view" which means we could see the Bosporous River...that was really the only highlight. The location was difficult for us to find....our cab driver couldn't figure out how to get there and as a result we had to walk through a sketchy and bumpy path to arrive there. The location is approximately a 10 min walk from Taksim Square which is a good spot if you want to do some shopping and go out at night. Everywhere else would require transport. Overall the rooms felt old and not well maintained and our room was pretty small. Also, they put us, a marriaged couple in two single beds, unclear if the mistake was theirs or our travel agency...either way it was not fixed. Breakfast was pretty descent.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank macaroni_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel has a friendly staff but is far from the main attractions in Istanbul. The tram, however, is close by as is Takism Square. The rooms are average and dated but they are clean. Some have a good view of the Bosporus bridge. The breakfast was fine and included eggs and cold items. The hotel was very quiet and the beds comfortable. A fairly good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathy88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The seaview rooms are well worth it. There are lots of restuarants nearby. Taksim is a great place to stay. The staff are very polite. The rooms are dated, but clean. The hotels I stayed at were priced in Euro's, but you pay in TLs. If you're concerned with currency fluctuations bring cash or have reservations quote you in TLs.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StayedHereB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
359 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Three of us spent four nights here in mid-April. The hotel is fairly clean, the rooms are small and the staff are helpful, the breakfast is typical Turkish with a good selection of eggs, breads, and it's in a good location. Close to Taksim Square and Istiklal Caddesi. And yet it was quiet! Good view of the Bosporus and urban Istanbul from our room.

We'd go back here because it's in a great location and you get what you pay for and then some.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

This hotel is a hidden gem located in the best section of Istanbul. The rooms are not luxurious but neither are the prices. It includes a sumptuous breakfast and has a rooftop lounge. The staff are fantastic - so helpful, kind and courteous. Stay here if you don't demand luxury.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodylimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marions Suite
The Marions Suite
#551 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#327 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Beyoglu
Nidya Hotel Galataport
Nidya Hotel Galataport
#332 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#703 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Beyoglu
Serene Hotel Istanbul
Serene Hotel Istanbul
#428 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Beyoglu
Vardar Palace Hotel
Vardar Palace Hotel
#667 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cihangir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cihangir Hotel

Property: Cihangir Hotel
Address: Aslan Yatagi Sk. No 17, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cihangir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cihangir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cihangir Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing