We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Hotel with a Fantastic View”
Review of Cihangir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cihangir Hotel
Ranked #482 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel with a Fantastic View”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I recently visited Istanbul for a week and stayed at the Cihangir Hotel. The hotel's location is wonderful. The view from the Bosphorus side is absolutely worth paying a bit extra for. Looking out of my window and seeing the Bosphorus Bridge was definitely a highlight of my trip.

The walk to Taksim square, where mass transit and airport shuttles are located, is very short. Yes, the last leg of the walk does involve walking down a fairly steep hill, but I didn't have any problem navigating this. Actually, the bumpy streets around other parts of Taksim gave my luggage much more of a problem. It was very well lit and didn't seem dangerous at all, even late at night. I even saw children playing along it several times.

The hotel staff was courteous and generally helpful, if a bit dour. They spoke enough English to be able to answer my questions. The room was reasonably large, but I was glad I went for a double and not a single.

I would say this hotel needs to work on repairs a bit, however. The outside wall of my bathtub seemed ready to fall off, and the seat of my chair was broken off from the rest of it. Some of the linens were a bit dingy, but I just used another set. So the place does lose a few points in the cleanliness department. But I didn't find any actual garbage about the place, and the rooms were cleaned daily.

Overall, I felt like this hotel room was a great value for what I paid. I would recommend contacting the hotel directly through their web site, as rates seemed cheaper this way than with online booking sites. While the room could use a bit of repair, it didn't really interfere with my stay. If you want an inexpensive hotel with a wonderful view that is centrally located for exploring Istanbul, the Cihangir Hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank videoordvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
26
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I like the location of the hotel - walking distance from Taksim square , Cihangir street is nice , Really the Boshorus view is breathtaking. Breakfast included Turkish breakfast as I like.The rooms are small, but I did not expect more space for such price.The only thing that confused me is cleanliness. Definitely the hotel needs more thorough cleaning. I am not crazy about cleanliness and do not pay attention to the details but here the dust near wall bases, on the conditioner filters, dusty chairs on the balcony and films(green - copper oxide?) on the shower mixer upset me.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nojemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I stayed in Cihangir Hotel after recommendation of a very close friend of me who stays there every time she visits Istanbul. The hotel is in the best possible convenient location. It is in Cihangir area, just 5 minutes walk to Taksim Square, far away from tourist trap hotels of Sultanahmet. Taksim square is the best place to stay in Istanbul, because restaurants and night life are there. We searched a lot to find a reasonable price hotel in the area but we couldn't find and Cihangir was the best. Unfortunately there were no Bosphorous view rooms ( that are amazing), so we were given city view rooms. Some of our friends left earlier, so we made some changes in the room ( f.ex. i stayed in total in 3 different rooms, so i can make comments on them). Except from the rooms in the lobby that are a bit noisy ( at least for people who can't sleep easily), the rooms in 5th and 3rd floor were perfect. All the rooms were clean and spacious. The stuff was very helpful; we gave them some cheese to store in their fridge, and they were calling immediately taxi for us;because i had to sleep some days in a single room, some days in double room, there was no problem. All of them were very friendly. The breakfast is a typical turkish breakfast; don't expect too many things , however, it had omelette, and sausage and eggs and bread , tomatoes and cheese. Cihangir area is famous for its cafes so it's better to take breakfast in a cafe.
In total, i can say that both me and my friends enjoyed our stay in the hotel; if you are looking for a budget clean hotel in a convenient location go for it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosporos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metripgo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

i stayed at cihangir hotel twice with my girlfriend. hotel rooms are very clean. staff friendly. the back side rooms overlooking the bosphorus are fantastic. for the value i would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Liked — the bosphorus view and cleanness
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank metripgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We have been staying at 2 rooms with a Bosphorus view at Cihangir Hotel for 4 days. Its a nice, very clean and confortable hotel in a very silent neighbourhood. We choose rooms with Bosporus view: The view of Bosporus from the terrace of our room was breathtaking both during day and night. The accommodation was absolutely amaizing and the staff very helpful and smiling. It’s a clean and comfortable hotel with spacious bathrooms. The breakfast (typical Turkish breakfast) was simple but fresh and delicious. The hotel has a private garage without extra charge, and this is very convenient.

  • Liked — view, friendly staff, free parking
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank marmel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We were looking for a hotel in Taksim for just one night and picked the Cihangir from reviews and their website. We drove in from Taksim Square down very narrow alleys (and saw a car and a van trying to pass each other, ending up with the rear bumper being ripped off the car, so if you are driving, be very careful!).

Reception was efficient if somewhat impersonal. We got a room with a Bosphorous view (20 Euros extra) but it was debatable whether it was worth the extra - a large chunk of ours was taken up by the fire escape. If you've never been to Istanbul before then it would probably be worth it.

The room was comfortable, clean but not meticulously so. There was a good array of goodies (shoe cleaner, comb, shower cap, slippers) but only liquid soap - if you prefer solid soap take your own. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and wonderful water pressure. Elderly folk might have a problem getting in and out of the shower - it was quite a high step with little to hang on to.

Breakfast was included and was an excellent spread.

The only downside was the location. Returning after dark is not for the nervous. We think of ourselves as seasoned travelers and have spent some time in seedy locations, but even we were a little nervous here. We encountered a couple of 'hoodies' lurking in doors, but fortunately they turned out to be harmless.

We'd stay there again, but probably without paying extra for the Bosphorous view.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Approaches to hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldJambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

The Cihangir Hotel is located several blocks away from the Taksim square area in a quiet residential neighborhood. The hotel faces the Bosphorus and you can ask for a room with a balcony for the view. It's nice to sit outside in the late evening and watch the lights on the 2nd Bosphorus bridge to the north.
The hotel also has a rooftop bar featuring the same view.

I stayed in a double twin-bed room, not very spacious but adequate for my needs. The bathrooms are spacious (for a room of this size) and have modern installations.
The reception staff speaks English fairly well. They are strict about not letting anyone past the reception area if they are not hotel guests.
One formality I didn’t appreciate is that the staff would knock on our door minutes upon our return to the hotel in the afternoon to perform a “mini-bar control” – just as we were getting ready to shower or take a quick nap. Also, I noticed that the room service staff lay the breakfast trays directly down on the hallway carpeting, instead of using a utility cart.

The downside of the Cihangir's location is having to walk from Taksim square/metro station down Siraselviler Caddesi for a few blocks to get to the hotel. This street has narrow sidewalks and is always very busy with taxis, cars, and pedestrians. In the evening the dance clubs and bars are open and it can seem like you are in London's SoHo or some similarly busy location popular with young people.
On the plus side, there are currency exchanges, a couple of quick-marts, and countless kebab eateries open all day and most of the night. And further down Siraselviler street there are several contemporary restaurants, pastry shops, bars and boutiques in the Cihangir district.

From the location of the Cihangir Hotel it's relatively easy to walk downhill to the coastal boulevard where the tram passes by heading towards Sultanahmet. Taking the tram will save you money on taxis from Taksim to Eminonu & Sultanahmet where all the sights are. If I remember correctly, the tram stop closest to the Cihangir is "Findikli". Just be aware that coming back to the hotel from the tram stop is a steep walk, including stairs for some of the way. This may be physically challenging for some people.

  • Liked — Satisfactory hotel amenities, good location
  • Disliked — Service staff procedures
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank okyrhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marions Suite
The Marions Suite
#720 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#329 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Beyoglu
Nidya Hotel Galataport
Nidya Hotel Galataport
#334 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Sunflower Hotel
Sunflower Hotel
#695 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Beyoglu
Serene Hotel Istanbul
Serene Hotel Istanbul
#436 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Beyoglu
Vardar Palace Hotel
Vardar Palace Hotel
#675 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cihangir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cihangir Hotel

Property: Cihangir Hotel
Address: Aslan Yatagi Sk. No 17, Istanbul, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #482 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cihangir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cihangir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cihangir Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing