We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location - bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vicenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vicenza
Ranked #490 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location - bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Nice and clean hotel with good location. 5 min walk from tram and 20 minutes walk from Hagia Sofia. Breakfast was good. The staff in the reception desk reminded us of travels in East Germany during the 80ies. Not helpful or polite, just uninterested and did not bother to do anything extra. We did not get the promised fruit basket or welcome drink and the wi-fi did not work. We asked the staff to open the pool area, but they were not interested in letting us judge if it was warm enough to sun bathe...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    95
    63
    24
    7
See reviews for
67
92
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
232 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel is located in a not large street of a populated area. It is not far from the old city (a 20 minute walk along a main street or three stops by street car).
A comfortable medium sized lobby welcomes you: a small reception desk, sofas, tables, a screen showing all flights in real time. The interior décor is simple. Carpeted floors, soft colors, no noise. All rooms are along a circular central aisle overlooking the large buffet table of the breakfast room at the underground floor. Two small modern glass elevators run along the central part of the hotel overlooking the breakfast room.
Our room didn’t disappoint us. It was just as it appears on the photos. Large (27 square meters) with three beds (one queen size), carpeted floor, two not new armchairs with a small table, a new bathroom. The furniture was not in a modern style but everything very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately two sides of the hotel overlook the close small streets. If you hope to stay in a hotel with a large view on the city this is not the case. The closeness of the streets doesn’t disturb because the soundproof windows avoid any noise. The hotel has a restaurant but if you want to eat outside restaurants and shops are close. Two main mosques of the city, worth visiting, are few minutes away.
When we were there wifi in the room was very slow. After the second day it didn’t work anymore and you had to go in the lobby to connect. So be aware of the problem when making a reservation there. The hotel offers an airport transfer service at 40 €.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalyMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennesee
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed two nights beginning and one night at end of tour. Standard class hotel comparable to a holiday inn or hampton inn. Rooms are clean, beds are hard as bricks and pillows are harder. Breakfast buffet is standard fare, food was good, no problems there. Desk Services were efficient though not overly friendly. Want a tourist map of the city? It will cost you. Location is on a small side street, not a lot there but does have a little convenience store just outside and the left of the hotel (about 100 feet or so). Several good places to eat (recommend Daphne just around the back of the hotel).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chatdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here for two nights at the start of my Gate1 Affordable Turkey tour and one night at the end. It is a well situated hotel similar to many I've stayed at in other European capitals. Tiny lobby and elevator, clean rooms, with good bedding. Free Wi-Fi. Quite decent buffet breakfast. The hotel is located on a busy street with many reasonably priced restaurants nearby, and within walking distance to the Grand Bazaar and other attractions.

During my first stay I had a large comfortable room on the second floor, upon my return I was booked into a tiny room on the sixth- sort of a garret with a skylight window and decorated with an odd collection of tchotchkes

Room Tip: Try to avoid those tiny 6th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingthruhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Last time I was Istanbul, I left wondering if the hoteliers got the memo that non-smoking rooms shouldn't smell of smoke at all. This time around, the Hotel Vicenza proved at least they got the message. No sign of smoke in the rooms nor lobby to my relief. Dare I say it's a totally "non-smoking" hotel? I may be premature. But after walking around the property I didn't detect a thing.
The property as a whole is clean and well appointed. They have a small Turkish bath, and spa, and in the summer they offer a cool looking roof-top pool and bar (it was closed during our recent stay though). There is a pretty good breakfast and dinner buffet in the lower restaurant and a pleasant bar-restaurant on the lobby floor. I liked the fact that they didn't see the need to send someone outside to try and drag people into the place (at least not during our stay). This seems to be a common practice with the other hotels in the area, so beware.
The rooms were of average size with large modern bathrooms that offered good water pressure. We were upgraded to a room with a private steam room and double sinks. Although it was pretty cool to have it, the novelty wore off when the whole room steamed up when you entered or exited the shower area.
Free wifi is offered throughout the hotel, but seems to be faster in the lobby. TV service is also good, offering CNN international and CNBC.
The staff were quite friendly and accommodating with us so no complaints there. Local banks and shops abound in the area and the hotel is within walking distance to the Grand Bazaar.
So overall a good stay. Judging soley on the property, honestly four stars is a bit of a stretch. A good three I would say. The place itself is clean and comfortable. Our staff experience helped me push my rating to a 4 out of five.

Room Tip: To be safe, if your a non-smoker always reconfirm your request by email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larryort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Overall I enjoyed this hotel. I have no complaints about the room. Clean, updated. Great water pressure in shower. Staff was kind and accomodating. Only downfall was on our return to Istanbul. First part of our trip was during the week and things were quiet. On return it was weekend and lots of noise came through. Seemed to be a concert or street fair close and had loud music. Also was able to hear tv from room next door....I think they had the volume to the max as I had been next to friends previously and they said they had their tv on....never heard it then. So last part was loud, but whatever was happening outside would have been loud in any hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

While not deserving it's four-star status, the hotel was clean and nice.

It is not very central, though. It's a 30 or 40 minute to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia, but only 15 minutes to the Grand Bazaar.

Careful about asking for anything extra, though. A friend of mine asked for a disposable paper map (the kind that is usually offered for free at hotels) and they tried to charge her a few dollars!

Also, if the manager is not there be prepared to have a bit of trouble talking to the people at the front desk, their English is only so-so.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#500 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Fener & Balat
Hotel Venera
Hotel Venera
#636 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich
Hotel Zurich
#479 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Mosaic
Hotel Mosaic
#473 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#472 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#288 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vicenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicenza

Property: Hotel Vicenza
Address: Fevziye Cad. No:3 Sehzadebasi/Fatih, Istanbul 34470, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#317 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vicenza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a new four-star Hotel Vicenza in Istanbul, our aim is to make your stay more comfortable and relaxing, accompanied with perfect service, than you ever have experienced before. Hotel Vicenza is located in the center of Istanbul Sehzadebasi, leaving the highlights of Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and many other historical attractions in walking distance. All rooms are equipped with direct dial phone, bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, safebox, air conditioner, minibar and TV with satellite channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vicenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vicenza Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing