We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it is a good deal, take it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Istanbul Royal Hotel
Ranked #975 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel during early May 2013. We usually stay in Taksim when visiting Istanbul, but this time we decided to change the area and picked the area of Laleli, and the Istanbul Royal hotel. The best part of the hotel is the easy access to the Aksaray tram station, you need only 1 minute walking. The hotel was clean in general, breakfast was a decent one, not much variety, can be better for an hotel of this rating. The breakfast area is a big one, but needs more organization where all the tables are big ones and if two people sit on a big table, others join them when the place is full! Our room at first was a small room, no space to put our luggage, but we asked to move to a bigger room like the ones we saw online before reserving, and the reception guy at first was "these are our rooms, I cannot build another building for you!" but then after some discussion, we were able to move to a bigger room looking on the main road. Room service can be much better.
Conclusion: If you get a good deal for this hotel, go for it.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the main street are bigger than the ones towards the backyard. Don't worry about t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is a fair price for what you get, it was comfortable with a limited but adequate breakfast. Ask for a room on the upper floors (we stayed on the 7th floor) as the street can be noisy. It is a 2 minutes walk from Aksaray tram station which is very convenient for accessing all the sights in the Sultanahmet area (Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya). The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Very far from closest beach,very dirty! On arrival found loads of dust behind fridge and old food,filthy under bed and bedding very dirty. Looking out on dilapidated building with broken windows,and everybody from the top floors throws their rubbish out the windows.Breakfast horrible,old bread.Couldn't get English tea,unwilling to assist with anything.

Room Tip: Stay clear from this Hotel to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoodNagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

As an elderly lady travelling alone I was a bit worried.
However, the staff at The Royal were wonderful.
On my first night my room was near the lift and stairs when I mentioned that I am a light sleeper they immediately moved my luggage to a much quieter room.
I can honestly say that this was a Hotel that I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yousuf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The Service is Not equal to the facade.
Nö, they are indeed Not very welcoming or overly friendly. The breakfast is unexciting, and a decent Cup of coffee is Not to be had in the entire Hotel.
The Rooms are a fair size, but simple. Nö Full Length mirror, and Ladies, the hair dryers are useless. Best bring your own.
The Second Day, the Cleaning of the Bathroom was left incomplete, inspite of the tip I left the Day before.
That Said, it IS well located. Not really a 4 Star, but like I Said at the beginning, if you got a really Good Deal, it will do.

Room Tip: I had 112, at the back, quiet enough at Night. A simple Double. Comfort of beds ok. I Slept well, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed two nights with our tour group. Very close to Blue Mosque, Bazaar, and good restaurants. Lobby was lovely. Although our room was dated and smelled of smoke it was clean and tidy.. The beds in our room were small twins, but we did find them comfortable. Although our room was facing the street, we were able to sleep despite the street noise. Buffet breakfast was sparse and milk for cereal was warm. WiFi did not work for us, but others in our group were able to log in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccreedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Stayed here two nights with a tour group. Pros: Good location close walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque & Hoopdrome. Decent breakfast, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Most rooms have only twin beds, most rooms have a strong smoke odor, rooms that face the main street are quite noisy. Our second room wasn't as clean as our original room.

We had a room on the 6th floor with a few of the water however it had twin beds, silly me I asked to change to a room with a double bed, MISTAKE, the room we ended up with was in the basement, below the kitchen of the restaurant, it was VERY small, and the tub/shower was cut in half and it had a strong smoke odor, we could of changed back but didn't since we were really only going to be sleeping in the room. There are quite a few decent restaurants very close by, a small market right next store with reasonable pricing and shopping galore right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor, NOT facing the main street Prepare yourself for twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Delta Hotel Istanbul
#516 of 1,163 in Istanbul
122 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#883 of 1,163 in Istanbul
115 reviews
Grand Bazaar
The Time Hotel Old City
The Time Hotel Old City
#731 of 1,163 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dalan Hotel
#601 of 1,163 in Istanbul
18 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#527 of 1,163 in Istanbul
244 reviews
Aspen Hotel
#1,018 of 1,163 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanbul Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanbul Royal Hotel

Address: Mesih Pasa Mah. Aksaray Cad. No:16 Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34480, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#480 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £20 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Istanbul Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ISTANBUL ROYAL HOTEL FULL RENOVATED 2011. Just off Ataturk Boulevard and 200 metres from Pertevniyal Valide Sultan Mosque, this hotel features a Turkish cuisine restaurant and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Rooms have flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Hotel rooms at the Istanbul Royal Hotel have carpeted floors and large windows that overlook the streets of Istanbul. They come equipped with a minibar and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can enjoy a cold drink and light snack from the 24-hour piano bar. Each morning a breakfast buffet is served at the Royal Hotel’s restaurant. Room service is also available. There is a tour desk that assists with car hire and provides information on local attractions. A laundry and ironing service is also available. The Aksaray tram stop is 100 metres from the hotel. The Grand Bazaar is a 10-minute walk away. The Istanbul Royal Hotel offers 24-hour front desk service and luggage storage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Istanbul Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing