We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, good location”
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #627 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average hotel, good location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel while on a coach tour. The rooms were a good size and clean, the bed was a hard Turkish style. However the room was not well lit and it felt shabby and old fashioned. WIFI was free and worked well, There was a fair selection at breakfast. cheese, eggs olives, bread etc., The staff were polite and helpful, The hotel is well situated for city site seeing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffe_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    131
    113
    59
    21
See reviews for
68
108
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were staying in a large groups so we did not get rooms facing the sea, but we did not spend much time in the rooms because we were out exploring the city! The rooms were a good size and clean. The bathrooms were also a good size and clean. The hotel had everything we needed. The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff were always polite and helpful. It is very close to a metro stop and the main shopping street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleanor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed four night in Grand Halic hotel.that located on the Sishane area. we reserved two double rooms.this hotel has beautiful view of the sea from the room.room was very small.good bed,small tv,very small refrigerator,clean and small bathroom,loby was not beutiful,free WIFI,buffet breakfast(bad breakfast).this Hotel is near to the Istiklal street and it is opposite of the bus station,20 min to metro station by walking,all staf and personal were good.

Stayed April 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anet59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thisted
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We went a group of 4 people. We booked a room for 4 peopel. Our room was very small, to chairs, and difficult to come around in the room. 1 bed was a camp bed. Views to a erotic place. The aircontitioner blew black dirt out. We stayed at second floor and we could here the noice from every floor. The breakfast was simpel, dry bread, eggs overboiled (green inside ) every day. There restaurant was fine with and unique view. Nice staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank thistedtlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Århus
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is Nice, and a central place to stay.
(Near taksim) the main street (place)
It is clean and has very friendly staff.
There are restaurant and cafe places nearby.
We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MiiiiRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Beyoglu, overlooking the water, right next to a Metro stop and a short walk from Istiklal Cadessi (the famous walking and shopping street) and about 15 minute walk from Taksim Square. It is a Turkish style hotel for business people (although I did see some families there) with a pool and spa (but no fitness room). My room was small with a hard Turkish style bed and not much light. But if you get a good rate (which I did) it is great place to start your explorations of Istanbul, one of the world's most interesting cities. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jim10013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Halic means port. This hotel is at convenient location in European part of Istanbul city. Metro station is just next door to the hotel. Hotel is near end of Istiklal avenue the most happening street of Istanbul. One can take tram for going to Taksim square. Ataturk airport is about 20-25 minutes drive from this hotel. One can take AVATAS bus from airport also.

The property is old. Rooms are quite small. Breakfast was average. I could not recharge my laptop as there was no three pin socket. I paid 10 lira for new adopter. I got room in rear block of the hotel, which had no view.

There is an Indian restaurant (managed by Pakistani) behind the hotel, which is average.

In view of location, this hotel is good for budget travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hemantkadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#368 of 1,141 in Istanbul
626 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#275 of 1,141 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#801 of 1,141 in Istanbul
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#954 of 1,141 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#506 of 1,141 in Istanbul
248 reviews
Beyoglu
City By Molton Hotels
City By Molton Hotels
#930 of 1,141 in Istanbul
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Property: Grand Hotel Halic
Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#380 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing