We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience varies depending on choice of room and hotel guests at the time.”
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #668 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 13 November 2013

First, let me say I thorougly enjoyed my time here, but this is due to the hotel location rather than the hotel itself. Very close (5-10 min walk) to istiklal caddesi (excellent main shopping street), 2 min walk to metro, easy travel to the old parts of Istanbul, Mosques, Old Bazaar, Topkapi Palace. Walk down the hill (Kasımpaşa) to some excellent foot ferrys for cheap trips (2-3 lira) of the Golden Horn and a superb transport museum and a hop over to Eminou, the kick off point for old Istanbul and more ferries. Also, use the ferries at Kabataş to get to the Princes Islands, fantastic.

Now the hotel.
The staff are fine but get a little angry if you complain (I am used to this in Turkey, it seems it is usual).

Breakfast is the same every day but this is usual for Turkey. Expect basics only, bread, cheese, highly processed meat slices/sausages, eggs, tea and coffee. You will rarely get better elsewhere though unless you pay much more.

The rooms are quite varied (I have stayed here before), the building seems to be two buildings joined into one. I heard the desk clerk say to a lady that the rear (white? building) is quieter and has better rooms.

Unfortunately both times I have stayed in the front part of the building

If you stay in the more expensive front rooms (front building), they are larger, 4 star style but have the noise from the busy road.

If you stay in the rear rooms (front building) they are 2-3 star quality.

The walls and corridors transmit sound very easily and you hear door banging and speaking (dependant on other guests staying around you).

The air conditioning is appaling (I am a building engineer so I hopefully know what is good). In the Winter months (I have not stayed in the summer), the upper floors are too hot (even hotter if you turn on the room AC), the lower floors seem ok if you turn OFF the room AC.

This hotel is average for Turkey. The star ratings hotels give themselves is nearly always one star higher than what you would get in western europe.

Last tip, book your room from their website as the exorbitant desk price of 175 euros a night made me laugh every time I saw it.

This hotel is very average but pretends to be four star (the lobby is 4 star) and in its day (50 years ago I guess) I am sure it was resplendant. Now however it is tired and in need of an overhaul.

Just remember, this is Istanbul, a fantastic place to visit if you get out of your hotel room and be adventurous. Explore explore explore.

Room Tip: Higher rooms seem hotter than lower rooms Front rooms are noisy if you want the windows open (you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RandomEvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who would like to have a comfortable neat stay in Istanbul and easy access to some of the local streets and night life of Istanbul. The attraction to me was the breakfast buffet served in this hotel, the variety was breath-taking.

Room Tip: Hardly any room share a street view. So choose any room that you want to spend night at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NikunjAgarwal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in October 2013 for a meeting. A really poor hotel:
- Absolutely no noise insulation between rooms. Worst experience ever with loud noise coming form neighbouring toilets, for example.
- Wifi signal is so weak it is pointless trying to connect.
- Breakfast room is dirty and the food is limited (hint, a Nero and some local coffee shops are around the corner).
-I only had experience at checkin and checkout, but staff are not exactly friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sgm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a pretty run-down hotel that is far away from 4-star quality. The room was not well cleaned, the wireless internet was not working or when it worked it was very very slow, the beds were small and not comfortable and the AC did not work so it was impossible to sleep. I had scheduled for three nights but left after the first night. I was asked why I left early by the receptionist and when I politely told her why, she did not seem to care.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel is well situated. The rooms are clean. But the walls are paper thin. We could hear our neighbors the whole night. The staff are very unhelpful and extremely rude. The breakfast is standard Turkish breakfast. If the staff were a little nicer this wouldn't be a bad hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose a street facing room it's very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HafsaPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

V friendly staff v helpful.
Great value and location.
Wifi free but tempermental works well in main lobby.
Rooms clean no complaints regarding this (wish there was a kettle though).
Breakfast worth missing that is the only downside otherwise happy to still rate it 4/5 :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank am1mayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. The hotel is located near Istiklal street and so close to the metro station.
The breakfast is not the best and the rooms are not that big.
Totally, considering the value, this hotel was better than what I was expecting.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliAzarnoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Icon Hotel Istanbul
Icon Hotel Istanbul
#942 of 1,173 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Beyoglu
The Biancho Pera Hotel
The Biancho Pera Hotel
#772 of 1,173 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Beyoglu
Cartoon Hotel
Cartoon Hotel
#1,005 of 1,173 in Istanbul
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#249 of 1,173 in Istanbul
350 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#672 of 1,173 in Istanbul
260 reviews
All Seasons Hotel
#765 of 1,173 in Istanbul
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#392 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing