We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for budget travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #591 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good for budget travellers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Halic means port. This hotel is at convenient location in European part of Istanbul city. Metro station is just next door to the hotel. Hotel is near end of Istiklal avenue the most happening street of Istanbul. One can take tram for going to Taksim square. Ataturk airport is about 20-25 minutes drive from this hotel. One can take AVATAS bus from airport also.

The property is old. Rooms are quite small. Breakfast was average. I could not recharge my laptop as there was no three pin socket. I paid 10 lira for new adopter. I got room in rear block of the hotel, which had no view.

There is an Indian restaurant (managed by Pakistani) behind the hotel, which is average.

In view of location, this hotel is good for budget travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hemantkadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    130
    111
    59
    19
See reviews for
66
105
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of our Magic Carpet tour.
The hotel is well situated. The rooms are clean. The staff are very unhelpful and extremely rude. The breakfast had lots, but no quality. If the staff were a little nicer this wouldn't be a bad place to stay. At the end of our tour we stayed in Minel Hotel....

Room Tip: WiFi never worked and staff were not of help, just told us that its all over Istanbul
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of COSMOS' Grand Tour of Turkey in the evening of Oct 6 & 17. Nice location at the Galata neighborhood of Istanbul w/ nearby Sishane metro station and shopping district. The room was clean and breakfast buffet was satisfactory. Internet is free but the connection/strength is hit or miss; in order to get the free internet, you have to provide your passport and will be incorporated as your password. The reception desk was helpful at any request you ask but not in a cheerful mood.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cisqo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 days before I took the Cosmos tour. I was a bit apprehensive at first due to the bad reviews but I don't want to transfer hotels and I want to have more time to see Istanbul. I was very happy with my stay. The front office people were very helpful and nice, perhaps it's just a matter of how you treat or interact with them. Very good location, and very easy to navigate around the area. Istiklal street is just a few minutes walk. Easy walk down to Galata Tower, Galata Bridge, and you certainly walk all the way to Sultanahmet area where the Hagia Sophia etc. area.
Enjoy the walk, experience Istanbul life, and you wouldn't know you're already at the Blue Mosque. Otherwise, you can take the tram.

Hotel walls might be thin, you can hear people talking at the hallway. Try not to be bothered, I wasn't. And concentrate on your sleep to have more energy for the next days of exploring Istanbul.

Breakfast is okay, Turkish, so don't expect pancakes, etc. Just feed your self to be ready to explore this amazing city.

Helpful?
8 Thank ssdu18
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

First, let me say I thorougly enjoyed my time here, but this is due to the hotel location rather than the hotel itself. Very close (5-10 min walk) to istiklal caddesi (excellent main shopping street), 2 min walk to metro, easy travel to the old parts of Istanbul, Mosques, Old Bazaar, Topkapi Palace. Walk down the hill (Kasımpaşa) to some excellent foot ferrys for cheap trips (2-3 lira) of the Golden Horn and a superb transport museum and a hop over to Eminou, the kick off point for old Istanbul and more ferries. Also, use the ferries at Kabataş to get to the Princes Islands, fantastic.

Now the hotel.
The staff are fine but get a little angry if you complain (I am used to this in Turkey, it seems it is usual).

Breakfast is the same every day but this is usual for Turkey. Expect basics only, bread, cheese, highly processed meat slices/sausages, eggs, tea and coffee. You will rarely get better elsewhere though unless you pay much more.

The rooms are quite varied (I have stayed here before), the building seems to be two buildings joined into one. I heard the desk clerk say to a lady that the rear (white? building) is quieter and has better rooms.

Unfortunately both times I have stayed in the front part of the building

If you stay in the more expensive front rooms (front building), they are larger, 4 star style but have the noise from the busy road.

If you stay in the rear rooms (front building) they are 2-3 star quality.

The walls and corridors transmit sound very easily and you hear door banging and speaking (dependant on other guests staying around you).

The air conditioning is appaling (I am a building engineer so I hopefully know what is good). In the Winter months (I have not stayed in the summer), the upper floors are too hot (even hotter if you turn on the room AC), the lower floors seem ok if you turn OFF the room AC.

This hotel is average for Turkey. The star ratings hotels give themselves is nearly always one star higher than what you would get in western europe.

Last tip, book your room from their website as the exorbitant desk price of 175 euros a night made me laugh every time I saw it.

This hotel is very average but pretends to be four star (the lobby is 4 star) and in its day (50 years ago I guess) I am sure it was resplendant. Now however it is tired and in need of an overhaul.

Just remember, this is Istanbul, a fantastic place to visit if you get out of your hotel room and be adventurous. Explore explore explore.

Room Tip: Higher rooms seem hotter than lower rooms Front rooms are noisy if you want the windows open (you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandomEvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I would recommend this hotel to everyone who would like to have a comfortable neat stay in Istanbul and easy access to some of the local streets and night life of Istanbul. The attraction to me was the breakfast buffet served in this hotel, the variety was breath-taking.

Room Tip: Hardly any room share a street view. So choose any room that you want to spend night at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikunjAgarwal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here 4 nights in October 2013 for a meeting. A really poor hotel:
- Absolutely no noise insulation between rooms. Worst experience ever with loud noise coming form neighbouring toilets, for example.
- Wifi signal is so weak it is pointless trying to connect.
- Breakfast room is dirty and the food is limited (hint, a Nero and some local coffee shops are around the corner).
-I only had experience at checkin and checkout, but staff are not exactly friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sgm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#399 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
#968 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#785 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Taksim
TRYP by Wyndham Istanbul Taksim
#970 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#509 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#305 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Property: Grand Hotel Halic
Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#362 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing